$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Lancaster Hotel

4 stars
View map of 701 Texas Street, 701 Texas Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
42 reviews
Great hotel, great price

Great hotel for a great price. Staff was extremely nice and welcoming. See full review

  • davisb
  • Oct 13, 2013
Lovely historic hotel in downtown theatre district

We had a great stay at the Lancaster and with a special rate, it was an affordable price on a... See full review

  • RobertaLee
  • Mar 4, 2013

Recently designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America, downtown Houston's The Lancaster combines stately elegance with sumptuous accommodations. The stylish hotel pampers guests with plush bathrobes and bedding, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car service to nearby attractions and businesses. The charming lobby area evokes a classic European ambiance, welcoming guests into an atmosphere of history and luxury. The Lancaster is situated in Houston's theater district and is close to many cultural, culinary and entertainment destinations.

Location

Situated in Houston's theater district, The Lancaster boasts an ideal location for exploring the downtown area. Guests are close to major attractions, shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The hotel offers complimentary car service in the downtown area.

Dining

The Lancaster's signature restaurant, The Bistro, is an elegantly designed dining room serving contemporary American cuisine. Signature dishes include crab cakes, grilled lamb meatballs and warm croissant bread pudding. 

Rooms

Guest rooms at The Lancaster are richly appointed, blending classic American design elements with modern amenities. Rooms are decorated in warm, welcoming colors with bright brass accents and soft lighting. Generously sized, rooms feature poster beds, comfortable seating area, work space, down duvets and feather pillows, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker and complimentary daily newspaper. Some suites include a full kitchen, spacious living room and full-sized dining room table. The 700-square-foot Presidential Suite offers sweeping views of Houston's downtown business and entertainment district.

Property features

The Lancaster has been recognized by Conde Nast Traveler as one of "the best places to stay in the world," landing the hotel on the magazine's Gold List. The hotel is Houston's only remaining historical landmark hotel.

Highlights

  • Located in downtown Houston
  • Designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America
  • Free car service to nearby attractions and businesses

Nearby attractions

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (5.9 mi/9.6 km)

Business

  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi

Transportation

  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.7 mi/20.9 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.5 mi/30.2 km)
  • Free car service in downtown area

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lancaster Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$72
3.8 / 5 233 reviews
★★★★
$99
4.1 / 5 44 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.2 / 5 19 reviews
★★★★
$96
4.3 / 5 55 reviews
★★★★
$109
4.1 / 5 91 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 26 reviews
★★★
$143
4.7 / 5 12 reviews

The Lancaster Hotel Rooms

1 King Bed Non Smoking
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds Non Smoking
Description not provided
1 Deluxe Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided
Presidential Suite
Description not provided
Executive Suite
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doorman
Conference facilities
Transportation
Courtesy car
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Jones Hall: 0 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.3 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.2 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.6 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Lancaster Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marilyn2012
Family
New Orleans, LA
Nov 25, 2012

Beautiful hotel!

Our stay at the Lancaster hotel was perfect. The staff were welcoming and really nice. Our room was clean, comfortable, and very pretty. I would love to be able to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to theaters, the Bayou Music Center, and the Hard Rock Cafe.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maurice1111
Chicago, il
Jun 18, 2012

Awesome

Awesome. beautiful. Great location. Great hospitality. I will definitely he back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ambien
Couples
Katy, Tx
Oct 29, 2012

Concert smartness

We booked the hotel as we were going to a concert at Bayou place. Perfect location and easy access to great dining. All immenities in bathroom though robe could have been a bit larger. We are used to sleeping in a king bed but the queen was comfortable and had nice bedding. The bottom post does stick out and I did stub my toe and br0oe it. The breakfast was excellent and apprecited that they did not over charge for parking. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to any music venue when staying at the Lancaster.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobertaLee
Couples
San Marcos, TX
Mar 4, 2013

Lovely historic hotel in downtown theatre district

We had a great stay at the Lancaster and with a special rate, it was an affordable price on a weekend rate. Breakfast was very good - a small, but complete and tasty buffet free to all hotel guests. Service was great, both in the restaurant and with valet. Friendly staff too. The hotel is a bit tired and worn in places, but I was told that a complete renovation is taking place in March. Even still, we enjoyed our cozy room and would definitely go back. This is our second stay at the Lancaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like beers from around the world/country (their selection is amazing) and some good eats (the pork belly sandwich and rocket tots are very good), try the Flying Saucer a couple of blocks south of the hotel.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
davisb
Couples
houston
Oct 13, 2013

Great hotel, great price

Great hotel for a great price. Staff was extremely nice and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Sep 23, 2007

Excellent location for the Theater District

Classic luxury hotel with intimacy, well trained and concerned with an excellent location for the vibrant Theater District, in the heart of the Downtown revitalization effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters a short walk from your doorstep, shopping requires a vehicle.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
houston
Apr 22, 2009

fantastic

We live in Houston but we wanted a romantic get away. We have tickets to the theater so we stayed there after.It was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Midland
May 26, 2008

Great Experience

This hotel is very comfortable. The staff goes all out for guests. The value was great. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy entertainment, downtown area is great. The hotel is right across the street to may events as well as theaters.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jul 1, 2007

Theatre Goers Romantic Retreat

My husband and I love to attend theatre productions at least several times a year and this particular weekend i decided to try out The Lancaster as a special treat. We were thrilled with the hotel's location in proximity to the theatre!! The property is beautiful, quaint, and small enough to guarantee very personal attention. We were extremely impressed with every staff person we came in contact with and service was of excellent quality, and too quick for belief. For example, we called for ice and it was delivered to our door within 5 minutes, with a smile. We enjoyed a fantastic in-room breakfast but look forward to eating in the lovely hotel restaurant on our next visit, as well. We utilized the hotel's complimentary Town Car service for door-to-door transport to the theatre and the young man who drove us was, like all of the staff, efficient, poised, and cheerful. We will surely stay at The Lancaster again soon. it takes a lot to impress us- our standards are very high, and The Lancaster not only met, but exceeded these standards!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bayou Place, home of several great restaurants, including the fun Hard Rock Cafe, is across the street.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 7, 2007

Great Downtown Location

My stay at the Lancaster was most pleasant and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in downtown Houston. The restaurant was very nice with ecellent breakfast choices. The hotel limo was exceptional with gratis rides to airport and downtown locations. The limo service was a real money saver as well as a real convient way to get about. Rooms were very comfortable with a great bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Convention Center, Pro basketball, Pro Baseball

Back to menu Return to top