$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

4 stars
View map of 6800 Main Street, Houston, TX 77030

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David and Michal
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 15, 2009

Trip to MDACC

Great service, courteous staff, rooms were clean. If you ride the shuttle, [...] is the best driver you will ever find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several restaurants within walking distance down Main and Holcombe. Buon Apetite is just couple blocks west on Holcombe, little pricey, but worth the visit.

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Nov 4, 2009

Could not ask for a better experience

This was my first trip to Houston in almost fifty years. I remember fondly many visits to the friendly Texas State Hotel in downtown Houston. I certainly did not expect Holiday Inn to measure up to the standards of that splendid little hotel. I was to be pleasantly surprised. From check in to check out, everything was nearly perfect. We walked into the cozy lobby and were greeted by a friendly fellow at the check-in desk. When I handed him my Orbitz confirmation paper his first question was "do you prefer a room on a higher or a lower floor?" He handed us our electronic keys and a parking pass and briefly told us about some of the hotel's amenities. When we got to our room we were stunned. Although we were discount customers, our room was a pleasant two room suite with small kitchen. Our view from the eleventh floor brought back memories of a hotel that used to be just across the street - Glenn McCarthy's magnificent Shamrock Hotel. It was a fun place to visit but, frankly, the Shamrock's accommodations were not all that special. After a brief rest it was time for dinner. I don't like hotel restaurants but that night we were weary from travel. We were going to be in town for several days so might as well eat at the hotel and find better restaurants tomorrow. We never looked for those "better" restaurants. Our meal was delicious and inexpensive. The service was splendid. The atmosphere lent itself to comfortable conversation with each other and even with other patrons. We took our meals there every night. This is not a small hotel - but it certainly feels like one. Friendly staff and friendly fellow travelers. Tiny but well stocked gift/snack room off the lobby with excellent prices on everything. Bottom line. We will stay at Holiday Inn (Medical Center) the next time we visit Houston and have already recommended it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New yorker with a budget
Business
New York
Nov 3, 2009

Very convenient price performer

In walking distance from the childrens hospital, but also with convenient shuttle service to medical center. Room service was fast and polite. Amazing steak quesadilla! Only thing that would make it better is to provide hair conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
moon121
Single
korea
Oct 26, 2009

good but little bit noisy

The location of this hotel was realy fantastic and staffs were all friendly. However my room was just beside the laundry and ice macine, so it was little bit noisy, and room temperature was not modulated well with heater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Miami, FL
Oct 10, 2009

Job Interview

Had a job interview at the medical center. Hotel is very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rice Owl
Business
Silicon Valley, CA
Oct 9, 2009

Good choice for the business traveler

Good location for visitors to the medical center or Rice University. Decent room with kitchenette. Nothing fancy, this is a Holiday Inn after all. Friendly front desk clerk comped me overnight parking because I waited patiently in line without hassling him! Gotta say, those sorts of gestures go a long way to making an impersonal chain property feel just a teeny bit more homely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

University Village has excellent shopping and decent dining. Kirby St. on its western edge, has more restaurants if you drive north on it.

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat's Boston
Couples
Plano, TX
Sep 15, 2009

Houston-Med

Hotel is well located, but corridors and entrance are not clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St. Martinville, Louisiana
Sep 8, 2009

What a place!

I've been fortunate to travel quite a bit over the years and the staff at this hotel was about the best I've ever encountered. From Dustin who checked us in and upgraded our accommodations to the lady to brought extra linens in less than five minutes of our request, I certainly give this hotel a 5+ star rating and most definitely look forward to staying with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

In the center of Houston's museum district, this hotel was extremely convenient.

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Austin, TX
Sep 8, 2009

Good value for downtown stay

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We were just a few blocks away from the light rail stop, which was very handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cgeorge74
Family
San Antonio, TX
Aug 17, 2009

Great Value

Great Value. Has a sundries and flower shop. Great pool, but it is deep, no kiddie pool. Pool is 3 feet 6 inches deep and plunges to around 7 feet, so please watch the kiddos!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top