$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

ZaZa Houston

4 stars
5701 Main st., Houston, TX 77005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
53 reviews
Favorite Hotel in Houston

I cannot recommend the ZaZa highly enough. It is my second time here in five years. There has been... See full review

  • kadoram
  • Dec 20, 2013
Very nice "staycation"

Monarch always knows how to please with their service and food. The Spa was nice, I enjoyed their... See full review

  • Ari the greatest
  • Feb 24, 2013
Luxury, comfort and convenience in a cultural setting
This AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel provides comfort and convenience. Situated in the downtown cultural area of Houston, the Hotel ZaZa Houston enables guests to easily mix business with pleasure. The location in the museum district provides a combination of historical and modern attractions. Guests of the Hotel ZaZa Houston have easy access to many of the scenic parks and gardens. Hotel highlights include a luxury spa with tanning, facial and manicure facilities. There are also private dining facilities for business events and special occasions. 
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Located near The Galleria and Reliant Park
  • Luxury spa on-site
  • Complimentary business and fitness facilities
Hotel ZaZa Houston Rooms
The 315 units at Hotel ZaZa Houston consist of guest rooms or suites that offer luxury decor and facilities. The hotel provides a combination of large and small rooms to suit guests. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxury linen and complimentary wireless Internet. A balcony is available in some rooms. Poolside luxury villa suites and bungalows are available. Luxury villa suites are equipped with an executive desk and plasma televisions, and all offer access to a pantry where guests enjoy complimentary tea, coffee and a selection of pastries. A kitchenette, full living room and an outdoor tub are available in some suites. Rooms at Hotel ZaZa Houston are equipped with disabled facilities. A fine dining menu will be brought to a guest room or suite upon request. Choose extended-stay accommodations for complimentary breakfast, evening refreshments and 24-hour room service.
Things To Do:
  • Museum district (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Restaurants, bars, and nightclubs in the city center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Shops, George R. Brown Convention Center in downtown Houston (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Reliant Park (downtown Houston) (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Astro World/Water World (3 mi/4.8 km) 
  • The Galleria (6 mi/9.6 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed 
  • All cash paying guests will need to provide a credit card and ID upon check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.7243 -95.3901
Area served
Houston,TX. Downtown. Rice University. Museum District.
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport{IAH}.
Area description
16 museums 1 mile, downtown 3 miles, Rice University 1 Block West, Fine Arts Museum 1/2 Block North, Astroworld/Waterworld 3 miles, Enron Field-Astros- 1 mile, Galleria 6 miles, Greenway Plaza/Compaq Ctr 3 miles, Museum Of Natural Science 1 block south 1 block south, Galveston 45 miles,-Nasa 25 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed ZaZa Houston also booked these hotels.

ZaZa Houston Rooms

Balcony King
Experience the magical views of the Museum District from the comforts of your Private Balcony. One King Bed, Executive desk with complimentary Wireless Internet access. Flat-Screen Plasma TV. MP3 dock. Granite Bathrooms. In-room grab & go gourmet refreshment bar and refrigerator.
Balcony Double
Experience the magical views of the Museum District from the comforts of your Private Balcony. Two Double Beds, Executive desk with Free Wireless Internet. Flat-Screen Plasma TV. MP3 dock. Granite Bathrooms. In-room grab & go gourmet refreshment bar and refrigerator
Grande King
A Classic Favorite. One of the largest standard guestrooms complete with One King Bed and Executive desk with complimentary Wireless Internet access. Flat-Screen Plasma TV. MP3 dock. Granite Bathrooms. In-room grab & go gourmet refreshment bar and refrigerator.
Pool Bungalow King
For those who truly value their time in the sun. One King Bed and located in the heart of the Poolside with either direct access to the pool or balcony pool views. Executive desk with complimentary Wireless Internet access. Flat-Screen Plasma TV. MP3 dock. Granite Bathrooms. One-of-a-kind turn down service. In-room grab & go gourmet refreshment bar and refrigerator.
Pool Bungalow Queen
For those who truly value their time in the sun. One Queen Bed and located in the heart of the Poolside with either direct access to the pool or balcony pool views. Executive desk with complimentary Wireless Internet access. Flat-Screen Plasma TV. MP3 dock. Granite Bathrooms. In-room grab & go gourmet refreshment bar and refrigerator.
Petite Queen
Small but Mighty. A jewel of contemporary luxury tucked into 234 square feet of hip and stylish coziness. Complimentary Wireless Internet. Flat-Screen Plasma TV. MP3 docking stations. In-room grab & go gourmet refreshment bar and refrigerator.
Fantastico Suite
Giving a whole new name to junior suites, this lavish 700 square foot escape offers One King Bed with separate living room, a Dining table for guests and a delightfully large bedroom and bathroom.
Concept Suites
Hotel Zaza is famous for our one-of kind Concept Suites. Lavish and fantastically themed accommodations waiting to offer an escape from all things expected. These are worlds apart from simply decorated suites, they are truly individual masterpieces of a theme

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 0.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 0.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 0.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 0.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 0.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 0.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 2.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 2.7 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 2.7 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Jones Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 3.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 3.1 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Water Wall: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.7 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 10.8 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.9 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.1 mi

