$47 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
View map of 100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chippewa Falls, WI
Aug 3, 2011

nice trip

We stayed at carefree hotel cause it was close to lackland airforce base but didnt realize how close it was until we actually got there and the barracks were literally in our backyard. Perfect place to stay if you are visiting someone at lackland AFB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

make sure you eat at texas pride barbacue and chunky's burgers you wont regret it, it is a little bit of a drive but every bit worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super-Mama
Business
Tuttle, OK
Jan 24, 2011

You get what you pay for!

This hotel is worth it ONLY if you don't want to get lost in San Antonio. You literally pull out of the parking lot and turn right, and you're 10ft from the gate. Other than that, NOT WORTH IT! When we got there, the mini-fridge was unplugged, and due to the warm moisture, it had mold in it. The next day i took a shower and there was no hair dryer. I had to go ask for these things at the front desk. They said they'd fix these things when housekeeping came. We left for an AF graduation thing, and then when we came back that evening the fridge was still warm and they said it was fine, just plug it in, and they didn't even wipe the mold off, so i did. And we booked for 3 nights and the 2nd day, we came back in the afternoon and they had disabled our keys. Luckily i had my confirmation from [...]that was for 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jan 24, 2011

Great Location for BMT Graduation

My friend referred to it as the "no-star motel", but for attending the BMT Graduation events it couldn't have been better. The motel is basically clean and if you can get past the neon green walls and 70's furniture in the rooms, it's really not bad. My priority was ease of access to the base and it achieved that. Where it took some staying less than 10 miles away almost an hour to get to the Lackland Valley Hi gate, it took me 2 minutes. A big bonus was the refrigerator and microwave in the room. Again, as long as you go into it knowing it's just a room, you won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elmira, NY
Jan 18, 2011

Great location for USAF graduation

We stayed here for our son's graduation from the USAF. It was priced cheap, but you get what you pay for. Not the best room in the world, but worked for sleeping and that is what we needed. It is right next to three of the squadrons which is very nice as you can watch them stand at attention for hours LOL. Room was okay for this type of stay as we were not in the room alot. However, the walls are very thin and we had party goers right above us that came in very early hours of the morning and woke us up with their partying and loud singing and stomping on the floors. Rooms need to be a bit more sound proof!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Only a very short drive to all of the USAF base area activities!! Was nice being so close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Jan 3, 2011

good value, great service

The motel is an older motel and not in the best shape. However, the rooms were clean and the hotel staff bent over backwards to help us. They were extremely friendly and took care of the few problems we had right away (such as the children in the room above us jumping and playing at midnight while we were trying to sleep). We were there to see our daughter graduate BMT and were on a limited budget, so we were worried about staying in such a cheap motel, but it by far surpassed my expectations and I would definately stay there again. Also, the location was great because we were right next to the gate and could walk to Lackland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portage, Indiana
Dec 30, 2010

Carefree Inn doesn't give a care!

We wanted a hotel close to the Air Force base. This hotel was rated 3 stars and said newly renovated and clean! I would not give it any stars! Renovated must have meant a coat of paint on the outside, because the rooms haven't been touched in decades! The room was absolutely filthy with dust an inch thick on the pictures, cobwebs on the light fixtures, urine under the toilet seat and around, a bug in the bed, dust an inch thick on the air conditioning filter and the air smelled like urine blowing from it. After half an hour my nose started running and my chest hurt to breathe. We asked to be switched to another room that had been cleaned within the last YEAR and after going to 3 other rooms my husband settled on one. The desk employee sprayed Lysol in the air conditioning unit, but I still got sick. I have allergies to mold and dust. I wouldn't even step on the floor and there was a crumpled up used wash cloth in the folds of the shower and crud 2 inches thick on the top of the shower. We checked out at 7:15 am and couldn't even get a cup of coffee because the liquid creamer came out in a thick glump. I checked in healthy and left sick. I have since been diagnosed with sinusitis and bronchitis and my husband has seen the doctor, too. I have spent over $100.00 on medications and doctor bills. We should have switched hotels entirely, but I thought since we would only be there for 10 hours and it was late that we could tough it out. Boy! Was I wrong! This hotel is right outside the Air Force base, and they have no connection with it, but the hotel should be ashamed to even suggest to cater to the family and friends of the trainees. This place was a disgusting disgrace! I have been in contact with the Texas Board of Health, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Temple, Ok
Nov 29, 2010

Don't Let the yellow scare you!!! lol!

