$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

3 stars
1103 E Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
149 reviews
Great time by all!

This hotel was great! Great location, great price, very nice rooms, friendly staff, very clean and... See full review

  • Christie D.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Cool quick getaway

Nearly all the SA hotels were booked on the Riverwalk. This hotel isn't that far from the good... See full review

  • TexasTravelQueen
  • Jul 28, 2014
Modern amenities incorporated into historic building in St. Paul Square
Historic 1800-era building was repurposed in 2000 to become the Best Western Sunset Suites -- Riverwalk. The public areas are decorated with stained glass doors and have naturally sourced wood flooring, brass ceilings, original brick walls, and a grand staircase on which belles may practice descending is in the lobby. High-speed Wi-Fi is complimentary and available throughout the hotel. Parking is also free. A fitness center is on site. Guest laundry services, including dry cleaning, are available. Discounted trolley tickets may be purchased on site.
Highlights
  • 1800-era building in historic St. Paul Square with modern amenities
  • Across the street from Alamodome
  • A mile from the Alamo and the River Walk
  • Free parking and high-speed wireless Internet
  • Fitness center on site
Rooms

There are 64 suites in the Best Western Sunset Suites -- Riverwalk hotel, all of which have free high-speed wireless Internet, are non-smoking and include a king or two full beds. The deluxe double suites include one king or two full beds in a larger, more spacious room perfect for family vacations or larger groups. All suites include a desk, sleeper sofa, cable television with pay-per-view movies, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron and ironing board.

Features

Photos from the building's pre-hotel days, two centuries ago, (it formerly was a leather manufacturer, grocery store, insurance company and a speakeasy during prohibition) are on display in the Best Western Sunset Suites -- Riverwalk lobby. High-speed wireless Internet is complimentary, as is parking. A fitness center is on site. Guest laundry services, including dry cleaning, are available. A hot breakfast is available for a small fee each morning. Discounted trolley tickets may be purchased on site.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Sunset Station VIA Train (across the street)
  • Trolley (across the street)
  • Amtrak Station (0.2 mi./0.4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (0.8 mi./1.2 km)
Attractions
  • The Alamodome (across the street)
  • The Tower of the Americas (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • River Walk (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.6 mi./1 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with computer workstation
  • Meeting rooms with 10,000 square feet, booth options and audio/visual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Breakfast buffet available for a small fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk Rooms

SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PLOTOP,27INTV,SOFBD,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PLOTOP,27INTV,SOFBD,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WLKSHWR,PLOTOP,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PLOTOP,OVERSZD,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL SHWR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PLOTOP,OVERSZD,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.5 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.7 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.6 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.6 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Rivercenter Mall
0.50 mile(s) from Rivercenter Mall, Fast Food, food court
Tony Roma's
0.50 mile(s) from Tony Roma's, ribs
Landry Seafood House
1.00 mile(s) from Landry Seafood House, Seafood
Casa Rio
0.50 mile(s) from Casa Rio, Mexican
Shilos German Delicatessen
0.50 mile(s) from Shilos German Delicatessen, Deli
Ruth's Chris Steak House
0.01 mile(s) from Ruth's Chris Steak House, Steakhouse, open for: dinner, open for dinner only, steak
Spaghetti Warehouse
0.50 mile(s) from Spaghetti Warehouse, Italian
Aldaco's
0.25 mile(s) from Aldaco's, Mexican

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Venice, FL
Mar 13, 2011

Noisey but good

This location is only a block away from train station and major highway. Noise from them was constant and loud. The room was very clean and hotel service was good. My room was nice and big. It could be a really great hotel if it wasn't noisey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Mar 6, 2011

Great location - great value

Visiting San Antonio to get away and relax. This was a great place to stay. Easy walk to all downtown venues and easy on/off highway access. The room was beautiful and perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A fairly priced and good breakfast at the hotel that saves time when getting ready to enjoy a great day at the Riverwalk or other attractions. Otherwise the hotel does not offer on-site dining - this didn't prove problematic as the downtown area has so many dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, Louisiana
Feb 18, 2011

Surprise stay.

We went to San Antonio for the PRCA Rodeo and saw the sights during the day. The hotel was within walking distance of many sights and close to the freeway for out-of-town trips. Although it was near a railroad, I never heard a train in our first floor room. I liked the low-cost breakfast buffet and internet access. The only problem we had was the small parking area. When we came back at night, we had to park in a bus parking lot about 1/2 a block away. There was no charge, but it would have been inconvenient if raining or very cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the combo ticket for the Trolly tour, boat ride and Emax movie about the Alamo. It saves you money and taking the trolly tour first gives you the lay of the land. Watching the Alamo movie helps you to understand what really happened there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Feb 14, 2011

Good value

Good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 7, 2011

Loved it!!!

This hotel was great! The entire property is very clean, and the rooms were much bigger than I expected. It included a king bed, love seat, reading chair, and a desk. I would definitely stay here again....Oh yeah...Its also in walking distance to the riverwalk and the clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 31, 2011

Great hotel value.

Great. Excellent hotel. I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jan 30, 2011

A few gliches, but a good value

The room had plenty of space (sort of a small suite) and comfortable. Microwave, 'fridge, coffee maker and plenty of channels. WiFi Internet was not reliable. Only a couple of blocks to the RiverWalk, Alamo, and convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave your car at the hotel. Free parking and it's not too far to walk to the major downtown attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pharr, TX
Jan 14, 2011

Good location, good price

More visible signage would help. Within walking distance of Riverwalk. Friendly, courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
archaeology guy
Business
wisconsin
Jan 11, 2011

BW Commerce Drive - near Riverwalk, etc.

I enjoyed a 4-night stay at the Best Western in San Antonio on Commerce St. not far from the Riverwalk, Marriott conference centers, etc. I was pleasantly surprised with the size of my room and it's amenities, the personable staffas well as the substantial breakfast buffet for a whopping $3.45! The only drawback of my stay was when I decided to order Pizza on the in room flyer from a local joint and ended up paying close to $30 for a 14" 2-topping pizza and a can of soda! So, if you are budget minded be aware of the small print, like $1 service charge for using a CC for payment and a delivery charge which was not forthcoming when I ordered the pizza. If it would have been outstanding, I wouldn't have minded so much and what I paid did not even include a tip! You would be better of visiting an establishment yourself or picking up the phone book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Round Rock, TX
Jan 3, 2011

Weekend Getaway

It was a great time. My wife and I really like the fact that we could walk 5 mins and be on the river walk. The hotel was very nice, we especially liked the oversized pillowtop beds. We will definatley be going back to this hotel. Lou

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top