$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Lancaster Hotel

4 stars
701 Texas Street, 701 Texas Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
47 reviews
Great hotel, great price

Great hotel for a great price. Staff was extremely nice and welcoming. See full review

  • davisb
  • Oct 13, 2013
Great Long weekend getaway

The hotel was located in a great location very accessible to the downtown area. Many options to... See full review

  • Cali and Tex
  • Feb 19, 2014
Charm and history combine in this elegant downtown Houston hotel

Recently designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America, downtown Houston's The Lancaster combines stately elegance with sumptuous accommodations. The stylish hotel pampers guests with plush bathrobes and bedding, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car service to nearby attractions and businesses. The charming lobby area evokes a classic European ambiance, welcoming guests into an atmosphere of history and luxury. The Lancaster is situated in Houston's theater district and is close to many cultural, culinary and entertainment destinations.

  • Located in downtown Houston
  • Designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America
  • Free car service to nearby attractions and businesses

Situated in Houston's theater district, The Lancaster boasts an ideal location for exploring the downtown area. Guests are close to major attractions, shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The hotel offers complimentary car service in the downtown area.

Guest rooms at The Lancaster are richly appointed, blending classic American design elements with modern amenities. Rooms are decorated in warm, welcoming colors with bright brass accents and soft lighting. Generously sized, rooms feature poster beds, comfortable seating area, work space, down duvets and feather pillows, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker and complimentary daily newspaper. Some suites include a full kitchen, spacious living room and full-sized dining room table. The 700-square-foot Presidential Suite offers sweeping views of Houston's downtown business and entertainment district.

The Lancaster has been recognized by Conde Nast Traveler as one of "the best places to stay in the world," landing the hotel on the magazine's Gold List. The hotel is Houston's only remaining historical landmark hotel.

The Lancaster's signature restaurant, The Bistro, is an elegantly designed dining room serving contemporary American cuisine. Signature dishes include crab cakes, grilled lamb meatballs and warm croissant bread pudding. 

  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.7 mi/20.9 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.5 mi/30.2 km)
  • Free car service in downtown area

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (5.9 mi/9.6 km)

  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi

Those looking for business or event space find elegantly furnished meeting rooms at The Lancaster. The hotel features 1,250 square feet of event space with the latest audio/visual equipment and Internet access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lancaster Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Lancaster Hotel Rooms

1 King Bed Non Smoking
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds Non Smoking
Description not provided
1 Deluxe Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided
Presidential Suite
Description not provided
Executive Suite
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doorman
Conference facilities
Transportation
Courtesy car
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Jones Hall: 0 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.3 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.2 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.6 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for The Lancaster Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Feb 13, 2008

Inconvenient room layout

The Lancaster Hotel had a great location and exterior charm but my room was cramped with an inconvenient layout. The bed's footboard had large posts that I kept bumping into as I squeezed between bed and desk. The closet was located inside the bathroom, and I had to close the bathroom door to fully open the closet door. The bathroom did have a long sink counter, shelving beneath the mirror for toiletries and a separate bath area. The room also had a small luggage rack that just fit between the windows. On a positive note, there were electrical outlets near the bed and in the base of the desk lamp, the wireless internet signal was strong and there was a good mix of cable channels to choose from. The plush bathrobes were another plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Near the theater district

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 23, 2007

Excellent location for the Theater District

Classic luxury hotel with intimacy, well trained and concerned with an excellent location for the vibrant Theater District, in the heart of the Downtown revitalization effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters a short walk from your doorstep, shopping requires a vehicle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 22, 2007

Great downtown location

Wonderful smaller hotel with great location to Houston entertainment center and Jones Hall. Great ammenities such as fresh flowers, nice size rooms, attentive staff,etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe in the lobby was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 8, 2007

Houston Hospitality

Though my trip was business-focused, my stay at the Lancaster was the next best thing to home! Every detail was attended to from the fresh linens, the friendly wait staff and the delicious breakfast. The hotel is charming, well appointed and close to the businesses and places of interest I needed to visit. I would certainly come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 7, 2007

Great Downtown Location

My stay at the Lancaster was most pleasant and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in downtown Houston. The restaurant was very nice with ecellent breakfast choices. The hotel limo was exceptional with gratis rides to airport and downtown locations. The limo service was a real money saver as well as a real convient way to get about. Rooms were very comfortable with a great bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Convention Center, Pro basketball, Pro Baseball

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 1, 2007

Theatre Goers Romantic Retreat

My husband and I love to attend theatre productions at least several times a year and this particular weekend i decided to try out The Lancaster as a special treat. We were thrilled with the hotel's location in proximity to the theatre!! The property is beautiful, quaint, and small enough to guarantee very personal attention. We were extremely impressed with every staff person we came in contact with and service was of excellent quality, and too quick for belief. For example, we called for ice and it was delivered to our door within 5 minutes, with a smile. We enjoyed a fantastic in-room breakfast but look forward to eating in the lovely hotel restaurant on our next visit, as well. We utilized the hotel's complimentary Town Car service for door-to-door transport to the theatre and the young man who drove us was, like all of the staff, efficient, poised, and cheerful. We will surely stay at The Lancaster again soon. it takes a lot to impress us- our standards are very high, and The Lancaster not only met, but exceeded these standards!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bayou Place, home of several great restaurants, including the fun Hard Rock Cafe, is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 21, 2007

Romantic Honeymoon Stay

The Lancaster was excellent. Everything was beyond our expectations as far as the room setting and the whole hotel. The best part about the hotel besides its superb location for the plays was the friendly and helpful staff. The staff was ready to do whatever was needed to make our honeymoon the best and they did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The theatre district is right there. We saw two plays across the street. The Bayou Place is two blocks away. The Aquarium Center is about 3 1/2 blocks. We walked back from Minute Maid Park. And there were plenty of places to eat within walking distance. If you couldn't walk there was a hotel car to take you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top