$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Sam Houston Hotel

3 stars
1117 Prairie Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
39 reviews
Awsome

this was a last minute deal & it was awsome. Very nice staff & very comfortable beds! The... See full review

  • Chelle1975
  • Oct 31, 2011
Good times

Restaurants and bars within walking distance and the metro is only 1 block away. See full review

  • Mooremetal
  • Jun 29, 2011
The Sam Houston Hotel welcomes you to experience our modern luxury and exceptional service. Our sophisticated and stylish hotel in downtown houston combines classic architecture with cutting edge contemporary design. The Sam Houston Hotel is an intimate oasis for leisure and business travelers alike and boasts a perfect hotel location in the center of houstons legal business and theatre districts

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sam Houston Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Sam Houston Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Deluxe Double - 360 sq ft includes two double beds free wireless internet
Junior Suite
Junior Suite - 500 sq ft includes one king bed living area and shower/tub combo
Deluxe King
Deluxe King- 360 sq ft includes one king bed free wireless internet
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite - 520 sq ft includes one king bed pull out couch 2 bathrooms 2 plasma TVs
Standard King
Standard King- 340 sq ft includes one king bed free wireless internet

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.8 mi

Dining

The Sam Bar
experience The Sam Bar in downtown houston serving lunch and dinner seven days a week featuring flat screen entertainment and outside seating. it can also accommodate groups for special events in a private section of the bar through The Sam Houston Hotel
*17
the genesis of our award-winning *17 restaurant in downtown houston was a vision of a destination restaurant that serves new american cuisine with clean bold flavors. opened January 17th 2004 and featuring the ultimate in houston fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for The Sam Houston Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny W.
Business
Binghamton, NY
Aug 2, 2009

Esthetically sharp, a few service issues

On our honeymoon; attractive, hip decor, gorgeous bathroom. Very comfortable, great location. Affordable. Staff friendly but a few small issues--only one robe, no corkscrew, mirror falling off the wall, etc. Nice bar. Overall quite nice, would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roma, TX
Jun 25, 2009

Beautiful Downtown Houston

Oh my god! I have never stayed in just a great place. The room was beautiful and modern look. The room is kind of small but you have every thing you need though. The bath room very elegant and stylish. I liked the glass shower and the shinks. We also loved the bed. HBO AND SHOWTIME channels in the room was very nice. I like that it was one block from the night life in Houstons Clubs. LIke 4 blocks from the Minute Maid Baseball stadium.. like 5 blocks from the Toyota center where the Rockets play....and since they are close by we had complimentary rides to and from our event in the Toyota center.. that was superb. Valet paking was awesome but $25 a day. I definately liked this place. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from the all the clubs in Houston

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington dc
Mar 3, 2009

a good stay

it is a comfortable and convenient place, service is good, we enjoyed it very much and had no complains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pass Christian
Sep 27, 2008

Great Staff / Perfect Location

Only blocks away from Minute Maid Park, restaurants nearby. Great Staff. Very clean and well kept property. Will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Jun 13, 2008

Only thing going for it is Minute Maid Park

I was disappointed with the lack of eateries within a close proximity to the hotel. The toilet handle was broken, but the room was comfortable overall. In 5 years, I hope there are more choices in the downtown Houston area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Minute Maid Park is four blocks from the hotel. If you are a business traveller and need to stay downtown, this is the place to look, but really it lacks in any sort of places to eat later in the evening, as the downtown is a 9-5 sort of area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 27, 2008

Cool, trendy hotel

The Alden Houston was a great hotel to stay in. Very trendy with neat dining rooms and bars. Good location in downtown Houston. Great Sushi place down the street (I love sushi). I stayed in a single King room. It wasn't the biggest hotel room, but had a cool view and a really nice bathroom (and yes they have bathrobes). I would definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Azuma

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 4, 2008

First night at the Alden

The hotel is very beautiful. I was not disappointed with anything concerning this hotel. The valet was very helpful with directions and any other questions we had. I fell in love with the king bed, not to mention the BATHROOM! I want my bedroom to look like the Aldens'. The bathroom is amazing! I have one thing left to say... Stay at the Alden, I will!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 11, 2008

Chic Hotel

Hotel Alden - If you want to be in downtown Houston the hotel has a great location. The rooms were nice. The beds are great. And the A/C works!!!! The bathrooms are lovely. And the food at their restaurant 17 was awesome!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the clubs and bars are on main street which are about a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hoa
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Oct 1, 2007

Great stay with extra friendly staff

We enjoyed our stay at the Alden hotel in Houston, TX. The hotel is beautifully decorated with a contemporary feel. The staff was so nice!! We had room service our first night and either we were really hungry or the food was fantastic. We have stayed a lot of different hotel chains and the Alden was really nice and we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel ZaZa - Monarch Club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top