$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

4 stars
View map of 6800 Main Street, Houston, TX 77030

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
54 reviews
Great birthday

Had a great birthday downtown, convienient to all downtown adventures See full review

  • KBWAKA
  • Jan 15, 2015
Great birthday

Had a great birthday downtown, convienient to all downtown adventures See full review

  • KBWAKA
  • Jan 15, 2015
Comfortable hotel within walking distance of Texas Medical Center

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites features modern decor, comfortable accommodations and a convenient location. Within walking distance of Texas Medical Center, the hotel is near many popular attractions like the Children's Museum of Houston and Discovery Green. The outdoor pool offers refreshment after a busy day, and free Wi-Fi helps guests stay in touch with family, friends and colleagues. Seventy-five percent of the rooms at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel are suites with full kitchen, making the hotel an economical choice.

Highlights

  • Within walking distance of Texas Medical Center
  • Close to popular Houston attractions
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites offers bright, cheerful rooms with comfortable bedding, fluffy pillows and full-size work desks. Every room features a coffee/tea maker, iron and ironing board and free Wi-Fi. Each of the hotel's 215 suites is designed to be a home away from home, with full kitchen, premium linens, dining table, separate living room, microwave oven and free newspaper delivered to the room every morning.

Property features

Business travelers can get their work done easily at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites. The business center is staffed between 8:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m., and offers copying, fax services, printer, courier service and secretarial services.


An outdoor pool helps guests to relax after a hectic day, and an on-site, 24-hour fitness center offers treadmills and weight equipment. Breakfast and dinner is served at the on-site restaurant, Main Street Bar and Grill.


Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites is in a prime location for guests who may be visiting area hospitals. Texas Medical Center is within walking distance, and also close are MD Anderson Cancer Center, Saint Luke's Health System and Texas Children's Hospital.

Transportation

  • Houston Hobby Airport (8.9 mi/14.2 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (19.6 mi/31.6)
Nearby attractions
  • Houston museum district (1 mi/1.6 km
  • Minute Maid Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Toyota Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Downtown Houston (4.6 mi/7.4)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
During the Rodeo events period on February 25th to March 21st 2015,  Wyndham Houston Medical Center will not allow buses, trailers or large vehicles in the parking lot. Single parking spaces only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.4 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.4 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.7 mi
  • Water Wall: 4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.4 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.5 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.6 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9.9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.5 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Nov 4, 2009

Could not ask for a better experience

This was my first trip to Houston in almost fifty years. I remember fondly many visits to the friendly Texas State Hotel in downtown Houston. I certainly did not expect Holiday Inn to measure up to the standards of that splendid little hotel. I was to be pleasantly surprised. From check in to check out, everything was nearly perfect. We walked into the cozy lobby and were greeted by a friendly fellow at the check-in desk. When I handed him my Orbitz confirmation paper his first question was "do you prefer a room on a higher or a lower floor?" He handed us our electronic keys and a parking pass and briefly told us about some of the hotel's amenities. When we got to our room we were stunned. Although we were discount customers, our room was a pleasant two room suite with small kitchen. Our view from the eleventh floor brought back memories of a hotel that used to be just across the street - Glenn McCarthy's magnificent Shamrock Hotel. It was a fun place to visit but, frankly, the Shamrock's accommodations were not all that special. After a brief rest it was time for dinner. I don't like hotel restaurants but that night we were weary from travel. We were going to be in town for several days so might as well eat at the hotel and find better restaurants tomorrow. We never looked for those "better" restaurants. Our meal was delicious and inexpensive. The service was splendid. The atmosphere lent itself to comfortable conversation with each other and even with other patrons. We took our meals there every night. This is not a small hotel - but it certainly feels like one. Friendly staff and friendly fellow travelers. Tiny but well stocked gift/snack room off the lobby with excellent prices on everything. Bottom line. We will stay at Holiday Inn (Medical Center) the next time we visit Houston and have already recommended it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New yorker with a budget
Business
New York
Nov 3, 2009

Very convenient price performer

In walking distance from the childrens hospital, but also with convenient shuttle service to medical center. Room service was fast and polite. Amazing steak quesadilla! Only thing that would make it better is to provide hair conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
moon121
Business
korea
Oct 26, 2009

good but little bit noisy

The location of this hotel was realy fantastic and staffs were all friendly. However my room was just beside the laundry and ice macine, so it was little bit noisy, and room temperature was not modulated well with heater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Oct 10, 2009

Job Interview

Had a job interview at the medical center. Hotel is very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rice Owl
Business
Silicon Valley, CA
Oct 9, 2009

Good choice for the business traveler

Good location for visitors to the medical center or Rice University. Decent room with kitchenette. Nothing fancy, this is a Holiday Inn after all. Friendly front desk clerk comped me overnight parking because I waited patiently in line without hassling him! Gotta say, those sorts of gestures go a long way to making an impersonal chain property feel just a teeny bit more homely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

University Village has excellent shopping and decent dining. Kirby St. on its western edge, has more restaurants if you drive north on it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat's Boston
Business
Plano, TX
Sep 15, 2009

Houston-Med

Hotel is well located, but corridors and entrance are not clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 8, 2009

Good value for downtown stay

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We were just a few blocks away from the light rail stop, which was very handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Martinville, Louisiana
Sep 8, 2009

What a place!

I've been fortunate to travel quite a bit over the years and the staff at this hotel was about the best I've ever encountered. From Dustin who checked us in and upgraded our accommodations to the lady to brought extra linens in less than five minutes of our request, I certainly give this hotel a 5+ star rating and most definitely look forward to staying with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

In the center of Houston's museum district, this hotel was extremely convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cgeorge74
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 17, 2009

Great Value

Great Value. Has a sundries and flower shop. Great pool, but it is deep, no kiddie pool. Pool is 3 feet 6 inches deep and plunges to around 7 feet, so please watch the kiddos!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDACC Vacationer
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 31, 2009

Great service & location

The food was delicious and the value menu helped keep our budget under control. I can't say enough good things about the staff. They do anything they can to help you feel comfortable. The free shuttle to the medical center and local entertainment was great. They really seem to understand that if you're staying at the medical center, it's probably not for a fun reason. The personal touch made up for the small rooms, and minor issues like a running toilet. They don't serve lunch, as they focus a great deal on providing numerous shuttles throughout the day to area hospitals and other locations. I wonder if they could add some value and profit by offering boxed sandwich lunches for folks visiting family in the hospital.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Note they do not serve lunch, presumably because most guests spend their days at the medical center. Upon request, they do provide a list of places to eat in walking distance and places that deliver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top