$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

4 stars
6800 Main Street, Houston, TX 77030
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
52 reviews
Greats place to stay

Great place to stay , pretty close to everything, only thing that's sucked was the shuttle wouldn't... See full review

  • KBWAKA
  • Feb 23, 2014
Weekend close to Medical Center

Modern facilities, has nice fitness center, too cold to use swimming pool, good value See full review

  • VISITOR FROM LOUISIANA
  • Nov 24, 2014
Comfortable hotel within walking distance of Texas Medical Center

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites features modern decor, comfortable accommodations and a convenient location. Within walking distance of Texas Medical Center, the hotel is near many popular attractions like the Children's Museum of Houston and Discovery Green. The outdoor pool offers refreshment after a busy day, and free Wi-Fi helps guests stay in touch with family, friends and colleagues. Seventy-five percent of the rooms at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel are suites with full kitchen, making the hotel an economical choice.

Highlights

  • Within walking distance of Texas Medical Center
  • Close to popular Houston attractions
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites offers bright, cheerful rooms with comfortable bedding, fluffy pillows and full-size work desks. Every room features a coffee/tea maker, iron and ironing board and free Wi-Fi. Each of the hotel's 215 suites is designed to be a home away from home, with full kitchen, premium linens, dining table, separate living room, microwave oven and free newspaper delivered to the room every morning.

Property features

Business travelers can get their work done easily at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites. The business center is staffed between 8:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m., and offers copying, fax services, printer, courier service and secretarial services.


An outdoor pool helps guests to relax after a hectic day, and an on-site, 24-hour fitness center offers treadmills and weight equipment. Breakfast and dinner is served at the on-site restaurant, Main Street Bar and Grill.


Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites is in a prime location for guests who may be visiting area hospitals. Texas Medical Center is within walking distance, and also close are MD Anderson Cancer Center, Saint Luke's Health System and Texas Children's Hospital.

Transportation

  • Houston Hobby Airport (8.9 mi/14.2 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (19.6 mi/31.6)
Nearby attractions
  • Houston museum district (1 mi/1.6 km
  • Minute Maid Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Toyota Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Downtown Houston (4.6 mi/7.4)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
During the Rodeo events period on February 25th to March 21st 2015,  Wyndham Houston Medical Center will not allow buses, trailers or large vehicles in the parking lot. Single parking spaces only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.4 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.4 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.7 mi
  • Water Wall: 4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.4 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.5 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.6 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9.9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.5 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 52
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dalia the great
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Oct 22, 2013

Quick Getaway

The hotel was comfortable, but the parking cost was steep. Not sure what other parking there would've been available, but the ones located directly in front of the property were pricy. The location however was really close to lots of shopping and tons of cultural activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DM Thorn
Business
Nacogdoches, TX
Mar 25, 2013

Quick Weekend Getaway

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. My stay was pleasant and enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kayceegl
Business
tulsa
Mar 18, 2013

for the price expected better

Travel alot and for the total price you can go to a more upscale hotel. When I booked the hotel it was the holiday inn, when I checked in it was wyndam hotel ( noone bothered to tell me that before I checked in) . $6 a night for parking , and room service is limited and only available for breakfast and dinner. (Then why offer it) your money is better spent somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mobettercorey
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Oct 30, 2012

A great hotel

The staff was very freindly and pleasant. The room was cleaned each day just as though it was our first day arriving. The location in the Medical Center was perfect for me because mom was in the hospital at St. Lukes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taking the train or bus downtown Houston saves on gas cost. There's a nearby bus stop a block away from the hotel and the cost is only $1.25 one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Newsw
Business
Boise, Idaho
Sep 16, 2011

Not That Great

Our room was next to the housekeeping center and EVERY morning around 8 there was banging and all kinds of noise as the housekeepers got their carts out. When we got there, there as no soap anywhere and I had to call the front desk...and then I had to go down to get it. The room was comfortable and the location was good, but for the money you can go to the Holiday Inn down the street and get a free breakfast with a cheaper rate on the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Weston, Florida
Sep 19, 2010

Houston Holiday Inn

Hotel was chosen because we were meeting friends who were staying there. Very average hotel with so so service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 30, 2010

Location! Location!

Such a convenient location to the sights of Houston. We enjoyed the proximity to Rice University which has a fantastic 3mi running track around its perimeter for our morning runs. Rice Village offers many shops and great restaurants, even a nightclub for the younger crowd. The downtown area is a short 10-15 minute drive. Great for photos is the small park across from the hotel which features some water sculptures and vine covered areas with benches. Hotel staff was very accomodating and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the antique district! Many unique finds with great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David and Michal
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 15, 2009

Trip to MDACC

Great service, courteous staff, rooms were clean. If you ride the shuttle, [...] is the best driver you will ever find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several restaurants within walking distance down Main and Holcombe. Buon Apetite is just couple blocks west on Holcombe, little pricey, but worth the visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Nov 4, 2009

Could not ask for a better experience

This was my first trip to Houston in almost fifty years. I remember fondly many visits to the friendly Texas State Hotel in downtown Houston. I certainly did not expect Holiday Inn to measure up to the standards of that splendid little hotel. I was to be pleasantly surprised. From check in to check out, everything was nearly perfect. We walked into the cozy lobby and were greeted by a friendly fellow at the check-in desk. When I handed him my Orbitz confirmation paper his first question was "do you prefer a room on a higher or a lower floor?" He handed us our electronic keys and a parking pass and briefly told us about some of the hotel's amenities. When we got to our room we were stunned. Although we were discount customers, our room was a pleasant two room suite with small kitchen. Our view from the eleventh floor brought back memories of a hotel that used to be just across the street - Glenn McCarthy's magnificent Shamrock Hotel. It was a fun place to visit but, frankly, the Shamrock's accommodations were not all that special. After a brief rest it was time for dinner. I don't like hotel restaurants but that night we were weary from travel. We were going to be in town for several days so might as well eat at the hotel and find better restaurants tomorrow. We never looked for those "better" restaurants. Our meal was delicious and inexpensive. The service was splendid. The atmosphere lent itself to comfortable conversation with each other and even with other patrons. We took our meals there every night. This is not a small hotel - but it certainly feels like one. Friendly staff and friendly fellow travelers. Tiny but well stocked gift/snack room off the lobby with excellent prices on everything. Bottom line. We will stay at Holiday Inn (Medical Center) the next time we visit Houston and have already recommended it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat's Boston
Business
Plano, TX
Sep 15, 2009

Houston-Med

Hotel is well located, but corridors and entrance are not clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top