$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

The Lancaster Hotel

4 stars
View map of 701 Texas Street, 701 Texas Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lancaster Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky tourist
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Historic hotel in downtown Houston

Conveniently located in downtown Houston, the staff is very friendly and helpful, great restaurant on the ground floor. The room was not very large but comfortable enough. Hot water in the shower was barely warm sometimes but it was not a big problem. I would give it 4 out of 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Houston Museum of Fine Arts and Museum of Natural Science are great places to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky tourist
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Nice hotel in downtown Houston

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Houston, the rooms are nice and clean although a little small. The staff was very friendly and helpful, very good restaurant on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slowboat
Business
Rockville Centre, NY
Feb 29, 2012

Throwback

The Lancaster has that feel of days gone by. You get the feel that there truly were gas lamps everywhere. Haven't been to a decent hotel in years where they gave you a real key rather than a plastic card. Really nice staff. Not much of an exercise room - but if you just need a treadmill or the stepping machine, they work fine. The bed was as comfortable as any I have slept in in years on the road...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bjhoghead
Business
Sherman, TX
Aug 25, 2012

Houston

Very clean hotel. Its an older hotel. Its ideal if you are visting venues on Texas Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Comfort Lady
Business
Sacramento, Ca.
Oct 9, 2012

Business trip

Most comfortable bed and pillows I've had away from home. Quiet. My only complaint was the tablecloth in the dining room was dirty and I had to request a different table even though the wait staff was aware. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesse Jr
Business
San Antonio, TX
Oct 27, 2012

Getaway in Houston

The Lancaster Hotel was fantastic! Superb location and staff! Our stay was very welcoming. I am definitely staying at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stell Pooh
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 5, 2012

Great boutique hotel

This is a great botique hotel. It has the basic amenities but is not too lavish. They have a free breakfast buffet and free shuttle within 3 mi of the hotel, which is nice. Staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
West Engineering student
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 13, 2012

Weekend trip

Great staff and service. The bistro is a little price but the breakfast has great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dewanda
Business
calhoun, la
Dec 1, 2012

wonderful stay

the hotel was great, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. the location was perfect for the things we had planned to do while in houston. would stay there again and recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

use the public transportation, there are several different options that will take you to most of the places in downtown houston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reasonable business trave
Business
Los Angeles, California
Dec 5, 2012

Pleasant business stay

The hotel is old but charming. The rooms are on the smaller side. I was in one room for the first night but the water in the sink in the bathroom was extremely slow to drain and after a shower, there was water all over one side of the bathroom. The staff was very pleasant and they changed me to a different room for the next night. The second room was larger but the water in the sink, this time, would not come out a lot even when I'd turn the faucets on full. The beds in both rooms were quite comfortable, though, and the staff was very helpful and friendly at all times. There should be some warning, though, that parking at the hotel is very difficult and that the hotel charges $30.00 per day for parking, separate from the hotel room charges. It additionally charges $8.95 per night for a usage fee - the right to use the hotel's computer, for example, if one needs to print out a boarding pass, for example.l A hot, buffet breakfast is included in the hotel fee but the food is the usual - cream of wheat, scrambled eggs (not cholesterol-free), bacon, potatoes, coffee and orange juice. The breakfast would ordinarily cost about $15.00, not including tip, for one person. This would be a little overpriced for what's served, in my opinion. I was there for business and the location is downtown in the theater district. This is an expensive area of town but the location is excellent for business purposes. I actually enjoyed my stay at the Lancaster, the overall experience was very good, but beware of the additional charges which should be mentioned to the public ahead of time. I would stay at the Lancaster Hotel again, but hoping its plumbing would be brought up to speed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I walked to different restaurants from the hotel. Some restaurants, downtown, are quite expensive, but try, Bioripetto's, for Italian food that's reasonably priced and it gives a lot of wine when requesting a glass of wine with dinner ($14.95 for chicken + $8.00 for a FULL glass of wine), Hard Rock Cafe (fun, and it serves a good hamburger) and Sambuca (American food where lunch can be about $15.00, exclusive of tax and tip - just a little pricey).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top