$38 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
View map of 100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chippewa Falls, WI
Aug 3, 2011

nice trip

We stayed at carefree hotel cause it was close to lackland airforce base but didnt realize how close it was until we actually got there and the barracks were literally in our backyard. Perfect place to stay if you are visiting someone at lackland AFB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

make sure you eat at texas pride barbacue and chunky's burgers you wont regret it, it is a little bit of a drive but every bit worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sennyv06
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 12, 2010

VERY BAD SERVICE N STAFF!

As we arrived, we were NOT Greeted my a person. I had to come to the desk and told the man that i was checking in. The old gentleman looked like some one just hired him from the streets. Longed hair, NOT Groomed with a dirty hat and NO TEETH! YUCK! so i checked in and he gave me an attitude...UGh! so i got my stuff and he gave me a Room. when we got to the room it looked old BAD SMELL! smelled like some one had smoked tabacco. It smelled BITTER! and it was HOT! So disgusting. I went back to the old gentleman and requested another room. This room was down stairs much cooler but had stained ceiling and the restroom, toilet didnt flush right! and when we wanted to enjoy the TV the Buttons of the TV to turn they were all pushed out. MY STAY SUCKED! I wished i knew a better to stay the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

H.E.B is just around the corner at the light!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 5, 2010

a

The motel toilet, not working properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kay Golden Girl
Business
Hampton Va.
Jun 28, 2010

graduation getaway

I went to daughters Graduation on Lackland. Went to Riverwalk and did some shopping. It would have been more enjoyable if the bed sheets were changed everyday I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
near Baltimore, MD
Jun 23, 2010

Creepy critters

Visit son for Basic training graduation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Air Base Parent
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Mar 28, 2010

Stay Here

The motel was OK. The location is great for people visiting basic graduation at Lackland AFB. Mexican restaurant next door that looks like a dive is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeland, Fla
Mar 21, 2010

Not Bad

If you can get past the lime green walls, room was very clean, staff friendly and cooperative. The bathroom tub faucet leaked and one of the rooms had a problem with hot water(there wasn't any).Not the Ritz, but for the money perfect place to stay if you have a son/daughter graduating at Lackland AFB.They kept us so busy, we didnt spend much time at the hotel.Just a comfy place to sleep, but don't rely on them for a wake up call!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of choices on restaurants within walking distance.Very friendly town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Af Wife.
Business
NC
Dec 3, 2009

Okay

My father in law and I stayed at this hotel for one night. And i have to say that i don't think i would have wanted to stay there more than one night. We went down to see my husband graduate from basic, and were staying at the hotel on base the rest of the nights. But this was a place that was close so that we didnt have to deal with alot of traffic in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Airman's Dad
Business
Knoxville, TN
Nov 23, 2009

Adequate, inexpensive, and very close

If you are going to San Antonio to attend the graduation of your son or daughter from BMT, then this motel may be for you, especially if you are trying to keep the cost down and want to be close to area on base where you need to be. Don't go, however, thinking that this will be a luxury hotel - it isn't, in fact, it isn't even close. If you just want a place to lay your head at night, then consider this motel. I spent very little time in the room since I was more often attending activities and town pass with my son and didn't care about anything more than needing a place to sleep at night. If you want to stay here for any other reason, I wouldn't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This motel is right at the gate to Lackland and you can't get any closer at this rate!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Dad
Business
Port Angeles, Wa.
Nov 3, 2009

Access to Base

I cannot compliment the friendly staff enough especially [...]. They went out of their way to make my son's graduation comfortable for me. It is an old hotel, but for closeness to the BMT Reception Center it cannot be beat. This is not a place for the self important as I said it is old and reminds me of some of the road trips with my family in the 1960s. I had no problem with the cleanliness. You will save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You do not need to rent a car if you stay here and are modestly fit. The base has bus service and for weekend pass there is bus service to the USO in the heart of San Antonio that come every 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Skeet shooter
Business
Colorado
Oct 12, 2009

Bad Experience......old and musty..

Old, nasty conditions. Would not return the prepayment. Stayed at another location but had to pay for this nasty room for 10 days. Don't not stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top