$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The Lancaster Hotel

4 stars
View map of 701 Texas Street, 701 Texas Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lancaster Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 16, 2010

The Lancaster

It was just ok. There was issues with water pressure and climate control as well as water damage in the bathrooms. It definitely showed its age and was a little run down but very charming. It was clean and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sambuca's is great! The live band, food and wine is excellent!

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EGG
Business
Houston,TX
Jun 4, 2010

Anniversary visit

Arrived earlier than 3PM did not have to wait to go to the room. Fresh flowers and chocolate were in the room. Towels were very soft. Bed was comfortable. Dining room staff were attentive and helpful in suggesting food. Dining room also had fresh flowers on every table. Food was good and price was reasonable. Had a great time. 10 block walk to Minute Maid Park was not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 17, 2010

Did not like at all!

Thought it was a great location and a good price. When entering the lobby it felt like a haunted hotel. Every thing seemed so old and out dated. The elevators had wooden panels. The bathroom tub had mold in the crack, but the bathroom was all marble. The TV was about 16" tube and you could not view it from the bed because the stand would not turn. This was not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Senior Philosopher
Business
Rayburn Country, Texas
Mar 8, 2010

Our night at the Lancaster

We came to Houston to attend a play at the Alley Theatre followed by a concert at Jones Hall. The location is ideal, across the street from both the Alley and Jones. Also, the Wortham Theater is just a block away. The food at the restaurant was pretty good but the prices were fairly high - not outrageous, but high. The closet was just large enough and the room was spotless. The room was fairly small, in fact there were not two comfortable chairs available for watching TV. We had one easy chair and picked up the desk chair and jammed it between the bed and the wall for the use of the second TV watcher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants are located in Bayou Place, just a block away from the Lancaster

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Paul,Mn
Jan 21, 2010

Conveinient nice staff but has problems

3 dollar muffin size of half dollar ridiculous lack of plugs older hotel tv placement can't see from couch or bed desk tiny staff unbelievably friendly and nice to be around icky stale smell in lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Flying saucer fantastic selection of beer affordable and super brats

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas
Jan 2, 2010

Very Disappointed

When I made my reservation to stay at this hotel from 12/29/2009 to 1/2/2010 I was not aware that the televisions in the rooms are at best a 19 inch and at least "15 years old" and still has "VCR in the rooms". NO DVD players, Flat Screen LCD TV or anyway to hook up a iPod/MP3 Player. There are no liquor cabinets in the rooms too. The mattress they use are very standard, NO pillow tops. There was not cover on the box spring, and what made it worse was there was a big stain up by head of the bed near the corner and it could be seen very easily. These bed frames are raised, to set higher off the floor, so it would be easy for the hotel to use a mattress that does not use a box spring. Also, these was a small cheap Sony CD player in the room, when I opened it there was a left in it from someone else, and another set of CD's to the side of it that had some kind of mold growing on them. When I spoke with the staff and a few of the guests about the TV's, they say that it has been like this for a long time. The bathrooms use low flow toilets which is good, but the bathrooms have NO fans in them. The showers are very narrow so if you are a larger person, you may not like them. I have stayed in many nice hotels, and this one should Not be considered a 4 star at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Museums. No downtown malls, only Macy's. Do your research first, for clubs, dining.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Nov 18, 2009

Lovely!

Hotel was lovely, location perfect for walking, got a sense of downtown and its history. We were very glad we had lunch as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Just walk! The riverfront walkway was a nice break from the busy downtown but you still had skyscraper views.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 13, 2009

Nice location,decent room,great price

Nice room, but you can tell that they've cut back on some services due to the economy. No morning paper delivered to your room, and the concierge only available one day a week. A decent restaurant in the lobby, and the free limo service was nice. Free internet, but the PC in the lobby had trouble printing my boarding pass (it had a virus).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free limo service downtown (a $2 tip instead of a $8 cab ride).

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
motti
Business
middle east
Jun 13, 2009

very nice and comfort

very good hotel, the stuff is very useful, good location for the downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

express bus to the airport

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston
Apr 22, 2009

fantastic

We live in Houston but we wanted a romantic get away. We have tickets to the theater so we stayed there after.It was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top