$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

3 stars
View map of 1103 E Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 31, 2011

Clean, convenient and reasonable

This was a perfect location for our visit to San Antonio to see our son's USAF Basic Training graduation- 20 mins to Lackland, 25 mins to SeaWorld, 5 min walk to Riverwalk and Alamo, 15 mins to Airport. The hotel is right off a main highway and the room was a good size with a seating area and the hotel is kept very clean. No pool but all other amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

5 to 10 mins to most areas of downtown and right next door to several good restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laredo, TX
May 28, 2011

Walking distance from downtown

The hotel was nice and clean. It was a short distance from downtown and the Alamodome for the concert I went to go see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
purplerain17
Business
Dallas TX
May 24, 2011

great hotel!

The stay was awesome! We all loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Texas
May 18, 2011

Great room, great service

We were just 2 blocks from the Riverwalk and all of the downtown attractions. We never had to drive the car. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was even better than we had hoped. This is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many different places to eat within walking distance of the hotel, at all different price ranges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Starry Eyed
Business
Venice FL
May 9, 2011

A Great Vacation

We had a great time. Our first trip to San Antonio. Weather was great, the Riverwalk is spectacular and the hotel was perfect for us. We got there in the evening so didn't want to take the several-block walk to downtown and the RW, so we tried Aldaco's at Sunset Station, within a block from us. It was great -- the food, service and ambience. Thank you to the reviewer who recommended it. Also had dinner at the expensive Little Rhein House on the RW and were a little disappointed. We ate outside and the gnats loved our (pretty darn expensive) wine. In fairness, the restaurant did give us another bottle. We didn't find the food worthy of the price, though. Besides that, a fantastic few days, and the people were great, especially Vicky. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, it was clean and we had plenty of room. Easy walk to everything - maybe just one block closer in would have been perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Riverwalk is beautiful, and we found the street level very interesting also. The Buckhorn and Texas Ranger Museums, the Majectic Theater, the Gunter Hotel and the historic facades of the newer buildings were all a real treat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
May 4, 2011

BMT Graduation

Stayed for son's graduation from BMT. This hotel was perfect. Room was good size, very clean and conmfortable. Location could not hve been better, close to River Walk and extremely easy on and off the highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
Apr 13, 2011

Good value

A pool/hot tub would be nice and free breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TicoBamaTexan
Business
League City, TX
Mar 31, 2011

Great Place Very Close To Riverwalk

I seldom take the time to write a review about a hotel, but considering how good of a value this hotel is I just had to share it with everyone. The room and bathroom were very clean. The hotel is very close to the Riverwalk attractions in San Antonio. In fact, the public bus system stops just in front of the hotel, so you can just park your car (for free!), and pretty much go anywhere in the city from there. I suggest you get a gold pass ticket, which allows you to hop onto any bus for a period of 24 hours. Personally, I think bus/walking is the best way to enjoy this beautiful city. The hotel also has a basic breakfast buffet, which you can access for about $4 per adult. Kids under 5 are free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like all kinds of good food, go to the Riverwalk, enjoy the scenery, and responsibly have a few good drinks. Definitely the thing to do here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Venice, FL
Mar 13, 2011

Noisey but good

This location is only a block away from train station and major highway. Noise from them was constant and loud. The room was very clean and hotel service was good. My room was nice and big. It could be a really great hotel if it wasn't noisey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Mar 6, 2011

Great location - great value

Visiting San Antonio to get away and relax. This was a great place to stay. Easy walk to all downtown venues and easy on/off highway access. The room was beautiful and perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A fairly priced and good breakfast at the hotel that saves time when getting ready to enjoy a great day at the Riverwalk or other attractions. Otherwise the hotel does not offer on-site dining - this didn't prove problematic as the downtown area has so many dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top