$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

The Sam Houston Hotel

3 stars
1117 Prairie Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
39 reviews
Awsome

this was a last minute deal & it was awsome. Very nice staff & very comfortable beds! The... See full review

  • Chelle1975
  • Oct 31, 2011
Good times

Restaurants and bars within walking distance and the metro is only 1 block away. See full review

  • Mooremetal
  • Jun 29, 2011
The Sam Houston Hotel welcomes you to experience our modern luxury and exceptional service. Our sophisticated and stylish hotel in downtown houston combines classic architecture with cutting edge contemporary design. The Sam Houston Hotel is an intimate oasis for leisure and business travelers alike and boasts a perfect hotel location in the center of houstons legal business and theatre districts

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sam Houston Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Sam Houston Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Deluxe Double - 360 sq ft includes two double beds free wireless internet
Junior Suite
Junior Suite - 500 sq ft includes one king bed living area and shower/tub combo
Deluxe King
Deluxe King- 360 sq ft includes one king bed free wireless internet
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite - 520 sq ft includes one king bed pull out couch 2 bathrooms 2 plasma TVs
Standard King
Standard King- 340 sq ft includes one king bed free wireless internet

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.8 mi

Dining

The Sam Bar
experience The Sam Bar in downtown houston serving lunch and dinner seven days a week featuring flat screen entertainment and outside seating. it can also accommodate groups for special events in a private section of the bar through The Sam Houston Hotel
*17
the genesis of our award-winning *17 restaurant in downtown houston was a vision of a destination restaurant that serves new american cuisine with clean bold flavors. opened January 17th 2004 and featuring the ultimate in houston fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for The Sam Houston Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrel & Keyanna(Love is in the air)
Business
Baton Rouge,La.
Mar 28, 2010

Great place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!

We visited friends....Everything was just great i will stay there anytime....Our trip was relaxing and enjoyable!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PT1351
Business
Boston
Mar 4, 2010

Watch your Credit Card Bill

I liked the Hotel and teh location alot.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long Dong Silver
Business
Houston Suberb
Feb 15, 2010

Alden Houston Valentines Weekend

Hotel was greast. Good location to a couple resteraunts and night life. Me and my wife enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cabo Mexican resteraunt two blocks north had really good margaritas and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
79KZ1300A1
Business
Houston
Feb 14, 2010

So good....

The Good... Great older hotel that has been remodeled into a Boutique Hotel. The staff is helpful and friendly. They offered a free shuttle to downtown locations. My understanding is the restaurant is very good. The rooms are nicely decorated. The room also comes with a DVD/CD player. There is also WIFI available but we never used it. The Bad.... The Rooms are a bit small which is not that unusual for a downtown hotel. The bathroom was not very practical because my girlfriend was having a tough time getting ready because there was no place to put her makeup on the sink. The TV was o.k. but, I'm starting to become spoiled by High Def flat screens that hotels usually have. This room has a standard old school TV. Not really a big deal unless your planning on staying in your room and watching TV. The UGLY.... The room was on the 8th floor and smelled like old cigarette smoke. Since the only smoking floor was on the 3rd floor I figured the previous guest had some smokes before they left. At about 2:30 a.m. the smell was starting to get to me and about 8:45 a.m. I'm awoken to the smell of fresh cigarettes. It appeared that the smell was coming from the vents in the bathroom. Anyway, at that time we decided that we had enough and checked out instead of staying for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tx
Feb 13, 2010

Pros & Cons

PROS nice room clean two windows comfortable bed pretty bathroom is nice, bright lights, magnifying mirror excellent work desk with wireless internet and lights CONS no bath stand up shower only no pool no hottub entire hotel smells very strong like weed doesnt have that cozy leave your door open feel no toothpaste or deoterant provided madatory valet $25 per vehicle restaurant was "full" yet appeared half empty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
octo
Business
west lafayette, in
Jan 2, 2010

the hotel is old...in the border line

the hotel is old. the room is small and dark. not recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snoozer
Business
texas
Dec 14, 2009

nice but noisy

Our problem was we were on the 8th floor and a band was playing at the hotel veranda on the 2nd floor. They were so loud we could barely hear our tv. They played until 12:30pm. We stayed there for comfort and quiet. But we would never stay there again. Also we had two cars. I cost $50 to park them there for 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
on a mission
Business
san antonio
Dec 5, 2009

Alden Downtown Houston

Great value for the price~! Great complimentary car service (luxury SUV)!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roving painter
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 1, 2009

Quiet and convenient.

Friendly, helpful staff. A good night's sleep and a great shower. Great food at the restaurant--fresh from the farmer's market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drafter
Business
Yuba City, CA
Aug 25, 2009

Good downtown hotel

The hotel had nice quiet rooms. When you work all day, it is nice to rest well for the next workday. It would have been better if the rooms had a fridge that I could have put some of my own water bottles or sodas in to keep cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of different types of food places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top