Dining

The Monarch
The Monarch will incorporate three distinct spaces, including a Baroque-inspired main dining room with soaring ceilings, plush appointments and champagne bar; a stunning, tree-shaded terrace designed for fun before and after dark; and a more casual bar area with full menu service, a rotating schedule of top DJs and a rollicking Saturday brunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for ZaZa Houston

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 25, 2008

great place for business or pleasure

I was very impressed with the Hotel ZaZa. Everything about it is top notch. This is a boutique hotel that pays attention to every detail. Chic is the best way to describe it. The staff was professional yet friendly. The rooms are very well appointed. The grounds are such that you wouldn't believe you were in the middle of Houston, TX. This is a true spa hotel and they don't run it like it's a side business. I had one of the best massages I've ever had and the spa facility itself is quite impressive. I truly felt pampered. I only ate one meal at the hotel (breakfast)and it was fine. If I had to find one area they could improve on it would be the responsiveness of the wait staff in the restaurant. Other than that, everything was spectacular. I will definitely stay there again even though it is a good distance out of the way from where I conduct business. This is a great place for business or a romantic get away. I wouldn't recommend bringing small children to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 2, 2008

Hip, freindly hotel in great neighborhood

We loved our stay at ZaZa and are looking forward to our next trip to Houston so we can stay there again. The staff is super friendly and really on the ball. The room and bathroom were small but very comfortable and well decorated. good food and a fun atmosphere, all around a first-class hotel and what you would expect for the price (if you get a decent deal on the cost of a room it is a deal)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The art museums are within walking distance.

Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 27, 2007

Art Traveler/Family reunion

The Zaza is an exotic renovation of an old Houston landmark hotel. It's newness was reflected in the earnest welcome and sometimes disjointed internal communications. The special summer or grand opening rates were an incentive to try it out and I would have been satisfied should I return and pay a higher rate. It is ideally located for access to the city's great art resources - the Fine Arts Museum is across the street and proximate to the Museum and Theater Districts. The staff was charming and helpful and although not perfect in performance, the team as a whole moved well. While the lobby has a Cirque du Soleil meets Vogue appeal and the art veers to the vaguely salacious, my room was well-appointed, comfortable and sensually appealing. The luxurious shower, excellent linens, bathroom amenities and such made for a great ambience. It would also serve well for the business traveler with ample storage, iron & ironing board, robes, work area, WIFI access and privacy. Room service was prompt, accurate, and well-done. They could expand their healthful diet selections in room service but the Spa Cafe was a useful easy resource. I enjoyed my stay and would stay there on a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, texas
Aug 30, 2010

zaza 8/28/10

parking is expensive, but allows in & out. pool closed at 4pm for a private party the day we visited, which was a ripoff if you check in at 3pm. staff was great, room service good, shuttle to area locations convenient and courteous. right on the rail line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 26, 2007

Absolutely 1st Class

They knew my name when I pulled up in my car, (saw it on my luggage I guess),met me at the front door with a glass of champagne. The lobby is really cool & classy, fresh flowers, candles, great decor. The room was fabulous, large plasma TV, nice furniture, mini bar, robe in the closet,plenty of big fluffy towels in the bathroom. Great updated bathroom, solid clear glass counter and sink, scales, etc. Very roomy shower with great water pressure. When I came back to my room the bed was turned down, a candle burning in a glass container and 2 candy bars on my pillow. The bedding was plush and comfortable. Hot coffee and tea in the hall the next morning. I can't think of anything bad to say......will definately return and suggest it to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sierra Madre, California
Sep 27, 2010

the most amazing hotel in all of Houston

We always stay at the Z when we are in Houston, we will even postpone our trip if the Hotel is fully booked. The Beds are wonderful, great sheets,enough pillows and enough clothing storage. The service is impeccable! Coffee is always available first thing in the morning on every floor. I could go on and on .....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Craig a Big Sox Fan
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 28, 2012

Very Solid Stay

Great for business at Rice. Convenient to best museums if you have time! Free Internet!!!! Ver clean and cool! Free breakfast would have been nice but you can't have it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Apr 19, 2008

A great place to get away

I loved the modern updated flare of this hotel. It was a little cool for the pool but, I understand it's a hot spot in the summer. The out door seating for the bar/restaurant was wonderful. Location is perfect for those wanting to go to the museums. The hotel staff need a few lessons in customer relations and the concierge booth was empty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the finest museums of art is across the street, The Houston Museum of Fine Art. Check ahead for special exhibits.

Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kadoram
Business
Missouri, USA
Dec 20, 2013

Favorite Hotel in Houston

I cannot recommend the ZaZa highly enough. It is my second time here in five years. There has been no drop in quality, cleanliness, decor or hip-ness of this hotel during that time. Great location next to the Museum of Fine Arts and close to the university. Great food. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The stunning galleries of the MFA Houston are a must see. The city is fortunate to have such a stunning institution and world class art.

Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shreveport, LA
Mar 5, 2008

Excellent Hotel

The ZaZa Hotel exceeded our expectations. Everything was top drawer from the friendly staff, amenities, and comfortable rooms. We especially enjoyed the flat screen television with its easy wall mounted viewing. The hotel's restaurant was first class with outstanding food and service. We would have enjoyed another option such as an eat-in salad and sandwich shop. We also enjoyed the close proximity to the museums by staying at the ZaZa. They have put together an exceptional package of location, staffing, and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums

Back to menu Return to top