$43 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Motel 6 McAllen

2 stars
View map of 700 West Expressway 83, US 83 at 2nd Street, McAllen, TX 78501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
19 reviews
Just for Shopping

It is cheap clean and well located, near to the mall and to the highway to go for the Outlet. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 17, 2008
Good short stay

Motel 6 is located in an excellent spot, near the La Plaza Mall and several stores and restaurants.... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 3, 2008
Motel 6 McAllen is conveniently located off US 83. McAllen Civic Center, McAllen Botanical Gardens and Nature Center are within 5 miles. We offer WiFi available in all guest rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours and an outdoor pool, unheated open year round.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 McAllen also booked these hotels.

★★
$55
3.1 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$72
0.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
$57
2.8 / 5 5 reviews
★★★
$49
2.8 / 5 30 reviews
★★
$59
3.8 / 5 9 reviews
$40
2.8 / 5 5 reviews
★★
$59
3.5 / 5 11 reviews
★★
$45
2.7 / 5 6 reviews
★★★
$89
3.9 / 5 11 reviews

Motel 6 McAllen Rooms

Standard
Standard 2 Queen Beds Non-Smoking

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Dining

Chilis
Nearby 3 blocks.
La Casa Del Taco
Nearby 3 blocks.
Olive Garden
Nearby 3 blocks.
Red Lobster
Nearby 3 blocks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 McAllen

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 McAllen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria guadalupe mamaganso
Business
Saltillo, Coahuila, Mexico
Jun 21, 2010

Good location for shopping

I was for shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 McAllen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
march99999
Friends
Mexico
Dec 1, 2014

Needs lots of work

The hotel is not so clean. We asked for a non-smoking and got smoking. The bed was all bumpy as well as the shower's floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Motel 6 McAllen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MVJS
Family
Laredo, Texas
Sep 1, 2014

Hairy pillows

Hotel stay was not good at all. Checked in after 4 pm then went to the pool with my kids. After pool we went out for dinner. When we arrived back to our room we started getting ready for bed. I pulled off covers from pillows and found hairs on them. I thought this was very disgusting and unsanitary. I'm thing they just made the bed and didn't even bother switching pillow cases. Called front desk and was brought clean but dingy pillow cases. Our bed was too hard and couldn't get a good nights rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Motel 6 McAllen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling for Graduation
Couples
Falfurrias, TX
May 30, 2012

Strange Phone Call

This hotel is average, but our 2nd day stay we reciecved a phone call asking if there was xxx on tv and if i was alone..we called the front desk and they couldnt do anything about it, we went out to eat and there was a couple walking from behind the hotel, got in a white van that was parked across the street and took off. We followed and they dropped off 2 women at another hotel. Later on that night some guy kept on calling looking for "Tammy" I told him wrong room and they called 2 times looking for her..we just disconnected the phone and couldnt sleep all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Motel 6 McAllen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Mar 17, 2008

Low cost acomoddation

The good thing about this hotel was the price, and the little service I received at the Check-in was very good, but my personal experience wasn?t good because I didn?t had the option to choose a non-smoking room and my room was a smoking room and everything smelled very bad. We only slept there 1 night, and at the next morning we all (wife, son and I) smelled like if we were smoking all night long, our clothes that were on our bags also smelled, the pillows in the room, the towels, everything smelled very bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

La Plaza Mall

Review of Motel 6 McAllen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DNLR
Couples
Mexico City
Apr 26, 2011

Very kind

The hotel is located very near La Plaza Mall, which is a plus. The hotel is clean and the staff where very kind and courteous. The bathroom did not have an inner door in the shower, so the water was all over the place. The towels are not enough, so you should bring your own. There is a nice pool for a hot summer day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

La Plaza Mall is walking distance from the hotel, though you might want to take your car, to haul off all your shopping.

Review of Motel 6 McAllen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Routine Getaway
Single
USA
Nov 9, 2011

Get what you pay for

it was decent for the price..a bigger tv wouldn't hurt but overall for my weekend getaways can't complain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Motel 6 McAllen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaySK
Couples
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Apr 6, 2012

Nice Staff Perfect Location

The staff is really nice people, the location is just perfect, in the middle of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olive Garden

Review of Motel 6 McAllen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jacksdav11
Single
McAllen, TX
Jan 5, 2011

My stay ay Motel 6 McAllen

Taxes and fees should be included with online total. McAllen Motel 6 should exterminate trouble spots for roaches. Fairly decent and accessible to downtown shopping area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Motel 6 McAllen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carla S.
Friends
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Convenient location

If you want to stay near the Plaza Mall and be able to access easily other shopping streets, then this is a convenient hotel. It does not have breakfast. Rooms are small, and most of them smell like smoking rooms even thought they are not. But the hotel is cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top