The Westin Galleria Houston

4 stars
5060 West Alabama, Houston, TX 77056
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
40 reviews
Great time, food and accommodation.

very well located, near galleria. I will recommend this hotel to my friends. See full review

  • Saulcantu
  • Jun 2, 2014
Nice Getaway in a Convenient Location

The Westin Galleria is a very nice hotel. It's great that it's right on top of the Galleria mall,... See full review

  • Woodlands Swimmer
  • Apr 17, 2014
Bright light filters through floor-to-ceiling windows inside the Parlor Suites at The Westin Galleria Houston, while Traditional Rooms are adorned with cherry wood tones, and the Luxury Suites include a lounge area with plush furniture for entertaining clients and friends. Head to the fifth floor to sunbathe beside the rooftop pool before diving in to cool off, or put in a workout at the WestinWORKOUT Fitness Studio. Indulgent in-room spa treatments provide the ultimate way to relax, with aromatherapy oils, room sprays and relaxing music. Finish off a great day with dinner at the White Oak Kitchen, which serves international flavors spanning Thailand to Hungary and beyond.
Key facts
  • 487 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • AAA Four-Diamond rating
  • 24-hour fitness facility
  • Starbucks coffee
  • Daily Grill restaurant offers American fare
  • Street-level lobby bar
  • White Oaks Kitchen + Drinks
  • Outdoor heated pool
  • In-room spa treatments available
Neighborhood
Most hotels aren't situated in the middle of the mall. However, for shopaholics, the Westin Galleria Hotel Houston is a real paradise, set in the downtown area of the city. Just steps away from the room are some of the largest retail shops in the United States, with a variety of restaurants just as close. Venture roughly eight miles away for a cultured experience inside the Museum District, where the Holocaust Museum, the Contemporary Arts Museum and the Children's Museum of Houston offer history, artworks, crafts and interactive displays for kids.
Hints and tips
If you aren't pressed for time on the day of your departure, consider calling down to the front desk and taking advantage of late checkout.
The Daily Grill offers crowd-pleasing hamburgers and drinks, while the breakfast in the morning will surely boost your energy for the day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Galleria Houston Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Boutiques
Porters
Video checkout
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Map

29.738 -95.464
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 20.00, MI; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 25.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.9 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.6 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.8 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.9 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.6 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 4.9 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.7 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 6.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 6.2 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 6.2 mi
  • Toyota Center: 6.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 6.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 6.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 6.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.1 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.4 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.4 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Galleria Houston

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Galleria Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
emmanuel's nightmere
Business
el paso tx
Aug 29, 2012

definitely not a good experience

there was no running water in the morning.... when it finally came back it was murky ......so I decided I was better off not taking a shower rather than waiting some more and missing my appointments. They payed for lunch on my way out which made it better, but it was definitely not a 4 star experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Galleria Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GA
College Station, TX
Oct 24, 2010

Service at the door is great, prices not

The service is just great, the hotel is at the mall itself and it is very convenient. The whole family enjoyed the trip and the hotel. However, my wife's phone was missing and she used the room phone to call me as I was parking the car. I was charged three times for a single cal $27 DLLS. Quite excessive I may say. I call the hotel manager and they remove the two calls that did not go through. I got a bill for $9 DLLS for a 1 min call. I was very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: In Hotel

If you plan to shop this hotel is for you!

Review of The Westin Galleria Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Najma K
Milan, Italy
Jul 17, 2012

The Location is great for a shopper

I wasnt quite happy with the condition and size of the room. It was small and it looked old. The pictures posted on the hotel site are way out of proportions in comparision to the room I got. It was okay. The hotels best asset is its location especially for shoppers. I would try the westin oaks next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: In Hotel

You can shop till you drop and always go and come to the hotel to drop off your shopping bags. The enterence to the mall is so great because its location is almost in the middle of everything.

Review of The Westin Galleria Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ANN.
Houston
Jun 20, 2012

.

I was expecting better from this hotel but not so bad for a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Galleria Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MTY, Mexico
Sep 7, 2009

The good and the bad

It was ok but they never said that was remodeling they can offer a better room quote.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Galleria Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Charles, La
Sep 26, 2010

Houston Westin Galleria Hotel

The hotel was expensive for one night, even for [...], so we thought it would be an amazing hotel with great rooms. They were in the middle of remodeling, which was not mentioned at all, and it was a mess. The check-in and elevator areas were small and cramped. When we checked in, they said they needed a credit card so I gave them mine. When I checked my bank on-line in the room, I realized they had charged me $203.69 for no reason. The room had already been paid for. I had to stay on the phone with my bank for 15 minutes, go downstairs and have the hotel fax a sheet of information to my bank on an official letterhead to undo the charge, and the money is still not back in my account. It was such an unpleasant experience to deal with while on vacation, and the hotel staff acted like it was no big deal and didn't apologize at all. They said they weren't sure why they charged me and that it must have been a mistake, but that's it. The only positive thing that I can say about this hotel was that the location was great, being that it is located in the Galleria and we were there to shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake Bistro restaurant is great! The Rainforest Cafe was not as good as others I have eaten at, and the service was terrible.

Review of The Westin Galleria Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
schmowenn
Houston tx
Mar 3, 2014

loved it

Great hotel! Conveniently located and beautiful. 2 thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Galleria Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonya Gucci Kimber
NORTH CAROLINA
Mar 4, 2014

VACATION

Comfortable really enjoyed the convience of shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Galleria Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
schmowenn
Houston tx
Mar 14, 2014

awesome

This is an amazing hotel. Worth every penny! Luxe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the galleria is amazing!

Review of The Westin Galleria Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HJ Travel
Waldorf, Maryland
Mar 25, 2014

March Getaway

My wife and I just returned from visiting friends who live near Huston and we stayed at the Westin Galleria. The location of this hotel was great for those shopaholics out there. You could enter into the Mall directly from the hotel. Many of the stores are a bit on the pricey side. The food court was great with several places to eat and there was an ice skating rink right in the center of the Mall. The staff was very friendly and our check in went very quickly. Our room was even available before our check in time. One thing I did not see in our room was a guide book showing where everything was located such as the pool, gym etc. but the staff was very helpful in helping us locate whatever we needed. It was a great stay and we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Lux Café is across the street from the Hotel. This restaurant has good prices and good food.

Back to menu Return to top