$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

4 stars
6800 Main Street, Houston, TX 77030
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
52 reviews
Greats place to stay

Great place to stay , pretty close to everything, only thing that's sucked was the shuttle wouldn't... See full review

  • KBWAKA
  • Feb 23, 2014
Weekend close to Medical Center

Modern facilities, has nice fitness center, too cold to use swimming pool, good value See full review

  • VISITOR FROM LOUISIANA
  • Nov 24, 2014
Comfortable hotel within walking distance of Texas Medical Center

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites features modern decor, comfortable accommodations and a convenient location. Within walking distance of Texas Medical Center, the hotel is near many popular attractions like the Children's Museum of Houston and Discovery Green. The outdoor pool offers refreshment after a busy day, and free Wi-Fi helps guests stay in touch with family, friends and colleagues. Seventy-five percent of the rooms at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel are suites with full kitchen, making the hotel an economical choice.

Highlights

  • Within walking distance of Texas Medical Center
  • Close to popular Houston attractions
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites offers bright, cheerful rooms with comfortable bedding, fluffy pillows and full-size work desks. Every room features a coffee/tea maker, iron and ironing board and free Wi-Fi. Each of the hotel's 215 suites is designed to be a home away from home, with full kitchen, premium linens, dining table, separate living room, microwave oven and free newspaper delivered to the room every morning.

Property features

Business travelers can get their work done easily at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites. The business center is staffed between 8:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m., and offers copying, fax services, printer, courier service and secretarial services.


An outdoor pool helps guests to relax after a hectic day, and an on-site, 24-hour fitness center offers treadmills and weight equipment. Breakfast and dinner is served at the on-site restaurant, Main Street Bar and Grill.


Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites is in a prime location for guests who may be visiting area hospitals. Texas Medical Center is within walking distance, and also close are MD Anderson Cancer Center, Saint Luke's Health System and Texas Children's Hospital.

Transportation

  • Houston Hobby Airport (8.9 mi/14.2 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (19.6 mi/31.6)
Nearby attractions
  • Houston museum district (1 mi/1.6 km
  • Minute Maid Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Toyota Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Downtown Houston (4.6 mi/7.4)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
During the Rodeo events period on February 25th to March 21st 2015,  Wyndham Houston Medical Center will not allow buses, trailers or large vehicles in the parking lot. Single parking spaces only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.4 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.4 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.7 mi
  • Water Wall: 4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.4 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.5 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.6 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9.9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.5 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mobettercorey
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Oct 30, 2012

A great hotel

The staff was very freindly and pleasant. The room was cleaned each day just as though it was our first day arriving. The location in the Medical Center was perfect for me because mom was in the hospital at St. Lukes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taking the train or bus downtown Houston saves on gas cost. There's a nearby bus stop a block away from the hotel and the cost is only $1.25 one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KBWAKA
Business
Houston Texas
Feb 23, 2014

Greats place to stay

Great place to stay , pretty close to everything, only thing that's sucked was the shuttle wouldn't take us downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Try going to bayou live or limelight

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mount Juliet, TN
Sep 9, 2011

Best place in town!

It was a great R & R pplace to stay. We love the room, very clean and cozy. The staff are friendly and very courteous, Very close to the place where we need to dine and shop. Overall I will definitely recommend this hotel my family, friends and neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Nov 4, 2009

Could not ask for a better experience

This was my first trip to Houston in almost fifty years. I remember fondly many visits to the friendly Texas State Hotel in downtown Houston. I certainly did not expect Holiday Inn to measure up to the standards of that splendid little hotel. I was to be pleasantly surprised. From check in to check out, everything was nearly perfect. We walked into the cozy lobby and were greeted by a friendly fellow at the check-in desk. When I handed him my Orbitz confirmation paper his first question was "do you prefer a room on a higher or a lower floor?" He handed us our electronic keys and a parking pass and briefly told us about some of the hotel's amenities. When we got to our room we were stunned. Although we were discount customers, our room was a pleasant two room suite with small kitchen. Our view from the eleventh floor brought back memories of a hotel that used to be just across the street - Glenn McCarthy's magnificent Shamrock Hotel. It was a fun place to visit but, frankly, the Shamrock's accommodations were not all that special. After a brief rest it was time for dinner. I don't like hotel restaurants but that night we were weary from travel. We were going to be in town for several days so might as well eat at the hotel and find better restaurants tomorrow. We never looked for those "better" restaurants. Our meal was delicious and inexpensive. The service was splendid. The atmosphere lent itself to comfortable conversation with each other and even with other patrons. We took our meals there every night. This is not a small hotel - but it certainly feels like one. Friendly staff and friendly fellow travelers. Tiny but well stocked gift/snack room off the lobby with excellent prices on everything. Bottom line. We will stay at Holiday Inn (Medical Center) the next time we visit Houston and have already recommended it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 3, 2007

Very Comfortable

The room did not have a Room Service menu when we arrived. A hotel employee greeted us in the hall as we were going downstairs to find a restaurant. Upon inquiring about our stay, he volunteered to go get us a room service menu. He was back in less than 10 minutes. The hotel was recently remodeled and was very comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located next to the Medical Center, where I was to have a medical procedure the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Astrodome and stadium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenturky
Nov 15, 2009

Great

[...] was compassionate in the sense that she assisted in [...] rebooking my flight and offerred prayer of healing intervention for my son. I'm greatly appreciative for her faithful support. Generally, the Bus shotle drivers, the front desk staffs, the house keepers, the crews in the restaurant were all full of professional ethics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Macleeh
Business
USA
Apr 15, 2007

Renovations hurt comfort level

The Holiday Inn & Suites (Medical Center) in Houston promises to be a first rate facility when the ongoing renovations are completed. Although the location is excellent, the room was very comfortable, and the hotel staff were friendly, the renovations that were being done caused the closure of the pool and the fitness room. This was very disappointing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Rice Village area near the campus of Rice University is an easy drive or long walk from the hotel and provides a variety of interesting restaurants as well as boutique shops. For big time eating and shopping, a longer drive to the Galleria Mall is the option to choose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Martinville, Louisiana
Sep 8, 2009

What a place!

I've been fortunate to travel quite a bit over the years and the staff at this hotel was about the best I've ever encountered. From Dustin who checked us in and upgraded our accommodations to the lady to brought extra linens in less than five minutes of our request, I certainly give this hotel a 5+ star rating and most definitely look forward to staying with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

In the center of Houston's museum district, this hotel was extremely convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 5, 2008

Comfortable, reasonably priced, well-run

The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites at the Houston Medical Center was a good find. Nothing luxurious, but a good, clean, well-run place to stay. I'll go back there on future trips. I used the free high-speed internet quite a lot. The restaurant was more than adequate both in service and food quality. The location, across the street from the Medical Center, is not too far from the most interesting and beautiful parts of Houston ? Montrose, Hermann Park, Rice University, Shadyside, the museums and great restaurants in River Oaks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All the good museums are nearby: The Menil Collection, the Houston Museum of Fine Arts, The Cy Twombly museum, the Byzantine frescoes museum, the Rothko Chapel. Backstreet Cafe is a terrific (not cheap) casual restaurant a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nacogdoches
Aug 31, 2008

Friendly

Everything was great except I don't know if the walls are too thin or what but alot of times around 1-2 am could hear people talking in the next room over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The great ballpark is just a few miles from the hotel, easy to find and get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top