I made this reservation and thought that we would check in after we went to Seaworld, but it didn't open till noon...check in was suppose to be a 3pm...but I called on our way into town and they said it was not a problem and I would not be charged xtra to check in early. Our room was so very clean, and nice. Very comfy beds and clean bathtub! very impressed the outside makes it look like its going to be a cheap hotel, but its more like an upscale motel 6!!! me and my family loved it!!! plus my kids loved watching the soliders walk in formation just on the other side of the parking lot, not too noisey no one hanging in the parking lots and staff is so very nice and way helpful....I will stay here again when we go back...nice people, and cheap!!! just get snacks, no vending machine but we did have a nice mini fridge and microwave in room!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Accross the street & parking lot is an H.E.B!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Choir mom
Business
TX
Aug 3, 2010

Not very happy

Motel looks absolutely nothing like the pictures. The room walls were almost a neon green. They kept the rooms pretty clean and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lexismom
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 26, 2010

DO NOT USE THIS PLACE!!!!

Room was horrible. Listen to all the bad reviews you read about this place because they are all true!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Airforce Wife
Business
Marshfield, WI
Jul 20, 2010

Undecided...

I stayed here for my husband's graduation from basic at Lackland AFB. The Carefree was my only option since I am not old enough to rent a car and would have been uncomfortable driving in the area any way (crazy congested highways). I was hesitant due to the other reviews [...]...and for good reason. The hotel was reasonably clean, but could have been MUCH better. Sheets were never changed on the bed, there were hairs on the bathroom floor when I arrived and they were never cleaned up by the maid even after a 5 night stay, twice I came back to my room and there were ZERO towels, and I wouldn't walk around the room without socks or flip flops on (filthy!). However, the room didn't smell bad, the sheets on the bed were clean when I arrived (even if they weren't changed all week), and I found no bugs. I don't think I would stay here again if I were able to rent a car, but, you get what you pay for and for $50, you can't beat the location. On the bright side, the pool was decent (I went swimming twice and it was enjoyable), the staff was extremely friendly and quick to give me towels (since the maid didn't think I need to shower apparently), and the air conditioner worked well (important when it's over 100* out!). If you stay, I recommend the mexican restaurant right across the parking lot. BEST MEXICAN FOOD I HAVE EVER HAD!!! The place was kind of a dump, but it was awesome food and the wait staff was friendly. I highly suggest the guadalajara plate or chicken fajitas! Also, we had a very friendly taxi driver who actually lived at the Carefree. If you get an add in the door about Sir William Taxi, call him. He knew the area very well, was very quick, and even gave 20% off to Airforce people. :) FOR THOSE WITH MOLD ALLERGIES: do NOT stay here. The ceiling tiles in my bathroom were SO moldy they were FUZZY. Disgusting!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the mexican restaurant! Short walk onto base, although it is quite a ways to the reception center from there (15-20 minute walk). Sir William Taxi recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alissa aaronson.
Business
johnstown, PA
Jul 15, 2010

nothing less than expected.

i stayed at the carefree inn in lackland solely because of the closeness to the lackland AFB. other families and i could literally walk across the yard to the valley hi gate, which also has a 24-hour visitors' center so you can sign in. i stayed for five days, and it was pretty much just a place to sleep, so i didn't expect much. the hotel smelled a little funny- mainly in the bathroom. the hotel staff was very friendly, however, they did not give me new towels like three days in a row. this was my first time ever travelling alone, and it actually was not as bad as i thought. i recommend this hotel for people going to the lackland afb graduation. there is a bus stop rather close to the hotel where you and your airman can walk if you didn't rent a car or drive (i didn't even have to rent a car because it was so close to the entrance of the base!) and you can take the bus downtown on town-pass days. it is also very close to a lot of restraunts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the lackland air force base is literally like 50 yards away from the hotel's entrance. it was VERY convienent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top