$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Sam Houston Hotel

3 stars
1117 Prairie Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
39 reviews
Awsome

this was a last minute deal & it was awsome. Very nice staff & very comfortable beds! The... See full review

  • Chelle1975
  • Oct 31, 2011
Good times

Restaurants and bars within walking distance and the metro is only 1 block away. See full review

  • Mooremetal
  • Jun 29, 2011
The Sam Houston Hotel welcomes you to experience our modern luxury and exceptional service. Our sophisticated and stylish hotel in downtown houston combines classic architecture with cutting edge contemporary design. The Sam Houston Hotel is an intimate oasis for leisure and business travelers alike and boasts a perfect hotel location in the center of houstons legal business and theatre districts

Hotel Map

29.7601 -95.3603
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 14.00, MI, NW; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 21.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sam Houston Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Sam Houston Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Deluxe Double - 360 sq ft includes two double beds free wireless internet
Junior Suite
Junior Suite - 500 sq ft includes one king bed living area and shower/tub combo
Deluxe King
Deluxe King- 360 sq ft includes one king bed free wireless internet
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite - 520 sq ft includes one king bed pull out couch 2 bathrooms 2 plasma TVs
Standard King
Standard King- 340 sq ft includes one king bed free wireless internet

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.8 mi

Dining

The Sam Bar
experience The Sam Bar in downtown houston serving lunch and dinner seven days a week featuring flat screen entertainment and outside seating. it can also accommodate groups for special events in a private section of the bar through The Sam Houston Hotel
*17
the genesis of our award-winning *17 restaurant in downtown houston was a vision of a destination restaurant that serves new american cuisine with clean bold flavors. opened January 17th 2004 and featuring the ultimate in houston fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for The Sam Houston Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SassyRed321
Cypress, TX
Feb 24, 2014

Comfortable Stay

It was mostly fine but check in was weird. They had my name but an address, email and phone number for someone from Chicago. Valet price was crazy and they didn't always get your car to you the first time. Comfortable bed, great sheets, and a place to hook up and charge my iphone. I'd stay again but a little pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Jeff
Business
Lake Charles, La
Jan 8, 2013

Alden, Houston Texas

When we arrived at the Alden we discovered that the lobby was under renovation and in disarray. The entire property seems as though it has been very heavily used. Had we known that we would have stayed at the two other properties we usually stay at. The only saving grace was the staff. They were very friendly and attentive. I am an exective in the casino industry. I felt bad for the staff because their property needs a lot of TLC and management that cares as much as they do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Team Beast
Business
Evanston, IL
Nov 11, 2012

Nice and Quiet

Close to some nice restaurants The chair at the desk was notably comfortable--I was happily surprised that they put in the money to get really nice chairs. The exercise room was not large: 3 treadmills, 1 elliptical, weights (maybe a stationary bike--I don't use them so I'm not sure) but it was surprisingly empty, so I didn't have trouble getting on a machine. They were in reasonably good shape. The internet was not great, which is the only thing I would change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
allday
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 16, 2011

The Alden in Houston

Nice hotel. Service is excellent. I would recommend this to anyone who like modern, clean and friendly places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chelle1975
Lufkin, TX, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Awsome

this was a last minute deal & it was awsome. Very nice staff & very comfortable beds! The atmosphere was nice & relaxing for a couple get away! I strongly recommend this hotel. They even have a driver that will drop u off to the bars and will pick u up when u are ready to return to your room. Very nice! Food was good also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
texano
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 19, 2011

European charm

This hotel is trendy and rich with little details. The rooms are more like european style, just the right size. The only negative point was the windows were not double insulated and we could here the noise from the cars on the streets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swimmergirl
Dallas Tx.
Sep 5, 2011

Quiet Contemporary hotel

Overall it was very pleasant-wished they had a hot tub or sauna or pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hotel enthusiast
Lake Charles, LA
Aug 7, 2011

A hotel for rich people

This hotel is definitely arranged with the wealthy person in mind. If you are willing to pay for every amenity then this is the place for you. There was no refrigerator (other than the mini bar stocked with insanely high priced food/drinks), no microwave and no coffee maker. We wanted to order room service but the menu was limited to very few very expensive items and when we finally decided to just get a dessert instead -we paid $30 for a tiny lemon square and a miniature sized chocolate pastry. There is no complimentary breakfast of any kind - in fact there is a small coffee cart in the front of the hotel but you have to pay $3 per cup! The decor was very modern and posh and the room itself was very stylish with a really beautiful bathroom. However, along with the above issues with what the room provided, the rooms were very dimly lit and there was only basic cable - no pay per view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2011

Alden-Houston

The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. It is a nice hotel to bring a pet. The room was very clean and tidy. I recommend this hotel, especially if you are planning on doing activities downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mooremetal
Business
Shreveport louisiana
Jun 29, 2011

Good times

Restaurants and bars within walking distance and the metro is only 1 block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Galveston, TX
Jun 22, 2011

