The Lancaster Hotel

4 stars
701 Texas Street, 701 Texas Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
68 reviews
Great hotel, great price

Great hotel for a great price. Staff was extremely nice and welcoming. See full review

  • davisb
  • Oct 13, 2013
Lovely historic hotel in downtown theatre district

We had a great stay at the Lancaster and with a special rate, it was an affordable price on a... See full review

  • RobertaLee
  • Mar 4, 2013
Charm and history combine in this elegant downtown Houston hotel

Recently designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America, downtown Houston's The Lancaster combines stately elegance with sumptuous accommodations. The stylish hotel pampers guests with plush bathrobes and bedding, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car service to nearby attractions and businesses. The charming lobby area evokes a classic European ambiance, welcoming guests into an atmosphere of history and luxury. The Lancaster is situated in Houston's theater district and is close to many cultural, culinary and entertainment destinations.

  • Located in downtown Houston
  • Designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America
  • Free car service to nearby attractions and businesses

Situated in Houston's theater district, The Lancaster boasts an ideal location for exploring the downtown area. Guests are close to major attractions, shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The hotel offers complimentary car service in the downtown area.

Guest rooms at The Lancaster are richly appointed, blending classic American design elements with modern amenities. Rooms are decorated in warm, welcoming colors with bright brass accents and soft lighting. Generously sized, rooms feature poster beds, comfortable seating area, work space, down duvets and feather pillows, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker and complimentary daily newspaper. Some suites include a full kitchen, spacious living room and full-sized dining room table. The 700-square-foot Presidential Suite offers sweeping views of Houston's downtown business and entertainment district.

The Lancaster has been recognized by Conde Nast Traveler as one of "the best places to stay in the world," landing the hotel on the magazine's Gold List. The hotel is Houston's only remaining historical landmark hotel.

The Lancaster's signature restaurant, The Bistro, is an elegantly designed dining room serving contemporary American cuisine. Signature dishes include crab cakes, grilled lamb meatballs and warm croissant bread pudding. 

  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.7 mi/20.9 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.5 mi/30.2 km)
  • Free car service in downtown area

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (5.9 mi/9.6 km)

  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi

Those looking for business or event space find elegantly furnished meeting rooms at The Lancaster. The hotel features 1,250 square feet of event space with the latest audio/visual equipment and Internet access.

Hotel Map

29.7615 -95.3648
Area served
Houston, Spring, Sugar Land, Pasadena, Channelview, Missouri City
Nearby airports
William P Hobby, (HOU), 11.50, MI, SE; George Bush Intercontinental, (IAH), 20.20, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, The Lancaster is located downtown in the central business and t

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lancaster Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Lancaster Hotel Rooms

1 King Bed Non Smoking
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds Non Smoking
Description not provided
1 Deluxe Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided
Presidential Suite
Description not provided
Executive Suite
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doorman
Conference facilities
Transportation
Courtesy car
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Jones Hall: 0 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.3 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.2 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.6 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for The Lancaster Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
David And Tanya
San Antonio, TX
Dec 2, 2012

Unmitigated disaster

Arrived at hotel which was located 5 minutes from the venue I was attending. With no prior notice, front desk informed us that water damage to the hotel precluded our stay. We were "relocated" with a voucher 18 miles out of the city to a hotel at which rooms were priced at 50% of what we had paid (with no refund for the difference). Administrative staff was not only unresponsive but impolite. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Anotnio,TX
Jun 7, 2011

luxury in a small room. VERY SMALL ROOM

the wife and i went to a concert out in Houston, so we needed a room. well [...]gave us a great price, but the room was so small that we didn't have the room we needed just to get ready for the night. only one person can be in the restroom to use the mirror and the hotel charges 30 dollars just to park: plus tip. [*] good way to show the guest that we rich. "yeah right" thats why i used [...], duh. oh and the cleaning ladies are loud as hell, so don't try sleeping late because there loud as hell. other than the nice comfortable bed that has a note on the night stand that they dont clean sheets and pillow cases very night to save water. ewww..... the stay was i guess ok..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas
Jan 2, 2010

