$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

4 stars
6800 Main Street, Houston, TX 77030
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
51 reviews
Greats place to stay

Great place to stay , pretty close to everything, only thing that's sucked was the shuttle wouldn't... See full review

  • KBWAKA
  • Feb 23, 2014
Good location for a business trip

My stay here was short, but this hotel was perfect for a quick business trip to Houston. See full review

  • Frequent Flyer1025
  • Oct 16, 2014
Comfortable hotel within walking distance of Texas Medical Center

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites features modern decor, comfortable accommodations and a convenient location. Within walking distance of Texas Medical Center, the hotel is near many popular attractions like the Children's Museum of Houston and Discovery Green. The outdoor pool offers refreshment after a busy day, and free Wi-Fi helps guests stay in touch with family, friends and colleagues. Seventy-five percent of the rooms at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel are suites with full kitchen, making the hotel an economical choice.

Highlights

  • Within walking distance of Texas Medical Center
  • Close to popular Houston attractions
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites offers bright, cheerful rooms with comfortable bedding, fluffy pillows and full-size work desks. Every room features a coffee/tea maker, iron and ironing board and free Wi-Fi. Each of the hotel's 215 suites is designed to be a home away from home, with full kitchen, premium linens, dining table, separate living room, microwave oven and free newspaper delivered to the room every morning.

Property features

Business travelers can get their work done easily at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites. The business center is staffed between 8:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m., and offers copying, fax services, printer, courier service and secretarial services.


An outdoor pool helps guests to relax after a hectic day, and an on-site, 24-hour fitness center offers treadmills and weight equipment. Breakfast and dinner is served at the on-site restaurant, Main Street Bar and Grill.


Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites is in a prime location for guests who may be visiting area hospitals. Texas Medical Center is within walking distance, and also close are MD Anderson Cancer Center, Saint Luke's Health System and Texas Children's Hospital.

Transportation

  • Houston Hobby Airport (8.9 mi/14.2 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (19.6 mi/31.6)
Nearby attractions
  • Houston museum district (1 mi/1.6 km
  • Minute Maid Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Toyota Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Downtown Houston (4.6 mi/7.4)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
During the Rodeo events period on February 25th to March 21st 2015,  Wyndham Houston Medical Center will not allow buses, trailers or large vehicles in the parking lot. Single parking spaces only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.7069 -95.4046
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.4 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.4 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.7 mi
  • Water Wall: 4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.4 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.5 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.6 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9.9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.5 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
businessperson
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Jan 7, 2012

hotel visit

There is no microwave, hotel room is not at all impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sarmy
Business
Manila, Philippines
May 20, 2012

Irresponsible Staff

The staff of the hotel are very disappointing. I left an envelope with my medical results at the front desk when we checked out on May 2, 2012 to be picked up by my cousin. I even used the Holiday Inn letter envelope with my cousin's name. When I saw my cousin after 2 days he told me that the front desk staff told him that there was no envelope/items for him. The documents in the envelope, my medical results should have been given to my doctor 20 days ago. I am now back home and will be sending these results again to my doctor. Time, resources and energy wasted due to the irresponsible staff of the hotel and most importantly was the delayed response of my doctor to my medical condition. In addition breakfast was lousy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grandpa Vroom
Business
Houston, Texas
Feb 26, 2014

Lighten Up!!

The location is great, and the hotel looks good. The rooms themselves were adequate, with good beds and the standard features present. We needed some more towels, but the fellow who delivered them essentially sneered when he brought them up. The bath tub drain backed up big time, and there was a grittiness underfoot that was creepy. Most other staff members were friendly and helpful, but the morning front desk hostess needs to understand what "hostess" means. Overall, a slightly sour experience-great location, mostly acceptable facilities, but some sour staff members. Too much money for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kayceegl
Business
tulsa
Mar 18, 2013

for the price expected better

Travel alot and for the total price you can go to a more upscale hotel. When I booked the hotel it was the holiday inn, when I checked in it was wyndam hotel ( noone bothered to tell me that before I checked in) . $6 a night for parking , and room service is limited and only available for breakfast and dinner. (Then why offer it) your money is better spent somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Newsw
Business
Boise, Idaho
Sep 16, 2011

Not That Great

Our room was next to the housekeeping center and EVERY morning around 8 there was banging and all kinds of noise as the housekeepers got their carts out. When we got there, there as no soap anywhere and I had to call the front desk...and then I had to go down to get it. The room was comfortable and the location was good, but for the money you can go to the Holiday Inn down the street and get a free breakfast with a cheaper rate on the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat's Boston
Business
Plano, TX
Sep 15, 2009

Houston-Med

Hotel is well located, but corridors and entrance are not clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B the travel guy
Business
CT
Jan 15, 2014

Business trip

Overall the hotel is fantastic, however, breakfast and parking are not included as compared to several similar hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Weston, Florida
Sep 19, 2010

Houston Holiday Inn

Hotel was chosen because we were meeting friends who were staying there. Very average hotel with so so service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
patiente
Business
Ohio
Feb 3, 2012

Terrible smell !

I was given a room in the 5th floor. The smell of trash ? Or somerthing that I have never smelled before was unbearable. I was then given a room in the 11th floor and it was better. I purchased a room spray and it worked some. They inform me that people from different contries cook in their room, and they have spices that Americans are not aquainted with. Perhaps they can place them in aparticular area. When people have had chemoterapy they are very sensitive to smells.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cr1rider
Business
maryland
Nov 12, 2012

no fridge!?

Nice curb appeal, staff was very friendly, room was clean, No FRIDGE, a sitting chair would have been nice, a good average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best Tex mex, ask at the front desk. Great Chinese with in walking distance. Ask at the front desk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top