$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

The Lancaster Hotel

4 stars
View map of 701 Texas Street, 701 Texas Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lancaster Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ambien
Katy, Tx
Oct 29, 2012

Concert smartness

We booked the hotel as we were going to a concert at Bayou place. Perfect location and easy access to great dining. All immenities in bathroom though robe could have been a bit larger. We are used to sleeping in a king bed but the queen was comfortable and had nice bedding. The bottom post does stick out and I did stub my toe and br0oe it. The breakfast was excellent and apprecited that they did not over charge for parking. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to any music venue when staying at the Lancaster.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 17, 2011

The Lancaster

This hotel is very luxurious. It is a historical building which added a lot of charm. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EGG
Business
Houston,TX
Jun 4, 2010

Anniversary visit

Arrived earlier than 3PM did not have to wait to go to the room. Fresh flowers and chocolate were in the room. Towels were very soft. Bed was comfortable. Dining room staff were attentive and helpful in suggesting food. Dining room also had fresh flowers on every table. Food was good and price was reasonable. Had a great time. 10 block walk to Minute Maid Park was not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kraftdelux
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 12, 2012

Business trip

I wouldn't call this s 4 star hotel. It lacks in amenities I think a 4 star should have, like a pool or spa. That being said, the staff was great and their car service until 11pm is so great, it makes a rental car if your just working downtown obsolete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daringdave
Business
Dickinson, TX
Oct 23, 2012

Lancaster

Historic hotel and good value for downtown but needs more icemachines and vending. Our room was in the rear corner and shaped oddly. The TV was on a side wall from the bed and the wall bracket was defective. Interesting. Still ok for a weekend access to the Theater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vagabond83
Business
Tacoma, WA
Dec 6, 2012

Older comfort

The hotel location is in the heart of downtown. The room is comfortable, but if you do not like hotels that were built in the earlier part of the twentieth century you will probably not like this place. It has been updated yet holds some of the old time appeal. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Since you are in downtown parking maybe a problem if you don't use the valet, but this service was fairly inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 16, 2010

The Lancaster

It was just ok. There was issues with water pressure and climate control as well as water damage in the bathrooms. It definitely showed its age and was a little run down but very charming. It was clean and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sambuca's is great! The live band, food and wine is excellent!

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Senior Philosopher
Business
Rayburn Country, Texas
Mar 8, 2010

Our night at the Lancaster

We came to Houston to attend a play at the Alley Theatre followed by a concert at Jones Hall. The location is ideal, across the street from both the Alley and Jones. Also, the Wortham Theater is just a block away. The food at the restaurant was pretty good but the prices were fairly high - not outrageous, but high. The closet was just large enough and the room was spotless. The room was fairly small, in fact there were not two comfortable chairs available for watching TV. We had one easy chair and picked up the desk chair and jammed it between the bed and the wall for the use of the second TV watcher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants are located in Bayou Place, just a block away from the Lancaster

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Paul,Mn
Jan 21, 2010

Conveinient nice staff but has problems

3 dollar muffin size of half dollar ridiculous lack of plugs older hotel tv placement can't see from couch or bed desk tiny staff unbelievably friendly and nice to be around icky stale smell in lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Flying saucer fantastic selection of beer affordable and super brats

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 17, 2010

Did not like at all!

Thought it was a great location and a good price. When entering the lobby it felt like a haunted hotel. Every thing seemed so old and out dated. The elevators had wooden panels. The bathroom tub had mold in the crack, but the bathroom was all marble. The TV was about 16" tube and you could not view it from the bed because the stand would not turn. This was not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Anotnio,TX
Jun 7, 2011

luxury in a small room. VERY SMALL ROOM

the wife and i went to a concert out in Houston, so we needed a room. well [...]gave us a great price, but the room was so small that we didn't have the room we needed just to get ready for the night. only one person can be in the restroom to use the mirror and the hotel charges 30 dollars just to park: plus tip. [*] good way to show the guest that we rich. "yeah right" thats why i used [...], duh. oh and the cleaning ladies are loud as hell, so don't try sleeping late because there loud as hell. other than the nice comfortable bed that has a note on the night stand that they dont clean sheets and pillow cases very night to save water. ewww..... the stay was i guess ok..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top