Relax

Great stay. very relaxing atmosphere. Very inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Mar 16, 2011

Classy hotel

The hotel staff was excellent and the hotel property was just as nice. The dinner I had at their restaurant was the best I've had anywhere in quite a long time. Their fitness room, while small, was more than adequate and was open 24 hours. The only reason I am not giving them 5 stars is because there are no coffee makers in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BBQ Cookoff
Houston
Feb 28, 2011

Downtown destination

Stayed in downtown Houston for the livestock rodeo BBQ cookoff. The room was a little on the stuffy side. Very European set up. No food service after 10:00pm. There was a party downstairs Saturday night and the music was so loud that it was hard to sleep on the 6th floor. The TV was old and the picture was bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Feb 23, 2011

Excellent!

Hotel was beautiful, and the staff was very friendly. Top of my list, would def come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Awesome restaurants and clubs in the area

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston TX
Jan 5, 2011

Nice Stay at Alden

The room was nicely decorated and very clean. All of staff we came in contact with were helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to see & do.

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Nov 1, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price!

This was a short business trip, only there one day and night. But the hotel was great, front desk, room and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Oct 25, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We chose the Alden for location - it was 4 blocks away from the wedding reception. [...] The room was very clean, nice and, for the most part up-to-date. The bed was sooo comfortable. Love the pillows too!! Wonderful shower!Our tv was old, and needed adjusting - picture was very dark - they offered to move us to another room because they no longer had the controls for that tv - but we did not want to be bothered (I had just stepped out of the shower) and figured we probably would not be watching too much tv anyway.No coke machines, no ice machines and no coffee pot in the room. Call us "squeaks" if you must, but rather than pay outrageous prices for room service or getting dressed just to go down for such it just made more sense to get dressed, check out and look for a McDonald's on the way home.Oh, and the money I saved - went to overnight valet. They charged $25.00 an evening + tax. This is Texas - not Manhattan - we have lots of land to park. So add the comings and goings and the expected tips - valet was more like $40.00 + tax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are just looking at location, need a good shower and a comfy bed - this is the place for you. (Pack your own coffee pot.)

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCR visitor
Business
Mexico city
Oct 21, 2010

Good location in downtown

The hotel is located at wakable distances to the George Brown Convention Center, the Theater District... there are good restaurants around. The service in the hotel is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
supercubsfans
corpus christi, tx
Oct 4, 2010

aniversary overdue

We went on this trip for our aniversary and wanted to try a higher price hotel, we usually stay at less of luxary hotel. The location was only three blocks from the ball park which was nice, but being downtown meant nothing open on the weekend. People at desk unable to give us many options to eat out. They did not seem to know the area. The room service was overcooked for the prices they charged. After the game, we enjoyed going back to our room where the music from the wedding receptions played until midnight both nights! Thank goodness we were there to enjoy ourselves and did not have to get up early. Speaking of advertising the so called dvd library is a basket of movies and cds with the only one I knew was Nim's Island. Eventhough the power went out on our Saturday there we enjoyed the day and mostly enjoyed the stay. The trip was worth it if not the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not many places open on the weekend. The choices were either high dollar or dives.

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver
Sep 27, 2010

Great downtown boutique hotel

Cleaning lady did not give new soap/shampoo even though we were completely out.My [...] reservation was not in the computer & I had to wait 10 min before I could check into my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The original Ninfas mexican restaurant @ 2704 Navigation blvd.

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrel & Keyanna(Love is in the air)
Baton Rouge,La.
Mar 28, 2010

Great place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!

We visited friends....Everything was just great i will stay there anytime....Our trip was relaxing and enjoyable!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PT1351
Business
Boston
Mar 4, 2010

Watch your Credit Card Bill

I liked the Hotel and teh location alot.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long Dong Silver
Houston Suberb
Feb 15, 2010

Alden Houston Valentines Weekend

Hotel was greast. Good location to a couple resteraunts and night life. Me and my wife enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cabo Mexican resteraunt two blocks north had really good margaritas and food.

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
79KZ1300A1
Houston
Feb 14, 2010

So good....

The Good... Great older hotel that has been remodeled into a Boutique Hotel. The staff is helpful and friendly. They offered a free shuttle to downtown locations. My understanding is the restaurant is very good. The rooms are nicely decorated. The room also comes with a DVD/CD player. There is also WIFI available but we never used it. The Bad.... The Rooms are a bit small which is not that unusual for a downtown hotel. The bathroom was not very practical because my girlfriend was having a tough time getting ready because there was no place to put her makeup on the sink. The TV was o.k. but, I'm starting to become spoiled by High Def flat screens that hotels usually have. This room has a standard old school TV. Not really a big deal unless your planning on staying in your room and watching TV. The UGLY.... The room was on the 8th floor and smelled like old cigarette smoke. Since the only smoking floor was on the 3rd floor I figured the previous guest had some smokes before they left. At about 2:30 a.m. the smell was starting to get to me and about 8:45 a.m. I'm awoken to the smell of fresh cigarettes. It appeared that the smell was coming from the vents in the bathroom. Anyway, at that time we decided that we had enough and checked out instead of staying for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
tx
Feb 13, 2010

