$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The Sam Houston Hotel

3 stars
1117 Prairie Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
39 reviews
Awsome

this was a last minute deal & it was awsome. Very nice staff & very comfortable beds! The... See full review

  • Chelle1975
  • Oct 31, 2011
Good times

Restaurants and bars within walking distance and the metro is only 1 block away. See full review

  • Mooremetal
  • Jun 29, 2011
The Sam Houston Hotel welcomes you to experience our modern luxury and exceptional service. Our sophisticated and stylish hotel in downtown houston combines classic architecture with cutting edge contemporary design. The Sam Houston Hotel is an intimate oasis for leisure and business travelers alike and boasts a perfect hotel location in the center of houstons legal business and theatre districts

Hotel Map

29.7601 -95.3603
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 14.00, MI, NW; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 21.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sam Houston Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Sam Houston Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Deluxe Double - 360 sq ft includes two double beds free wireless internet
Junior Suite
Junior Suite - 500 sq ft includes one king bed living area and shower/tub combo
Deluxe King
Deluxe King- 360 sq ft includes one king bed free wireless internet
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite - 520 sq ft includes one king bed pull out couch 2 bathrooms 2 plasma TVs
Standard King
Standard King- 340 sq ft includes one king bed free wireless internet

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.8 mi

Dining

The Sam Bar
experience The Sam Bar in downtown houston serving lunch and dinner seven days a week featuring flat screen entertainment and outside seating. it can also accommodate groups for special events in a private section of the bar through The Sam Houston Hotel
*17
the genesis of our award-winning *17 restaurant in downtown houston was a vision of a destination restaurant that serves new american cuisine with clean bold flavors. opened January 17th 2004 and featuring the ultimate in houston fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for The Sam Houston Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chelle1975
Lufkin, TX, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Awsome

this was a last minute deal & it was awsome. Very nice staff & very comfortable beds! The atmosphere was nice & relaxing for a couple get away! I strongly recommend this hotel. They even have a driver that will drop u off to the bars and will pick u up when u are ready to return to your room. Very nice! Food was good also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Galveston, TX
Jun 22, 2011

Relax

Great stay. very relaxing atmosphere. Very inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Mar 16, 2011

Classy hotel

The hotel staff was excellent and the hotel property was just as nice. The dinner I had at their restaurant was the best I've had anywhere in quite a long time. Their fitness room, while small, was more than adequate and was open 24 hours. The only reason I am not giving them 5 stars is because there are no coffee makers in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BBQ Cookoff
Business
Houston
Feb 28, 2011

Downtown destination

Stayed in downtown Houston for the livestock rodeo BBQ cookoff. The room was a little on the stuffy side. Very European set up. No food service after 10:00pm. There was a party downstairs Saturday night and the music was so loud that it was hard to sleep on the 6th floor. The TV was old and the picture was bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 23, 2011

Excellent!

Hotel was beautiful, and the staff was very friendly. Top of my list, would def come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Awesome restaurants and clubs in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston TX
Jan 5, 2011

Nice Stay at Alden

The room was nicely decorated and very clean. All of staff we came in contact with were helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to see & do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Nov 1, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price!

This was a short business trip, only there one day and night. But the hotel was great, front desk, room and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 25, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We chose the Alden for location - it was 4 blocks away from the wedding reception. [...] The room was very clean, nice and, for the most part up-to-date. The bed was sooo comfortable. Love the pillows too!! Wonderful shower!Our tv was old, and needed adjusting - picture was very dark - they offered to move us to another room because they no longer had the controls for that tv - but we did not want to be bothered (I had just stepped out of the shower) and figured we probably would not be watching too much tv anyway.No coke machines, no ice machines and no coffee pot in the room. Call us "squeaks" if you must, but rather than pay outrageous prices for room service or getting dressed just to go down for such it just made more sense to get dressed, check out and look for a McDonald's on the way home.Oh, and the money I saved - went to overnight valet. They charged $25.00 an evening + tax. This is Texas - not Manhattan - we have lots of land to park. So add the comings and goings and the expected tips - valet was more like $40.00 + tax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are just looking at location, need a good shower and a comfy bed - this is the place for you. (Pack your own coffee pot.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCR visitor
Business
Mexico city
Oct 21, 2010

Good location in downtown

The hotel is located at wakable distances to the George Brown Convention Center, the Theater District... there are good restaurants around. The service in the hotel is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
supercubsfans
Business
corpus christi, tx
Oct 4, 2010

aniversary overdue

We went on this trip for our aniversary and wanted to try a higher price hotel, we usually stay at less of luxary hotel. The location was only three blocks from the ball park which was nice, but being downtown meant nothing open on the weekend. People at desk unable to give us many options to eat out. They did not seem to know the area. The room service was overcooked for the prices they charged. After the game, we enjoyed going back to our room where the music from the wedding receptions played until midnight both nights! Thank goodness we were there to enjoy ourselves and did not have to get up early. Speaking of advertising the so called dvd library is a basket of movies and cds with the only one I knew was Nim's Island. Eventhough the power went out on our Saturday there we enjoyed the day and mostly enjoyed the stay. The trip was worth it if not the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not many places open on the weekend. The choices were either high dollar or dives.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sam Houston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver
Sep 27, 2010

Great downtown boutique hotel

Cleaning lady did not give new soap/shampoo even though we were completely out.My [...] reservation was not in the computer & I had to wait 10 min before I could check into my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The original Ninfas mexican restaurant @ 2704 Navigation blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top