$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Sam Houston Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1117 Prairie Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sam Houston Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver
Sep 27, 2010

Great downtown boutique hotel

Cleaning lady did not give new soap/shampoo even though we were completely out.My [...] reservation was not in the computer & I had to wait 10 min before I could check into my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The original Ninfas mexican restaurant @ 2704 Navigation blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrel & Keyanna(Love is in the air)
Business
Baton Rouge,La.
Mar 28, 2010

Great place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!

We visited friends....Everything was just great i will stay there anytime....Our trip was relaxing and enjoyable!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PT1351
Business
Boston
Mar 4, 2010

Watch your Credit Card Bill

I liked the Hotel and teh location alot.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long Dong Silver
Business
Houston Suberb
Feb 15, 2010

Alden Houston Valentines Weekend

Hotel was greast. Good location to a couple resteraunts and night life. Me and my wife enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cabo Mexican resteraunt two blocks north had really good margaritas and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
79KZ1300A1
Business
Houston
Feb 14, 2010

So good....

The Good... Great older hotel that has been remodeled into a Boutique Hotel. The staff is helpful and friendly. They offered a free shuttle to downtown locations. My understanding is the restaurant is very good. The rooms are nicely decorated. The room also comes with a DVD/CD player. There is also WIFI available but we never used it. The Bad.... The Rooms are a bit small which is not that unusual for a downtown hotel. The bathroom was not very practical because my girlfriend was having a tough time getting ready because there was no place to put her makeup on the sink. The TV was o.k. but, I'm starting to become spoiled by High Def flat screens that hotels usually have. This room has a standard old school TV. Not really a big deal unless your planning on staying in your room and watching TV. The UGLY.... The room was on the 8th floor and smelled like old cigarette smoke. Since the only smoking floor was on the 3rd floor I figured the previous guest had some smokes before they left. At about 2:30 a.m. the smell was starting to get to me and about 8:45 a.m. I'm awoken to the smell of fresh cigarettes. It appeared that the smell was coming from the vents in the bathroom. Anyway, at that time we decided that we had enough and checked out instead of staying for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tx
Feb 13, 2010

Pros & Cons

PROS nice room clean two windows comfortable bed pretty bathroom is nice, bright lights, magnifying mirror excellent work desk with wireless internet and lights CONS no bath stand up shower only no pool no hottub entire hotel smells very strong like weed doesnt have that cozy leave your door open feel no toothpaste or deoterant provided madatory valet $25 per vehicle restaurant was "full" yet appeared half empty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
octo
Business
west lafayette, in
Jan 2, 2010

the hotel is old...in the border line

the hotel is old. the room is small and dark. not recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snoozer
Business
texas
Dec 14, 2009

nice but noisy

Our problem was we were on the 8th floor and a band was playing at the hotel veranda on the 2nd floor. They were so loud we could barely hear our tv. They played until 12:30pm. We stayed there for comfort and quiet. But we would never stay there again. Also we had two cars. I cost $50 to park them there for 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
on a mission
Business
san antonio
Dec 5, 2009

Alden Downtown Houston

Great value for the price~! Great complimentary car service (luxury SUV)!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roving painter
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 1, 2009

Quiet and convenient.

Friendly, helpful staff. A good night's sleep and a great shower. Great food at the restaurant--fresh from the farmer's market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top