$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

The Lancaster Hotel

4 stars
701 Texas Street, 701 Texas Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
47 reviews
Great hotel, great price

Great hotel for a great price. Staff was extremely nice and welcoming. See full review

  • davisb
  • Oct 13, 2013
Lovely historic hotel in downtown theatre district

We had a great stay at the Lancaster and with a special rate, it was an affordable price on a... See full review

  • RobertaLee
  • Mar 4, 2013
Charm and history combine in this elegant downtown Houston hotel

Recently designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America, downtown Houston's The Lancaster combines stately elegance with sumptuous accommodations. The stylish hotel pampers guests with plush bathrobes and bedding, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car service to nearby attractions and businesses. The charming lobby area evokes a classic European ambiance, welcoming guests into an atmosphere of history and luxury. The Lancaster is situated in Houston's theater district and is close to many cultural, culinary and entertainment destinations.

  • Located in downtown Houston
  • Designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America
  • Free car service to nearby attractions and businesses

Situated in Houston's theater district, The Lancaster boasts an ideal location for exploring the downtown area. Guests are close to major attractions, shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The hotel offers complimentary car service in the downtown area.

Guest rooms at The Lancaster are richly appointed, blending classic American design elements with modern amenities. Rooms are decorated in warm, welcoming colors with bright brass accents and soft lighting. Generously sized, rooms feature poster beds, comfortable seating area, work space, down duvets and feather pillows, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker and complimentary daily newspaper. Some suites include a full kitchen, spacious living room and full-sized dining room table. The 700-square-foot Presidential Suite offers sweeping views of Houston's downtown business and entertainment district.

The Lancaster has been recognized by Conde Nast Traveler as one of "the best places to stay in the world," landing the hotel on the magazine's Gold List. The hotel is Houston's only remaining historical landmark hotel.

The Lancaster's signature restaurant, The Bistro, is an elegantly designed dining room serving contemporary American cuisine. Signature dishes include crab cakes, grilled lamb meatballs and warm croissant bread pudding. 

  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.7 mi/20.9 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.5 mi/30.2 km)
  • Free car service in downtown area

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (5.9 mi/9.6 km)

  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi

Those looking for business or event space find elegantly furnished meeting rooms at The Lancaster. The hotel features 1,250 square feet of event space with the latest audio/visual equipment and Internet access.

Hotel Map

29.7615 -95.3648
Area served
Houston, Spring, Sugar Land, Pasadena, Channelview, Missouri City
Nearby airports
William P Hobby, (HOU), 11.50, MI, SE; George Bush Intercontinental, (IAH), 20.20, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, The Lancaster is located downtown in the central business and t

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lancaster Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Lancaster Hotel Rooms

1 King Bed Non Smoking
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds Non Smoking
Description not provided
1 Deluxe Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided
Presidential Suite
Description not provided
Executive Suite
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doorman
Conference facilities
Transportation
Courtesy car
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Jones Hall: 0 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.3 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.2 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.6 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for The Lancaster Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobertaLee
San Marcos, TX
Mar 4, 2013

Lovely historic hotel in downtown theatre district

We had a great stay at the Lancaster and with a special rate, it was an affordable price on a weekend rate. Breakfast was very good - a small, but complete and tasty buffet free to all hotel guests. Service was great, both in the restaurant and with valet. Friendly staff too. The hotel is a bit tired and worn in places, but I was told that a complete renovation is taking place in March. Even still, we enjoyed our cozy room and would definitely go back. This is our second stay at the Lancaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like beers from around the world/country (their selection is amazing) and some good eats (the pork belly sandwich and rocket tots are very good), try the Flying Saucer a couple of blocks south of the hotel.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 1, 2007

Theatre Goers Romantic Retreat

My husband and I love to attend theatre productions at least several times a year and this particular weekend i decided to try out The Lancaster as a special treat. We were thrilled with the hotel's location in proximity to the theatre!! The property is beautiful, quaint, and small enough to guarantee very personal attention. We were extremely impressed with every staff person we came in contact with and service was of excellent quality, and too quick for belief. For example, we called for ice and it was delivered to our door within 5 minutes, with a smile. We enjoyed a fantastic in-room breakfast but look forward to eating in the lovely hotel restaurant on our next visit, as well. We utilized the hotel's complimentary Town Car service for door-to-door transport to the theatre and the young man who drove us was, like all of the staff, efficient, poised, and cheerful. We will surely stay at The Lancaster again soon. it takes a lot to impress us- our standards are very high, and The Lancaster not only met, but exceeded these standards!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bayou Place, home of several great restaurants, including the fun Hard Rock Cafe, is across the street.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maurice1111
Chicago, il
Jun 18, 2012

Awesome

Awesome. beautiful. Great location. Great hospitality. I will definitely he back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marilyn2012
New Orleans, LA
Nov 25, 2012

Beautiful hotel!

Our stay at the Lancaster hotel was perfect. The staff were welcoming and really nice. Our room was clean, comfortable, and very pretty. I would love to be able to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to theaters, the Bayou Music Center, and the Hard Rock Cafe.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midland
May 26, 2008

Great Experience

This hotel is very comfortable. The staff goes all out for guests. The value was great. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy entertainment, downtown area is great. The hotel is right across the street to may events as well as theaters.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston
Apr 22, 2009

fantastic

We live in Houston but we wanted a romantic get away. We have tickets to the theater so we stayed there after.It was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Comfort Lady
Business
Sacramento, Ca.
Oct 9, 2012

Business trip

Most comfortable bed and pillows I've had away from home. Quiet. My only complaint was the tablecloth in the dining room was dirty and I had to request a different table even though the wait staff was aware. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky tourist
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Nice hotel in downtown Houston

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Houston, the rooms are nice and clean although a little small. The staff was very friendly and helpful, very good restaurant on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EGG
Houston,TX
Jun 4, 2010

Anniversary visit

Arrived earlier than 3PM did not have to wait to go to the room. Fresh flowers and chocolate were in the room. Towels were very soft. Bed was comfortable. Dining room staff were attentive and helpful in suggesting food. Dining room also had fresh flowers on every table. Food was good and price was reasonable. Had a great time. 10 block walk to Minute Maid Park was not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slowboat
Business
Rockville Centre, NY
Feb 29, 2012

Throwback

The Lancaster has that feel of days gone by. You get the feel that there truly were gas lamps everywhere. Haven't been to a decent hotel in years where they gave you a real key rather than a plastic card. Really nice staff. Not much of an exercise room - but if you just need a treadmill or the stepping machine, they work fine. The bed was as comfortable as any I have slept in in years on the road...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 17, 2011

The Lancaster

This hotel is very luxurious. It is a historical building which added a lot of charm. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search