$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

3 stars
View map of 1103 E Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uncle Henry
Jonesboro, ar
Jul 29, 2012

Great

Great room, great service, never moved our car,bus service great and regular stops 1/2 block from hotel. Would definitely stay there again. Oh, and free breakfast on real plates,silverware, and cups! Four buck a day bus pass got us everywhere and anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan City, In.
Oct 15, 2010

Overall

If you had breakfast you had to pay for it. At the other 4 Best Westerns we stayed at during our trip, the breakfast was complimentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was within walking distance of the Riverwalk and the Alamo. A bus stop was next to the hotel, and the bus system is the best way to easily get to other attractions such as the zoo, botanical gardens, missions, Mexican Market and many more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frustrated internet user
Business
Augusta, Georgia
Sep 29, 2010

Nice Rooms, lousy internet service

Great location, nice rooms, but very poor internet service...very difficult to open and maintain webpages

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mothership
Business
Dallas TX
Sep 26, 2010

We had a great stay!

We stayed at the Best Western Sunset Suites because it was located just blocks away from an event we were a part of. It was a great location! We could walk to Sunset Station and enjoy the amazing food at Aldaco's. We were convenient to Highway 281 which took us to the airport and the Whole Foods Market at Quarry Market. We enjoyed our room, the bed was very comfortable, and it was great to have a microwave and small refrigerator in the room. My only real complaint was the strong chlorine smell in the water while bathing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shanghai, China
Sep 15, 2010

best stay

it's a best stay for me in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

rivercenter mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, Ks
Jul 29, 2010

Very nice

Our room faced a sidewalk and busy intersection so there was alot of noise. We could also hear the people in the room above us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timmo
Business
Lincoln, NE
Jul 29, 2010

Close to Riverwalk

This was a great choice for the balance between price and being close to the Riverwalk; 2 blocks from the Rivercenter Mall. The Hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was available from 6-9am, but there was a charge of $3 & change per person for it. They had hot breakfast items and kept the buffet stocked regularly. It would have been nice to have access to a pool but not a deal breaker for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ss,texas
Jul 29, 2010

surprised

we went to the river walk, river center mall, also the alamo and the imax

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Best Western Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

The location to city center is great, a ten minute walk to the San Antyonio River Walk. There is bus and stretcar service one minute from the hotel. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ValleyFox
Business
Rio Grande Valley, TX
Jul 13, 2010

Don't Stay Here, Not what it seems!

For starters when you drive up to the hotel for the first time after exitig I 37 you will see the very ugly exterior of this building. No wonder they advertise the night time pic. The lobby is represented well in the pic but that's it. The room had to be changed twice. There were pubic hairs in the bed! Totally unacceptable. Then there were food residues on the carpet. The fourth floor hallway was very muggy and the AC wasn't working. The employees were rude and when I cancelled the last 2 nights with them, not so much as an apology. They actually charged me MORE than what I agreed to, so because I was deciding to leave I got punished. Any other motel or hotel would offer compensation when the customer is not satisfied, but not the Best Western. Supposedly the largest hotel chain in the US but a rip off in terms of service. On a side note the TVs were straight out of the 1980s. All the other reviews are correct, the train is very loud. Overall a dirty,ugly,not friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DONT STAY HERE, SAVE YOUR MONEY AND STAY ELSEWHERE. DOWNTOWN SUCKS, NORTH SAN ANTONIO IS WORTH THE DRIVE. BEST WESTERN SHOULD DEMOLISH THIS FLEA BAG DUMP.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LAS VEGAS
Jul 8, 2010

are u serious

well the location was great but we had an incident were a thunderstorm flooded our room. We asked the person for some towels to soak up the tremendous amount of water that had come into our rooms she said u can come and get them. mind u it was at 2am. the window that was leaking was right above the air conditioner no air for fear of electrocution mind u i have a 13 month old crawling on the floor. She give us 3 towels nice. So no sleep i asked to speak to the manager the next morning the they said he was off for the next couple of days. great! I stayed for a whole week i wanted the night we got no sleep on comped not to much to ask. sorry we dont do that! It wasnt our fault. K so ur proper up keep of ur property is not ur fault. Jerk responds no.Very argumenatative and the type im right and ur wrong. Whatever call the company to try to get that 1 night comped took all of my info down and never heard from them again WoW what customer service. they had one housekeeper for the property so our room got cleaned twice in one week and the beds suck back hurt every night. im in the industry and never have treated customers the way i was treated and the manger is lucky That im not a hot head! Thats how bad.... good luck guys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top