Very Disappointed

When I made my reservation to stay at this hotel from 12/29/2009 to 1/2/2010 I was not aware that the televisions in the rooms are at best a 19 inch and at least "15 years old" and still has "VCR in the rooms". NO DVD players, Flat Screen LCD TV or anyway to hook up a iPod/MP3 Player. There are no liquor cabinets in the rooms too. The mattress they use are very standard, NO pillow tops. There was not cover on the box spring, and what made it worse was there was a big stain up by head of the bed near the corner and it could be seen very easily. These bed frames are raised, to set higher off the floor, so it would be easy for the hotel to use a mattress that does not use a box spring. Also, these was a small cheap Sony CD player in the room, when I opened it there was a left in it from someone else, and another set of CD's to the side of it that had some kind of mold growing on them. When I spoke with the staff and a few of the guests about the TV's, they say that it has been like this for a long time. The bathrooms use low flow toilets which is good, but the bathrooms have NO fans in them. The showers are very narrow so if you are a larger person, you may not like them. I have stayed in many nice hotels, and this one should Not be considered a 4 star at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Museums. No downtown malls, only Macy's. Do your research first, for clubs, dining.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
May 17, 2010

Did not like at all!

Thought it was a great location and a good price. When entering the lobby it felt like a haunted hotel. Every thing seemed so old and out dated. The elevators had wooden panels. The bathroom tub had mold in the crack, but the bathroom was all marble. The TV was about 16" tube and you could not view it from the bed because the stand would not turn. This was not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas
Jan 2, 2010

Very Disappointed

When I made my reservation to stay at this hotel from 12/29/2009 to 1/2/2010 I was not aware that the televisions in the rooms are at best a 19 inch and at least "15 years old" and still has "VCR in the rooms". NO DVD players, Flat Screen LCD TV or anyway to hook up a iPod/MP3 Player. There are no liquor cabinets in the rooms too. The mattress they use are very standard, NO pillow tops. There was not cover on the box spring, and what made it worse was there was a big stain up by head of the bed near the corner and it could be seen very easily. These bed frames are raised, to set higher off the floor, so it would be easy for the hotel to use a mattress that does not use a box spring. Also, these was a small cheap Sony CD player in the room, when I opened it there was a left in it from someone else, and another set of CD's to the side of it that had some kind of mold growing on them. When I spoke with the staff and a few of the guests about the TV's, they say that it has been like this for a long time. The bathrooms use low flow toilets which is good, but the bathrooms have NO fans in them. The showers are very narrow so if you are a larger person, you may not like them. I have stayed in many nice hotels, and this one should Not be considered a 4 star at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Museums. No downtown malls, only Macy's. Do your research first, for clubs, dining.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
May 17, 2010

Did not like at all!

Thought it was a great location and a good price. When entering the lobby it felt like a haunted hotel. Every thing seemed so old and out dated. The elevators had wooden panels. The bathroom tub had mold in the crack, but the bathroom was all marble. The TV was about 16" tube and you could not view it from the bed because the stand would not turn. This was not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Anotnio,TX
Jun 7, 2011

luxury in a small room. VERY SMALL ROOM

the wife and i went to a concert out in Houston, so we needed a room. well [...]gave us a great price, but the room was so small that we didn't have the room we needed just to get ready for the night. only one person can be in the restroom to use the mirror and the hotel charges 30 dollars just to park: plus tip. [*] good way to show the guest that we rich. "yeah right" thats why i used [...], duh. oh and the cleaning ladies are loud as hell, so don't try sleeping late because there loud as hell. other than the nice comfortable bed that has a note on the night stand that they dont clean sheets and pillow cases very night to save water. ewww..... the stay was i guess ok..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Paul,Mn
Jan 21, 2010

Conveinient nice staff but has problems

3 dollar muffin size of half dollar ridiculous lack of plugs older hotel tv placement can't see from couch or bed desk tiny staff unbelievably friendly and nice to be around icky stale smell in lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Flying saucer fantastic selection of beer affordable and super brats

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vagabond83
Tacoma, WA
Dec 6, 2012

Older comfort

The hotel location is in the heart of downtown. The room is comfortable, but if you do not like hotels that were built in the earlier part of the twentieth century you will probably not like this place. It has been updated yet holds some of the old time appeal. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Since you are in downtown parking maybe a problem if you don't use the valet, but this service was fairly inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Paul,Mn
Jan 21, 2010

Conveinient nice staff but has problems

3 dollar muffin size of half dollar ridiculous lack of plugs older hotel tv placement can't see from couch or bed desk tiny staff unbelievably friendly and nice to be around icky stale smell in lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Flying saucer fantastic selection of beer affordable and super brats

Back to menu Return to top