$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

The Westin Houston Downtown

4 stars
View map of 1520 Texas Avenue, 1520 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
24 reviews
Awesome Trip to Minute Maid

The hotel is just steps away from Minute Maid Park. The staff is very friendly, and the rooms are... See full review

  • Happy Texas Traveler
  • Jan 5, 2015
Great Place to Stay

I stayed here after attending an Astros game at Minute Maid Park. The park is literally right... See full review

  • Happy Texas Traveler
  • Jun 16, 2014
Treat yourself to a revitalizing haven in a convenient location. The Westin Houston Downtown is near the convention center, a serene park, and major highways. Sports fans will be close to Minute Maid Park, the Toyota Center, and BBVA Compass Stadium. Stay on top of work in the business center, and energize in our well-equipped gym. Recharge with a nourishing meal in our restaurant—morning, noon, or night. Gather in one of our function rooms, complete with wireless High Speed Internet Access. Enjoy traditional charm and inspiring views in any of our 200 guest rooms and suites. Work at the modern desk or relax on the leather furniture. Get a blissful nights rest on your Westin Heavenly® Bed, and refresh with premium bath amenities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Houston Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Houston Downtown Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.5 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.5 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.7 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.4 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 18.1 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Houston Downtown

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hollywood Mom
Business
Sacramento
Dec 3, 2013

Te best sleep of my trip.

The hotel was very pretty & sparkling clean. The bed was the absolute best of all of the hotels we stayed in for the week. Staff was very helpful. The parking at this particular location needs to have more options. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Texas Traveler
Business
South Texas
Feb 9, 2014

Great Stay!!

We stayed at this hotel on a busy Friday night. It was a great experience from check in to check out. They offer many amenities. Staff is friendly and helpful. Location in downtown Houston is one of the best. We could see the GRB convention center from our room. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shawn Nichols
Business
Lake Charles, LA
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect for a weekend at the BALLPARK!

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. As for the rooms....bed and pillows are amazingly comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Steakhouse right next door :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Fl
May 27, 2010

A Day At The Ballpark

The location was across the street from the ballpark which was absoutely great and very conveinent. The baseball theme at the hotel fit in nicely with our trip. the rooms were very clean and the staff professional and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

a shopping mall was within walking distance of the hotel and had a huge food court.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Liberty, Texas
Sep 14, 2009

Great Place

Watched the Houston Astro

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jonathan Saar
Business
Atlanta Georgia
Nov 20, 2009

Houston Conference

Customer service was excellent. The staff were all super helpful and courteous. They bent over backwards to provide good service and go that extra mile. A very cool atmosphere in the lobby with some great jazz tunes always playing in the background. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FR World Traveler
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Jan 23, 2010

Book it now!

Overall, I loved the hotel. Great rooms, great location, great staff, free internet, even the food was good. I don't think you can go wrong here. I got a combo hotel/car [...] and was extremely pleased...great value. Highy recommended! My only complaint was the incredibly high rate for Valet Parking ($22.00 plus tax). [Valet is the only parking available]Since I had meetings away from the hotel, I simply parked literally right in front of the hotel overnight for free until 7AM. Since I was usually gone for the day by 10AM, I dropped 3 bucks into the meter ($1.00/hour, up to 6PM) (6PM to 7AM, free) to prevent getting a ticket. I probably spent $11 for parking versus the $50 that I would have spend on valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Clemente, CA
Feb 3, 2010

Fantastic Hotel

I only stayed one night, quick trip, but everything was phenominal. The entire hotel was emmaculate, beds were amazing and even pillows were comfortable which is usually my biggest complaint. LARGE windows looking towards downtown. Great bathrooms and tub/shower as well! Definitely looking to stay here again for future trips to our Downtown Houston location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Jan 5, 2010

Inn at the Ballpark

There were some unforeseen prices such as overnight parking and taxes that increased the rate of the room but overall I was very satisfied with the price! The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very professional and will cater to any need you have. Also, the food was great and I even got coffee to go from the station at the restaurant for that purpose. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Texas Traveler
Business
South Texas
Jun 16, 2014

Great Place to Stay

I stayed here after attending an Astros game at Minute Maid Park. The park is literally right across the street. I was able to walk to and from the game easily. Everyone at the Westin is very courteous-from the valet that parks your car to the waitress in the lounge. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. This was my second stay at the Westin Downtown, and I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top