$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham McAllen

3 stars
1500 Wichita Ave, McAllen, TX 78503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
15 reviews
The best place to stay in town for Shopping

Very clean, very confortable for families, and very close to the best Mall in McAlen, Tx. The... See full review

  • ORoldan
  • Apr 19, 2014
Great

I LOVED IT! I was a bit skeptical at first because it was next to an airport, but we couldn't even... See full review

  • Lilly1027
  • Jul 28, 2014
Conveniently located off Highway 83, this Wingate by Wyndham McAllen is near McAllen Miller International Airport, La Plaza Mall, McAllen Convention Center, International Museum of Art and Science, golf, and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary hot breakfast buffet, complimentary internet, airport shuttle service, fitness center, outdoor pool, dry cleaning and laundry services, meeting rooms, and 24-hour business center with complimentary copy, print and fax services. There is no charge for children under 17 when staying with an adult. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe, desk, ergonomic chair, HDTV and newspaper. Suites and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham McAllen also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham McAllen

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 15
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham McAllen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling Ellie
Business
Dallas, TX
May 4, 2013

Good but could be better

I stayed five days. Breakfast and Wednesday Happy Hour were fantastic. Glitches were: telephone not operational when I arrived; shuttle service not available until later in the week - had to take a taxi from the airport; had dirty water coming out of faucet for three days; my room was not done one day; ice-maker not working on 4th floor. I will book one more time to see if improvements are made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham McAllen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy in Toledo
Business
Toledo, OH
Feb 8, 2013

Business Friendly

The hotle is right in front of the airport. It can't get any easier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham McAllen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
eddie estevis
Business
tulsa,,ok
Dec 18, 2012

WORST STAY EVER IN A HOTEL!!

Without a doubt this is the worst stay I have ever experience at a hotel in all my life. From the beginning, that consisted of my room not being ready despite being several hours after check-in. Specifically, I arrived at 7pm and check-in is at 3pm as per hotel policy. This lack of adherence to hotel policy was followed by repeated poor hotel guest customer service. On one occassion I was assigned a room that when I entered found none of the beds in order (sheets not on them), half-empy glasses from the previous guests, and unkept bathroom. Upon mention this issue with staff, the front desk cler proceed to tell his manager that I should have not gone and was not told to go thus implying that it was my fault why I walked into an unkept room. This was rather irritating because I had been traveling and was hoping to get some rest prior to attending an evening event. The above mentioned issues are unaccepted and will never stay at a Wyndhan hotel. I have already told several of my friends and encourage them to do the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham McAllen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Mar 12, 2010

Nice stay

The staff was helpful and friendly. The location is great; next to airport and plenty of good food close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham McAllen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puyallup, WA
May 11, 2009

McAllen overview

Rooms clean, great location, Quiet, Hotel met and exceeded expectation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham McAllen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey, NL
Jul 27, 2008

Excellent ubication

TheWingate by Wyndham - McAllen, McAllen, Texas was near from store and airport, but far from restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham McAllen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 1, 2007

Great location/Great staff

I was very pleased with the location of the hotel as it is very close to the airport. The staff was very friendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

La Plaza Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top