$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

3 stars
1002 S Laredo Street, San Antonio, TX 78204-3212
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
153 reviews
Wonderful hotel

A great staff, so helpful and friendly. Greet you right away and are always so kind. Great location. See full review

  • Roadtrip11
  • Jun 5, 2014
Close to Downtown

It was a very nice budget hotel centrally located close to Downtown right off of a highway. I... See full review

  • kkrgtc
  • Apr 4, 2014
Prime location with free breakfast and focus on local Tex-Mex standouts
The three-story, non-smoking Best Western Alamo Suites is just a mile from Market Square and the Amtrak station and provides a free continental breakfast for its guests seven days a week. Parking is free -- a rarity -- as is high-speed Internet access. The pool is indoors and heated. A fitness center stands at the ready. While there is no restaurant or bar on the premises, the house recommends four local, highly regarded nearby Tex-Mex restaurants.
Highlights
  • Near Amtrak station, Market Square and River Walk
  • Close to University of Texas San Antonio
  • Indoor, heated pool and fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast bar seven days a week
  • Free parking and high-speed wireless Internet
Rooms

There are 71 suites available at the Best Western Alamo Suites. Single rooms come with a king bed while double rooms are equipped with two king beds. Some rooms have ceiling fans. All are painted in tawny, honey tones and have vivid orange or chili-colored blankets. More than 70 expanded cable channels come in on each room's stereo-optimized 25-inch TV. Dataports are available on the telephone. High-speed wireless Internet is complimentary.

Features

A heated indoor pool stands in a sunny yellow room with window boxes filled with flowers. A fitness center ensures guests will never have to miss a workout. A continental breakfast bar with cold and hot cereals, waffles, fruit, toast and beverages is free to Best Western Alamo Suites guests from 7 to 10 a.m. High-speed wireless Internet also is complimentary. Parking is free, too.  A business center with a computer and printer is available to guests who need to get some work done.

Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (1 mi./1.6 km)
  • San Antonio International Airport (11 mi./17.7 km)
Attractions
  • Market Square (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • River Walk (1 mi./1.6 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (1 mi./1.6 km)
  • Alamodome (1.2 mi./1.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with PC workstation available
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.416 -98.5018
Area served
Austin, Corpus Christi, Houston
Nearby airports
(SAT), 10.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRLPL,HI SPEED,MICRWV,FULL REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 ROOM 3 BEDS
SUITE-1 ROOM 3 BEDS,NSMK,DWNTWNVW,3KGBDS,HISPD,MICRFG,BALCNY,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 2 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 2 BEDS,NSMK,LOFT,MICRWV,FULREFRG,SOFABED,HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,MICRWV,FULREFRG,SOFABD,WRKDSK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2ROOMS,WHIRLPL,HONSTE,SOFABD,WRKDSK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,MICRWV,FULREFRG,SOFABD,WRKDSK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLLSH,SFBD,NSM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTB,SFBD,NSM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • El Mercado: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 1 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 1.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 1.2 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.3 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.8 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 1 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 1.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 1.2 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.3 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.8 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.6 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 5 mi
  • SBC Center: 6 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 7.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.3 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.4 mi

Dining

La Margarita's
1 mile(s) from La Margarita's, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Hard Rock Cafe
1 mile(s) from Hard Rock Cafe, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
McDonalds
.5 mile(s) from McDonalds, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Pica de Gallo
Across the street from Pica de Gallo, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Wendy's
.5 mile(s) from Wendy's, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.3
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendora, CA
Aug 2, 2010

It was alright....

We arrived on a Thursday. The reception area was very nice and clean and the staff was nice all the time. The pool was a little cloudy and the smell of chlorine was strong. The room was clean when we arrived but there after the maids didn't do what would be considered normal cleaning. The sheets were never changed and the trash can near the bar was forgotten (full). On Friday the maid forgot to bring us any towels at all because they were being cleaned and she said that she would bring them back later but must have forgot... The room itself was great and spacious. The breakfast was plenty and good. I would stay there again and give them another chance. Best Westerns are usually very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to everything you would want to see. Our son graduated from the Airforce and the base was only 15-20 drive. Seaword was maybe 25 minutes at most. Riverwalk a 5 minute drive. Very close to downtown area. The location spot could be better. I wouldn't go out walking from the hotel because there is nothing immediatly worth walking to but the drive is only a couple of minutes to downtown. The hotel itself is nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
carl the family man
Business
Littlefield, TX
Aug 2, 2010

Easy to get where you need to go

Easy to get to riverwalk, seaworld, and schlitterbahn very nice to travel to destnations, just not the best looking neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Seaworld, schlitterbahn, and riverwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vikster
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 2, 2010

It was fine.

Everything was fine. The rooms were clean and spacious. Liked the waffles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roswell, NM
Jul 20, 2010

So So San Antonio

There were crickets everywhere, I killed three or four in the room when we arrived. Directions tot he hotel were confusing and I got lost and had to call hotel for more directions. This was the longest, thinest room I had ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
long time vacation coming
Business
west texas
Jul 19, 2010

Good stay and very helpful staff

The room was very spacious and clean. The staff was super helpful. we didnt know our way around san antonio. They were great1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Jul 13, 2010

good location for the price

good stay for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 8, 2010

Nice quit getaway

I had a nice time. It was quiet. We still had something to do when it rain. We stayed in the hotel and went swimming. The breakfast was something that would keep us comming back. The location was great about 4 blocks from the Market. About 4 min from the riverwalk. There was one little thing that got to me the house keeping took to long to come and clean the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock Arkansas
Jun 29, 2010

Surprising for the price

I was pleasantly surprised with a large spacious room for the price. The only negative is that it was three and one half blocks from the trolley stop and the RiverMarket area was too far to walk to from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, tx
Jun 23, 2010

Best Western Hotel, San Antoinio

The Hotel was newly remodle, and just a few miles from the riverwalk. The pool was indoors sheilding you from the sun, the breakfest could have been better. more hot items, but overall very happy with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teresa, single mom vacation
Business
Texas
Jun 22, 2010

Family Vacation

I was a bit shocked when I arrived at this hotel. The pictures that I saw on-line were not what I saw when I arrived. The hotel staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good, but those are the only pluses for this hotel. Traveling alone with children, there was no way I could get our luggage to our 3rd floor room from the parking lot. The back door to this hotel had stairs you had to climb before entering the hallway to get to the elevator. We had to walk all the way around to the front door to get to the elevator. The pool was very small so you couldn't really enjoy yourself when there were more than 5 people in the pool. If a person was on a business trip this hotel may be an OK place to stay, but if you're on vacation I would recommend some place else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top