$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

4 stars
6800 Main Street, Houston, TX 77030
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
52 reviews
Greats place to stay

Great place to stay , pretty close to everything, only thing that's sucked was the shuttle wouldn't... See full review

  • KBWAKA
  • Feb 23, 2014
Weekend close to Medical Center

Modern facilities, has nice fitness center, too cold to use swimming pool, good value See full review

  • VISITOR FROM LOUISIANA
  • Nov 24, 2014
Comfortable hotel within walking distance of Texas Medical Center

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites features modern decor, comfortable accommodations and a convenient location. Within walking distance of Texas Medical Center, the hotel is near many popular attractions like the Children's Museum of Houston and Discovery Green. The outdoor pool offers refreshment after a busy day, and free Wi-Fi helps guests stay in touch with family, friends and colleagues. Seventy-five percent of the rooms at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel are suites with full kitchen, making the hotel an economical choice.

Highlights

  • Within walking distance of Texas Medical Center
  • Close to popular Houston attractions
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites offers bright, cheerful rooms with comfortable bedding, fluffy pillows and full-size work desks. Every room features a coffee/tea maker, iron and ironing board and free Wi-Fi. Each of the hotel's 215 suites is designed to be a home away from home, with full kitchen, premium linens, dining table, separate living room, microwave oven and free newspaper delivered to the room every morning.

Property features

Business travelers can get their work done easily at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites. The business center is staffed between 8:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m., and offers copying, fax services, printer, courier service and secretarial services.


An outdoor pool helps guests to relax after a hectic day, and an on-site, 24-hour fitness center offers treadmills and weight equipment. Breakfast and dinner is served at the on-site restaurant, Main Street Bar and Grill.


Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites is in a prime location for guests who may be visiting area hospitals. Texas Medical Center is within walking distance, and also close are MD Anderson Cancer Center, Saint Luke's Health System and Texas Children's Hospital.

Transportation

  • Houston Hobby Airport (8.9 mi/14.2 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (19.6 mi/31.6)
Nearby attractions
  • Houston museum district (1 mi/1.6 km
  • Minute Maid Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Toyota Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Downtown Houston (4.6 mi/7.4)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
During the Rodeo events period on February 25th to March 21st 2015,  Wyndham Houston Medical Center will not allow buses, trailers or large vehicles in the parking lot. Single parking spaces only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.4 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.4 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.7 mi
  • Water Wall: 4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.4 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.5 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.6 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9.9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.5 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
docb
Business
Savannah, GA, USA
Mar 25, 2013

Very nice location

The hotel is very close to Hermann park, Houston Zoo, Museum of natural sciences, Rice University, etc. The location could not be better for a two or three days' family vacation at Houston. The suite is reasonably priced and quite convenient for a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kayceegl
Business
tulsa
Mar 18, 2013

for the price expected better

Travel alot and for the total price you can go to a more upscale hotel. When I booked the hotel it was the holiday inn, when I checked in it was wyndam hotel ( noone bothered to tell me that before I checked in) . $6 a night for parking , and room service is limited and only available for breakfast and dinner. (Then why offer it) your money is better spent somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse Margie
Business
De Berry
Mar 9, 2013

Windham Hotel and Suites

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and clean except the carpet. It was NASTY in several places. I realize Windham has just taken this location from Holiday Inn. I reported this to the front desk and she said she will report this to the appropriate person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Very close to M D Anderson medical center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cr1rider
Business
maryland
Nov 12, 2012

no fridge!?

Nice curb appeal, staff was very friendly, room was clean, No FRIDGE, a sitting chair would have been nice, a good average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best Tex mex, ask at the front desk. Great Chinese with in walking distance. Ask at the front desk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mobettercorey
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Oct 30, 2012

A great hotel

The staff was very freindly and pleasant. The room was cleaned each day just as though it was our first day arriving. The location in the Medical Center was perfect for me because mom was in the hospital at St. Lukes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taking the train or bus downtown Houston saves on gas cost. There's a nearby bus stop a block away from the hotel and the cost is only $1.25 one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Onco Nomad
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 13, 2012

Great for Work Trip

Holiday Inn Medical Center was a good hotel for my work trip to the cancer center. They seemed to treat the patients staying there very well. The woman who took my breakfast room service order each morning was simply wonderful! She certainly put a smile on my face! I would suggest that the shuttle drivers learn the area hospital stops a bit better to make the trip less anxiety provoking for the patients and their families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metrorail to get around Houston. It takes you right to the Museum District and only a few blocks from the Astros Stadium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan10
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 3, 2012

Very comfortable hotel!

The hotel was very convinent to the medical center where we were going. It was clean, quiet, and was very comfortable to return to after having surgical procedures done that let one go home the same day. The breakfasts were very good and the staff there were excellent. I did not have much interaction with the rest of the staff but any interaction was always positive. We came in close to midnight and there was no problem with checking in with plenty of personnel still around. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sarmy
Business
Manila, Philippines
May 20, 2012

Irresponsible Staff

The staff of the hotel are very disappointing. I left an envelope with my medical results at the front desk when we checked out on May 2, 2012 to be picked up by my cousin. I even used the Holiday Inn letter envelope with my cousin's name. When I saw my cousin after 2 days he told me that the front desk staff told him that there was no envelope/items for him. The documents in the envelope, my medical results should have been given to my doctor 20 days ago. I am now back home and will be sending these results again to my doctor. Time, resources and energy wasted due to the irresponsible staff of the hotel and most importantly was the delayed response of my doctor to my medical condition. In addition breakfast was lousy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Mom of two.
Business
Michigan
Feb 17, 2012

Great stay for touring Houston with kids.

The staff and especially the shuttle drivers were outstanding with helping me travel with my two kids under two. We spent several days at the hotel to visit the zoo and museums. The rooms are small but the kitchette was helpful to manage multiple meals for the kids. I only wish they had valet. It was hard to get two sleeping kids and lugage in from the parking lot. Also could use a hot tub!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Rice plaza and the zoo. Both can be access by the hotel shuttle and I found it very reliable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
patiente
Business
Ohio
Feb 3, 2012

Terrible smell !

I was given a room in the 5th floor. The smell of trash ? Or somerthing that I have never smelled before was unbearable. I was then given a room in the 11th floor and it was better. I purchased a room spray and it worked some. They inform me that people from different contries cook in their room, and they have spices that Americans are not aquainted with. Perhaps they can place them in aparticular area. When people have had chemoterapy they are very sensitive to smells.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top