$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

ZaZa Houston

4 stars
View map of 5701 Main st., Houston, TX 77005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for ZaZa Houston

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stallings
Ludlow, KY, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Bring the Money!!!

This hotel is very unique. Very neat decorating.. This is a great place to go if your planning on having a good dinner and spending time at the hotel, not minding to spend a good amount of money doing so. To me the prices for everything were VERY inflated just because you were at a Well known nice facility, Where other facilities offer the same thing at lower cost. The extras you pay to have, like your inroom bar, snacks in your room. Everything just seemed over priced. $45.00 for a half bottle of wine, which a bottle at the store is $24.00 at another fine dining restaurants is $45.00 for a full bottle. The small liquor single pours are $10.00. $5.00 for a box of candy. It is VERY targeted for the upscale cleints. The Valet is unorganized.. took 15-20 mins to get your vehicle if you didn't call ahead with your valet card number, So if you were eating dinner at one of the restaurants then desided to leave it will be a min. It does cost 24.00 per day to valet. There are no other areas near the hotel to park. Great very upscale hotel transportation which were very professional and helpful. The hotel transportation is an outside company not employeed from ZAZA. A lot of locals and other travelers come to visit and eat at ZAZA while not staying. During Friday/Saturday Nights the hotel is packed. The pool area is very clean. Great small cabana's with flat screens and wet bars are around the pools. Which are great if you want to relax and have drinks or if you have company with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Due to the pricing at ZAZA, We went out a lot. MidTown, Rice Village are 2 great places with bars and food for night entertainment or just good food. Both of these places are within 5 mins of ZaZa and the hotel transportation will take you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Oct 11, 2008

My review of ZaZa Houston

We arrived in Houston a day early and had a very hard time finding any available hotel rooms. the concierge at ZaZa Houston spent around 10 minutes on the phone to find us a room for our first night. The hotel staff was very friendly and the food in the restaurant was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 3, 2008

small queen room

The area for a queen bed is small. Not enough room to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 22, 2008

Very Modern Hotel

The hotel was very model looking. Everything was so clean and nice. They even have coffee on each floor every morning. The pool is a social scene! There is even a popular bar area to hang out at night. I highly recommend this hotel. Oh, the rooms are extremely nice and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

Fantastic location for museums

We planned to visit Houston's 18 museums on this trip and most of them were within walking distance from the hotel. Herman Park was across the street and it provided a wonderful background. Check in and out was a breeze. Very friendly staff. Our bellhop even adjusted the air to our liking before leaving. The desk staff directed us to a great Greek place for dinner and provided us maps to all the local attractions. We loved the room. Very modern. Plasma sreen tv, standard desk and a great overstuffed chair. The linen and pillows were to die for! We sunk into the grand pillows and there were plenty of them. Fully stocked bar with snacks (pricey). Great little balcony if you smoke as there are no smoking rooms. Cool bathroom with all the ammenities. The rest of the hotel is very ecclectic with interesting pictures of the Hollywood famous and very strange paintings. The hotel has a very good fine dinning establishment that was not too pricey. Dinner for two with drinks was about 150.00. Service was spot on and they even customized my meal request. The chef came to each table for a brief chat after dinner. Nice touch. They have a modern workout facility with fresh fruit and water. Some of our party spent several hours down there. The only thing that was negative about Hotel ZaZa was a private wedding had booked the pool area on Saturday during the day. One criteria for my stay is that there is a pool. We were not told this when booking and were very disapionted. After a long day of walking I was looking forward to sitting at the pool for a few hours before dinner. The only chance we had at the pool was on Sunday morning before check-out. They did offer us to use the pool after check-out but we already had plans for Sunday and had to return home. It's too bad because they have a wonderful pool area with private cabanas and full bar. If your looking for a contempary hotel with a perfect location to museums and great service, I would highly recommend Hotel ZaZa. Just make sure the pool is open for use!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 2, 2008

Hip, freindly hotel in great neighborhood

We loved our stay at ZaZa and are looking forward to our next trip to Houston so we can stay there again. The staff is super friendly and really on the ball. The room and bathroom were small but very comfortable and well decorated. good food and a fun atmosphere, all around a first-class hotel and what you would expect for the price (if you get a decent deal on the cost of a room it is a deal)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The art museums are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 19, 2008

A great place to get away

I loved the modern updated flare of this hotel. It was a little cool for the pool but, I understand it's a hot spot in the summer. The out door seating for the bar/restaurant was wonderful. Location is perfect for those wanting to go to the museums. The hotel staff need a few lessons in customer relations and the concierge booth was empty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the finest museums of art is across the street, The Houston Museum of Fine Art. Check ahead for special exhibits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 5, 2008

My review of ZaZa Houston

Everything was great except for dinner on Saturday. We were seated and then we waited, and waited, and waited for someone to bring us menus and such. Finally my husband went to the hostess and we got service. After that all was well, but it sort of put a damper on the meal. The restaurant did pick up some of the dinner tab, but I would have preferred better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 8, 2008

Perfect Location and Staff

The Hotel ZaZa is located in a perfect location for visiting the museum district and enjoying the night life in Houston. The modern decor sets the mood for adult life in Houston. The hotel staff was all very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a weekend getaway, ZaZa is a definite must!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A beautiful walk through the park gets you to the whole Hermann complex and the various museums around it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Mar 5, 2008

Excellent Hotel

The ZaZa Hotel exceeded our expectations. Everything was top drawer from the friendly staff, amenities, and comfortable rooms. We especially enjoyed the flat screen television with its easy wall mounted viewing. The hotel's restaurant was first class with outstanding food and service. We would have enjoyed another option such as an eat-in salad and sandwich shop. We also enjoyed the close proximity to the museums by staying at the ZaZa. They have put together an exceptional package of location, staffing, and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ZaZa Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 25, 2008

great place for business or pleasure

I was very impressed with the Hotel ZaZa. Everything about it is top notch. This is a boutique hotel that pays attention to every detail. Chic is the best way to describe it. The staff was professional yet friendly. The rooms are very well appointed. The grounds are such that you wouldn't believe you were in the middle of Houston, TX. This is a true spa hotel and they don't run it like it's a side business. I had one of the best massages I've ever had and the spa facility itself is quite impressive. I truly felt pampered. I only ate one meal at the hotel (breakfast)and it was fine. If I had to find one area they could improve on it would be the responsiveness of the wait staff in the restaurant. Other than that, everything was spectacular. I will definitely stay there again even though it is a good distance out of the way from where I conduct business. This is a great place for business or a romantic get away. I wouldn't recommend bringing small children to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top