Pros & Cons

PROS nice room clean two windows comfortable bed pretty bathroom is nice, bright lights, magnifying mirror excellent work desk with wireless internet and lights CONS no bath stand up shower only no pool no hottub entire hotel smells very strong like weed doesnt have that cozy leave your door open feel no toothpaste or deoterant provided madatory valet $25 per vehicle restaurant was "full" yet appeared half empty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
octo
west lafayette, in
Jan 2, 2010

the hotel is old...in the border line

the hotel is old. the room is small and dark. not recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snoozer
texas
Dec 14, 2009

nice but noisy

Our problem was we were on the 8th floor and a band was playing at the hotel veranda on the 2nd floor. They were so loud we could barely hear our tv. They played until 12:30pm. We stayed there for comfort and quiet. But we would never stay there again. Also we had two cars. I cost $50 to park them there for 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
on a mission
Business
san antonio
Dec 5, 2009

Alden Downtown Houston

Great value for the price~! Great complimentary car service (luxury SUV)!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roving painter
Austin, TX
Nov 1, 2009

Quiet and convenient.

Friendly, helpful staff. A good night's sleep and a great shower. Great food at the restaurant--fresh from the farmer's market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drafter
Business
Yuba City, CA
Aug 25, 2009

Good downtown hotel

The hotel had nice quiet rooms. When you work all day, it is nice to rest well for the next workday. It would have been better if the rooms had a fridge that I could have put some of my own water bottles or sodas in to keep cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of different types of food places.

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny W.
Binghamton, NY
Aug 2, 2009

Esthetically sharp, a few service issues

On our honeymoon; attractive, hip decor, gorgeous bathroom. Very comfortable, great location. Affordable. Staff friendly but a few small issues--only one robe, no corkscrew, mirror falling off the wall, etc. Nice bar. Overall quite nice, would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roma, TX
Jun 25, 2009

Beautiful Downtown Houston

Oh my god! I have never stayed in just a great place. The room was beautiful and modern look. The room is kind of small but you have every thing you need though. The bath room very elegant and stylish. I liked the glass shower and the shinks. We also loved the bed. HBO AND SHOWTIME channels in the room was very nice. I like that it was one block from the night life in Houstons Clubs. LIke 4 blocks from the Minute Maid Baseball stadium.. like 5 blocks from the Toyota center where the Rockets play....and since they are close by we had complimentary rides to and from our event in the Toyota center.. that was superb. Valet paking was awesome but $25 a day. I definately liked this place. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from the all the clubs in Houston

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington dc
Mar 3, 2009

a good stay

it is a comfortable and convenient place, service is good, we enjoyed it very much and had no complains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pass Christian
Sep 27, 2008

Great Staff / Perfect Location

Only blocks away from Minute Maid Park, restaurants nearby. Great Staff. Very clean and well kept property. Will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Jun 13, 2008

Only thing going for it is Minute Maid Park

I was disappointed with the lack of eateries within a close proximity to the hotel. The toilet handle was broken, but the room was comfortable overall. In 5 years, I hope there are more choices in the downtown Houston area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Minute Maid Park is four blocks from the hotel. If you are a business traveller and need to stay downtown, this is the place to look, but really it lacks in any sort of places to eat later in the evening, as the downtown is a 9-5 sort of area.

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 27, 2008

Cool, trendy hotel

The Alden Houston was a great hotel to stay in. Very trendy with neat dining rooms and bars. Good location in downtown Houston. Great Sushi place down the street (I love sushi). I stayed in a single King room. It wasn't the biggest hotel room, but had a cool view and a really nice bathroom (and yes they have bathrobes). I would definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Azuma

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 4, 2008

First night at the Alden

The hotel is very beautiful. I was not disappointed with anything concerning this hotel. The valet was very helpful with directions and any other questions we had. I fell in love with the king bed, not to mention the BATHROOM! I want my bedroom to look like the Aldens'. The bathroom is amazing! I have one thing left to say... Stay at the Alden, I will!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 11, 2008

Chic Hotel

Hotel Alden - If you want to be in downtown Houston the hotel has a great location. The rooms were nice. The beds are great. And the A/C works!!!! The bathrooms are lovely. And the food at their restaurant 17 was awesome!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the clubs and bars are on main street which are about a block away.

Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hoa
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Oct 1, 2007

Great stay with extra friendly staff

We enjoyed our stay at the Alden hotel in Houston, TX. The hotel is beautifully decorated with a contemporary feel. The staff was so nice!! We had room service our first night and either we were really hungry or the food was fantastic. We have stayed a lot of different hotel chains and the Alden was really nice and we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel ZaZa - Monarch Club

Back to menu Return to top

Change search