$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

4 stars
6800 Main Street, Houston, TX 77030
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
78 reviews
Greats place to stay

Great place to stay , pretty close to everything, only thing that's sucked was the shuttle wouldn't... See full review

  • KBWAKA
  • Feb 23, 2014
Med school visit

Wonderful visit in an ideal location for the Baylor College of Medicine. Staff was friendly and... See full review

  • Beavers
  • May 29, 2014
Comfortable hotel within walking distance of Texas Medical Center

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites features modern decor, comfortable accommodations and a convenient location. Within walking distance of Texas Medical Center, the hotel is near many popular attractions like the Children's Museum of Houston and Discovery Green. The outdoor pool offers refreshment after a busy day, and free Wi-Fi helps guests stay in touch with family, friends and colleagues. Seventy-five percent of the rooms at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel are suites with full kitchen, making the hotel an economical choice.

Highlights

  • Within walking distance of Texas Medical Center
  • Close to popular Houston attractions
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites offers bright, cheerful rooms with comfortable bedding, fluffy pillows and full-size work desks. Every room features a coffee/tea maker, iron and ironing board and free Wi-Fi. Each of the hotel's 215 suites is designed to be a home away from home, with full kitchen, premium linens, dining table, separate living room, microwave oven and free newspaper delivered to the room every morning.

Property features

Business travelers can get their work done easily at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites. The business center is staffed between 8:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m., and offers copying, fax services, printer, courier service and secretarial services.


An outdoor pool helps guests to relax after a hectic day, and an on-site, 24-hour fitness center offers treadmills and weight equipment. Breakfast and dinner is served at the on-site restaurant, Main Street Bar and Grill.


Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites is in a prime location for guests who may be visiting area hospitals. Texas Medical Center is within walking distance, and also close are MD Anderson Cancer Center, Saint Luke's Health System and Texas Children's Hospital.

Transportation

  • Houston Hobby Airport (8.9 mi/14.2 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (19.6 mi/31.6)
Nearby attractions
  • Houston museum district (1 mi/1.6 km
  • Minute Maid Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Toyota Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Downtown Houston (4.6 mi/7.4)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
During the Rodeo events period on February 25th to March 21st 2015,  Wyndham Houston Medical Center will not allow buses, trailers or large vehicles in the parking lot. Single parking spaces only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

29.7069 -95.4046
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.4 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.4 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.7 mi
  • Water Wall: 4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.4 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.5 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.6 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9.9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.5 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma city
Jan 21, 2010

Very satisfied

The hotel is located in a very convenient location if your purpose of going to Houston is some engagement near the Texas Medical Center. The Hotel provides a free shuttle service to multiple hospitals and buildings within the area, both to and back. Its one of the few hotels which had free internet access within each room. Rooms were clean, well equipped and restful. Bathroom was big and clean. I wish the breakfast would have been complimentary (11$ per person). I was completely satisfied with my stay at this hotel and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Houston has a very good shuttle service called SuperShuttle. You can look them up online. They have very good rates to and from the airport. Cost much less than a taxi! You just have to sit with a few travelers, which personally I dont mind at all.

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma city
Jan 21, 2010

Very satisfied

The hotel is located in a very convenient location if your purpose of going to Houston is some engagement near the Texas Medical Center. The Hotel provides a free shuttle service to multiple hospitals and buildings within the area, both to and back. Its one of the few hotels which had free internet access within each room. Rooms were clean, well equipped and restful. Bathroom was big and clean. I wish the breakfast would have been complimentary (11$ per person). I was completely satisfied with my stay at this hotel and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Houston has a very good shuttle service called SuperShuttle. You can look them up online. They have very good rates to and from the airport. Cost much less than a taxi! You just have to sit with a few travelers, which personally I dont mind at all.

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norton, Ohio
Dec 13, 2009

Room OK

The room was nice, very small. The bathroom was never restocked correctly and we had to call every day for towels, wash rags, dish detergent, broken coffee pot, coffee, sugar. This was a pain. Staff was friendly, but slow. We actually missed our first night due to SNOW of all things and they charged us for the room. I will be disputing this, as our airplane couldn't land and we had to turn around. [...] Our rental car adjusted but [...] at the hotel refused to adjust.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norton, Ohio
Dec 13, 2009

Room OK

The room was nice, very small. The bathroom was never restocked correctly and we had to call every day for towels, wash rags, dish detergent, broken coffee pot, coffee, sugar. This was a pain. Staff was friendly, but slow. We actually missed our first night due to SNOW of all things and they charged us for the room. I will be disputing this, as our airplane couldn't land and we had to turn around. [...] Our rental car adjusted but [...] at the hotel refused to adjust.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kingsport, TN37660
Dec 12, 2009

good location for price

continental breakfast would be nice!! fitness center needs upgrade in equipment!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

many museums within short distance, and many are free!!

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kingsport, TN37660
Dec 12, 2009

good location for price

continental breakfast would be nice!! fitness center needs upgrade in equipment!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

many museums within short distance, and many are free!!

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kenturky
Nov 15, 2009

Great

[...] was compassionate in the sense that she assisted in [...] rebooking my flight and offerred prayer of healing intervention for my son. I'm greatly appreciative for her faithful support. Generally, the Bus shotle drivers, the front desk staffs, the house keepers, the crews in the restaurant were all full of professional ethics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David and Michal
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 15, 2009

Trip to MDACC

Great service, courteous staff, rooms were clean. If you ride the shuttle, [...] is the best driver you will ever find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several restaurants within walking distance down Main and Holcombe. Buon Apetite is just couple blocks west on Holcombe, little pricey, but worth the visit.

Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kenturky
Nov 15, 2009

Great

[...] was compassionate in the sense that she assisted in [...] rebooking my flight and offerred prayer of healing intervention for my son. I'm greatly appreciative for her faithful support. Generally, the Bus shotle drivers, the front desk staffs, the house keepers, the crews in the restaurant were all full of professional ethics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David and Michal
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 15, 2009

Trip to MDACC

Great service, courteous staff, rooms were clean. If you ride the shuttle, [...] is the best driver you will ever find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several restaurants within walking distance down Main and Holcombe. Buon Apetite is just couple blocks west on Holcombe, little pricey, but worth the visit.

Back to menu Return to top