$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Lancaster Hotel

4 stars
View map of 701 Texas Street, 701 Texas Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lancaster Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maurice1111
Chicago, il
Jun 18, 2012

Awesome

Awesome. beautiful. Great location. Great hospitality. I will definitely he back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ambien
Couples
Katy, Tx
Oct 29, 2012

Concert smartness

We booked the hotel as we were going to a concert at Bayou place. Perfect location and easy access to great dining. All immenities in bathroom though robe could have been a bit larger. We are used to sleeping in a king bed but the queen was comfortable and had nice bedding. The bottom post does stick out and I did stub my toe and br0oe it. The breakfast was excellent and apprecited that they did not over charge for parking. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to any music venue when staying at the Lancaster.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marilyn2012
Family
New Orleans, LA
Nov 25, 2012

Beautiful hotel!

Our stay at the Lancaster hotel was perfect. The staff were welcoming and really nice. Our room was clean, comfortable, and very pretty. I would love to be able to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to theaters, the Bayou Music Center, and the Hard Rock Cafe.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobertaLee
Couples
San Marcos, TX
Mar 4, 2013

Lovely historic hotel in downtown theatre district

We had a great stay at the Lancaster and with a special rate, it was an affordable price on a weekend rate. Breakfast was very good - a small, but complete and tasty buffet free to all hotel guests. Service was great, both in the restaurant and with valet. Friendly staff too. The hotel is a bit tired and worn in places, but I was told that a complete renovation is taking place in March. Even still, we enjoyed our cozy room and would definitely go back. This is our second stay at the Lancaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like beers from around the world/country (their selection is amazing) and some good eats (the pork belly sandwich and rocket tots are very good), try the Flying Saucer a couple of blocks south of the hotel.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
davisb
Couples
houston
Oct 13, 2013

Great hotel, great price

Great hotel for a great price. Staff was extremely nice and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Sep 23, 2007

Excellent location for the Theater District

Classic luxury hotel with intimacy, well trained and concerned with an excellent location for the vibrant Theater District, in the heart of the Downtown revitalization effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters a short walk from your doorstep, shopping requires a vehicle.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
houston
Apr 22, 2009

fantastic

We live in Houston but we wanted a romantic get away. We have tickets to the theater so we stayed there after.It was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Midland
May 26, 2008

Great Experience

This hotel is very comfortable. The staff goes all out for guests. The value was great. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy entertainment, downtown area is great. The hotel is right across the street to may events as well as theaters.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jul 1, 2007

Theatre Goers Romantic Retreat

My husband and I love to attend theatre productions at least several times a year and this particular weekend i decided to try out The Lancaster as a special treat. We were thrilled with the hotel's location in proximity to the theatre!! The property is beautiful, quaint, and small enough to guarantee very personal attention. We were extremely impressed with every staff person we came in contact with and service was of excellent quality, and too quick for belief. For example, we called for ice and it was delivered to our door within 5 minutes, with a smile. We enjoyed a fantastic in-room breakfast but look forward to eating in the lovely hotel restaurant on our next visit, as well. We utilized the hotel's complimentary Town Car service for door-to-door transport to the theatre and the young man who drove us was, like all of the staff, efficient, poised, and cheerful. We will surely stay at The Lancaster again soon. it takes a lot to impress us- our standards are very high, and The Lancaster not only met, but exceeded these standards!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bayou Place, home of several great restaurants, including the fun Hard Rock Cafe, is across the street.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 7, 2007

Great Downtown Location

My stay at the Lancaster was most pleasant and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in downtown Houston. The restaurant was very nice with ecellent breakfast choices. The hotel limo was exceptional with gratis rides to airport and downtown locations. The limo service was a real money saver as well as a real convient way to get about. Rooms were very comfortable with a great bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Convention Center, Pro basketball, Pro Baseball

Back to menu Return to top