$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

3 stars
1002 S Laredo Street, San Antonio, TX 78204-3212
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
147 reviews
Wonderful hotel

A great staff, so helpful and friendly. Greet you right away and are always so kind. Great location. See full review

  • Roadtrip11
  • Jun 5, 2014
Close to Downtown

It was a very nice budget hotel centrally located close to Downtown right off of a highway. I... See full review

  • kkrgtc
  • Apr 4, 2014
Prime location with free breakfast and focus on local Tex-Mex standouts
The three-story, non-smoking Best Western Alamo Suites is just a mile from Market Square and the Amtrak station and provides a free continental breakfast for its guests seven days a week. Parking is free -- a rarity -- as is high-speed Internet access. The pool is indoors and heated. A fitness center stands at the ready. While there is no restaurant or bar on the premises, the house recommends four local, highly regarded nearby Tex-Mex restaurants.
Highlights
  • Near Amtrak station, Market Square and River Walk
  • Close to University of Texas San Antonio
  • Indoor, heated pool and fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast bar seven days a week
  • Free parking and high-speed wireless Internet
Rooms

There are 71 suites available at the Best Western Alamo Suites. Single rooms come with a king bed while double rooms are equipped with two king beds. Some rooms have ceiling fans. All are painted in tawny, honey tones and have vivid orange or chili-colored blankets. More than 70 expanded cable channels come in on each room's stereo-optimized 25-inch TV. Dataports are available on the telephone. High-speed wireless Internet is complimentary.

Features

A heated indoor pool stands in a sunny yellow room with window boxes filled with flowers. A fitness center ensures guests will never have to miss a workout. A continental breakfast bar with cold and hot cereals, waffles, fruit, toast and beverages is free to Best Western Alamo Suites guests from 7 to 10 a.m. High-speed wireless Internet also is complimentary. Parking is free, too.  A business center with a computer and printer is available to guests who need to get some work done.

Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (1 mi./1.6 km)
  • San Antonio International Airport (11 mi./17.7 km)
Attractions
  • Market Square (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • River Walk (1 mi./1.6 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (1 mi./1.6 km)
  • Alamodome (1.2 mi./1.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with PC workstation available
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.416 -98.5018
Area served
Corpus Christi, Houston, Austin
Nearby airports
(SAT), 10.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRLPL,HI SPEED,MICRWV,FULL REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 ROOM 3 BEDS
SUITE-1 ROOM 3 BEDS,NSMK,DWNTWNVW,3KGBDS,HISPD,MICRFG,BALCNY,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 2 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 2 BEDS,NSMK,LOFT,MICRWV,FULREFRG,SOFABED,HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,MICRWV,FULREFRG,SOFABD,WRKDSK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2ROOMS,WHIRLPL,HONSTE,SOFABD,WRKDSK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,MICRWV,FULREFRG,SOFABD,WRKDSK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLLSH,SFBD,NSM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTB,SFBD,NSM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • El Mercado: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 1 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 1.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 1.2 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.3 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.8 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 1 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 1.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 1.2 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.3 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.8 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.6 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 5 mi
  • SBC Center: 6 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 7.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.3 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.4 mi

Dining

Hard Rock Cafe
1 mile(s) from Hard Rock Cafe, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
La Margarita's
1 mile(s) from La Margarita's, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Wendy's
.5 mile(s) from Wendy's, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Pica de Gallo
Across the street from Pica de Gallo, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
McDonalds
.5 mile(s) from McDonalds, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.4
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
dallas
Oct 17, 2010

Dirty hotel

Smelly hotel Poor house keeping and stained sheets not changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs
Dec 10, 2009

Worst Western Suites

The rooms were oddly appointed; dark rooms, unattractive furniture, poor color scheme, sitting chair in a very odd corner of the room, vanity mirror in middle of wall in front of the bed, poor lighting, cramped bathroom. Housekeepers did not stock coffee station on a daily basis. Location was terrible. Next to freeway surrounded by empty lots and empty vacant warehouses. Not feeling safe walking to and from hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Houston, TX
Apr 14, 2011

Never Again!!!

We recently booked a stay with Best Western Alamo Suites, and the customer service was horrible. When it came to accomidating our needs we were refused any help. Best Western is a chain company and I do not understand why we could not transfer our stay to a more convienant location. The clerk was rude, and did not offer any help for us. We were not familiar with the San Antonio area, and told we would not be able to transfer our money to a different Best Western. We were also told we would not receieve any of our $213 if we did not fulfill our stay. I understand refund policies, but my point is that we were not given any options from your company except to "take it or leave it". I do not feel like this is at all good customer service, and was very disapointed with Best Western and its values.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
totally disappointed
Business
Brownfield TX
Nov 11, 2010

major mistake

Difficult to locate - difficult to access from downtown area - located directly next to very large electrical relay station - housekeeping marginal - overpriced for location and ammenities - beware any hotel that does not have a flexible refund policy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arminda
Seattle, Wash.
Oct 11, 2011

Not going there again

The bed was ok, but the sheets were not changed, the carpets were dirty. The service in the bathroom was very poor; I had to ask for wash clothes once and then they would leave only one a day for the rest of our stay, it was too frustrating to keep asking. The coffee cups ( hot paper cups) were soiled even tho the plastic cover around it was sealed. They would leave one or two a day and same with the plastic cups. We did not want to use the coffee maker because it was not clean. The outside area was very poor and dirty with broken bottles, etc. not safe to walk at night. I give it a fat "0". We asked for Military discount, and were told "no" because we went through Cheap Tickets and had already paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
Sep 21, 2009

Misleading hotel description

Hotel was not located in the heart of downtown. It was 1+ miles from the Riverwalk & Alamo & downtown. In the evening there were homeless people on the corner. Everyday when we returned to our room it was locked & we had to get new keys. The toilet & refrigerator were loud & the refrigerator ran on all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The reachable trolly was 3+ blocks away in very hot temperatures in a run down industrial area.

Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ed and MIn
Mounds, OK
May 31, 2013

Hotel Needs updates and Staff needs to be more friendly.

This hotel is needs to be overhauled. Bedding needs to be updated. The hottub was cold. And one of the rooms I rented had a leak in the bathroom from the ceilling. I asked for new towels in the morning and never got them. The front desk staff for day shift was very rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is 5 blocks from riverwalk. 15 min walk but not in a good section of town.

Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teresa, single mom vacation
Texas
Jun 22, 2010

Family Vacation

I was a bit shocked when I arrived at this hotel. The pictures that I saw on-line were not what I saw when I arrived. The hotel staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good, but those are the only pluses for this hotel. Traveling alone with children, there was no way I could get our luggage to our 3rd floor room from the parking lot. The back door to this hotel had stairs you had to climb before entering the hallway to get to the elevator. We had to walk all the way around to the front door to get to the elevator. The pool was very small so you couldn't really enjoy yourself when there were more than 5 people in the pool. If a person was on a business trip this hotel may be an OK place to stay, but if you're on vacation I would recommend some place else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jul 28, 2011

Not bad for the price.

This hotel was in a very run down part of town, just south of downtown San Antonio. The desk workdes were very helpful but it wasn't as clean as it could have been. There was mold in the shower and something stick on the carpet sticking out from the bed. I kept stepping in it. The free wi-fi was not a good connection and kept cutting out. The pool is small with a lot of chorine and the pool in the bathroom smelled horrible. The beds were very comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
corpus christi tx
Mar 9, 2010

hot hot hot

everything in the hotel was nice except the room temperature.the hotel lobby was hot and the room i stayed in was hot. the a/c unit in the room did not work properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

the alamo plaza was really nice.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search