$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

The Sam Houston Hotel

3 stars
1117 Prairie Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
39 reviews
Awsome

this was a last minute deal & it was awsome. Very nice staff & very comfortable beds! The... See full review

  • Chelle1975
  • Oct 31, 2011
Good times

Restaurants and bars within walking distance and the metro is only 1 block away. See full review

  • Mooremetal
  • Jun 29, 2011
The Sam Houston Hotel welcomes you to experience our modern luxury and exceptional service. Our sophisticated and stylish hotel in downtown houston combines classic architecture with cutting edge contemporary design. The Sam Houston Hotel is an intimate oasis for leisure and business travelers alike and boasts a perfect hotel location in the center of houstons legal business and theatre districts

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sam Houston Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Sam Houston Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Deluxe Double - 360 sq ft includes two double beds free wireless internet
Junior Suite
Junior Suite - 500 sq ft includes one king bed living area and shower/tub combo
Deluxe King
Deluxe King- 360 sq ft includes one king bed free wireless internet
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite - 520 sq ft includes one king bed pull out couch 2 bathrooms 2 plasma TVs
Standard King
Standard King- 340 sq ft includes one king bed free wireless internet

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.8 mi

Dining

The Sam Bar
experience The Sam Bar in downtown houston serving lunch and dinner seven days a week featuring flat screen entertainment and outside seating. it can also accommodate groups for special events in a private section of the bar through The Sam Houston Hotel
*17
the genesis of our award-winning *17 restaurant in downtown houston was a vision of a destination restaurant that serves new american cuisine with clean bold flavors. opened January 17th 2004 and featuring the ultimate in houston fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for The Sam Houston Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 39
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Jeff
Business
Lake Charles, La
Jan 8, 2013

Alden, Houston Texas

When we arrived at the Alden we discovered that the lobby was under renovation and in disarray. The entire property seems as though it has been very heavily used. Had we known that we would have stayed at the two other properties we usually stay at. The only saving grace was the staff. They were very friendly and attentive. I am an exective in the casino industry. I felt bad for the staff because their property needs a lot of TLC and management that cares as much as they do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Team Beast
Business
Evanston, IL
Nov 11, 2012

Nice and Quiet

Close to some nice restaurants The chair at the desk was notably comfortable--I was happily surprised that they put in the money to get really nice chairs. The exercise room was not large: 3 treadmills, 1 elliptical, weights (maybe a stationary bike--I don't use them so I'm not sure) but it was surprisingly empty, so I didn't have trouble getting on a machine. They were in reasonably good shape. The internet was not great, which is the only thing I would change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
allday
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 16, 2011

The Alden in Houston

Nice hotel. Service is excellent. I would recommend this to anyone who like modern, clean and friendly places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mooremetal
Business
Shreveport louisiana
Jun 29, 2011

Good times

Restaurants and bars within walking distance and the metro is only 1 block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Mar 16, 2011

Classy hotel

The hotel staff was excellent and the hotel property was just as nice. The dinner I had at their restaurant was the best I've had anywhere in quite a long time. Their fitness room, while small, was more than adequate and was open 24 hours. The only reason I am not giving them 5 stars is because there are no coffee makers in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Nov 1, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price!

This was a short business trip, only there one day and night. But the hotel was great, front desk, room and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCR visitor
Business
Mexico city
Oct 21, 2010

Good location in downtown

The hotel is located at wakable distances to the George Brown Convention Center, the Theater District... there are good restaurants around. The service in the hotel is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver
Sep 27, 2010

Great downtown boutique hotel

Cleaning lady did not give new soap/shampoo even though we were completely out.My [...] reservation was not in the computer & I had to wait 10 min before I could check into my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The original Ninfas mexican restaurant @ 2704 Navigation blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PT1351
Business
Boston
Mar 4, 2010

Watch your Credit Card Bill

I liked the Hotel and teh location alot.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
on a mission
Business
san antonio
Dec 5, 2009

Alden Downtown Houston

Great value for the price~! Great complimentary car service (luxury SUV)!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top