$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

The Westin Houston Downtown

4 stars
View map of 1520 Texas Avenue, 1520 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
25 reviews
Awesome Trip to Minute Maid

The hotel is just steps away from Minute Maid Park. The staff is very friendly, and the rooms are... See full review

  • Happy Texas Traveler
  • Jan 5, 2015
Great Place to Stay

I stayed here after attending an Astros game at Minute Maid Park. The park is literally right... See full review

  • Happy Texas Traveler
  • Jun 16, 2014
Treat yourself to a revitalizing haven in a convenient location. The Westin Houston Downtown is near the convention center, a serene park, and major highways. Sports fans will be close to Minute Maid Park, the Toyota Center, and BBVA Compass Stadium. Stay on top of work in the business center, and energize in our well-equipped gym. Recharge with a nourishing meal in our restaurant—morning, noon, or night. Gather in one of our function rooms, complete with wireless High Speed Internet Access. Enjoy traditional charm and inspiring views in any of our 200 guest rooms and suites. Work at the modern desk or relax on the leather furniture. Get a blissful nights rest on your Westin Heavenly® Bed, and refresh with premium bath amenities.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Houston Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Houston Downtown Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.5 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.5 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.7 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.4 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 18.1 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Houston Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hollywood Mom
Business
Sacramento
Dec 3, 2013

Te best sleep of my trip.

The hotel was very pretty & sparkling clean. The bed was the absolute best of all of the hotels we stayed in for the week. Staff was very helpful. The parking at this particular location needs to have more options. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark B.
Business
Chatham
Jun 28, 2015

Nice downtown hotel

Was in town for a conference, good location and overall nice hotel. Construction nearby but did not bother at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lotsa Miles
Business
New York
Feb 23, 2015

Nice hotel

Pleasant place to stay, but a little out of the way for downtown unless you are going to the ball park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Texas Traveler
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Awesome Trip to Minute Maid

The hotel is just steps away from Minute Maid Park. The staff is very friendly, and the rooms are clean and attractive. It was a great experience staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebelshar
Business
Warrenville, il
Sep 24, 2014

Nice hotel, very pricey

Staff was great, location, excellent for our needs (ball game at Minute Maid Park). Paid upfront for the room (almost $300.00), however, we were still charged almost $30.00 more upon check out for valet parking. There is NO other option BUT valet parking!! Nice hotel, but not such a good deal, after all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Irma's southwest Grill is a block down from the hotel and they have delicious food!

Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Texas Traveler
Business
South Texas
Jun 16, 2014

Great Place to Stay

I stayed here after attending an Astros game at Minute Maid Park. The park is literally right across the street. I was able to walk to and from the game easily. Everyone at the Westin is very courteous-from the valet that parks your car to the waitress in the lounge. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. This was my second stay at the Westin Downtown, and I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kami's Mommy
Business
Lewisville, TX
May 29, 2014

Great location and a great value!

The Westin was wonderful and I loved the location in downtown! The hotel was clean, the staff was courteous, and they are pet friendly. Our room was very clean. The beds are so comfortable I didn't want to get up the next morning! We had to wait an hour to check-in, but the hotel compensated by giving us complimentary breakfast the next morning. They also provide a courtesy shuttle that will take you within a few miles of the hotel. Keep in mind that valet is $26 each day. One challenge they face is that there is no swimming pool. Overall I loved my stay and will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Frank's Pizza was amazing! If you love New York-style pizza, this is the place!

Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shawn Nichols
Business
Lake Charles, LA
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect for a weekend at the BALLPARK!

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. As for the rooms....bed and pillows are amazingly comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Steakhouse right next door :)

Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy the hotel reviewer
Business
Missouri
Mar 3, 2014

All-around great stay!

The rooms were amazing, parking was a breeze, helpful staff, and you can't beat the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Texas Traveler
Business
South Texas
Feb 9, 2014

Great Stay!!

We stayed at this hotel on a busy Friday night. It was a great experience from check in to check out. They offer many amenities. Staff is friendly and helpful. Location in downtown Houston is one of the best. We could see the GRB convention center from our room. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeeohBee
Business
New York
Feb 6, 2014

Beautiful hotel

Gorgeous rooms and Jonathan Adler update is stunning. Nice fitness room and fairly clean all around. I did not eat at the property so I cannot speak to the food but restaurant was busy for breakfast and theres a nice steakhouse and some decent TexMex near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top