$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

The Lancaster Hotel

4 stars
View map of 701 Texas Street, 701 Texas Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lancaster Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobertaLee
San Marcos, TX
Mar 4, 2013

Lovely historic hotel in downtown theatre district

We had a great stay at the Lancaster and with a special rate, it was an affordable price on a weekend rate. Breakfast was very good - a small, but complete and tasty buffet free to all hotel guests. Service was great, both in the restaurant and with valet. Friendly staff too. The hotel is a bit tired and worn in places, but I was told that a complete renovation is taking place in March. Even still, we enjoyed our cozy room and would definitely go back. This is our second stay at the Lancaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like beers from around the world/country (their selection is amazing) and some good eats (the pork belly sandwich and rocket tots are very good), try the Flying Saucer a couple of blocks south of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland
May 26, 2008

Great Experience

This hotel is very comfortable. The staff goes all out for guests. The value was great. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy entertainment, downtown area is great. The hotel is right across the street to may events as well as theaters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 1, 2007

Theatre Goers Romantic Retreat

My husband and I love to attend theatre productions at least several times a year and this particular weekend i decided to try out The Lancaster as a special treat. We were thrilled with the hotel's location in proximity to the theatre!! The property is beautiful, quaint, and small enough to guarantee very personal attention. We were extremely impressed with every staff person we came in contact with and service was of excellent quality, and too quick for belief. For example, we called for ice and it was delivered to our door within 5 minutes, with a smile. We enjoyed a fantastic in-room breakfast but look forward to eating in the lovely hotel restaurant on our next visit, as well. We utilized the hotel's complimentary Town Car service for door-to-door transport to the theatre and the young man who drove us was, like all of the staff, efficient, poised, and cheerful. We will surely stay at The Lancaster again soon. it takes a lot to impress us- our standards are very high, and The Lancaster not only met, but exceeded these standards!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bayou Place, home of several great restaurants, including the fun Hard Rock Cafe, is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 7, 2007

Great Downtown Location

My stay at the Lancaster was most pleasant and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in downtown Houston. The restaurant was very nice with ecellent breakfast choices. The hotel limo was exceptional with gratis rides to airport and downtown locations. The limo service was a real money saver as well as a real convient way to get about. Rooms were very comfortable with a great bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Convention Center, Pro basketball, Pro Baseball

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 21, 2007

Romantic Honeymoon Stay

The Lancaster was excellent. Everything was beyond our expectations as far as the room setting and the whole hotel. The best part about the hotel besides its superb location for the plays was the friendly and helpful staff. The staff was ready to do whatever was needed to make our honeymoon the best and they did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The theatre district is right there. We saw two plays across the street. The Bayou Place is two blocks away. The Aquarium Center is about 3 1/2 blocks. We walked back from Minute Maid Park. And there were plenty of places to eat within walking distance. If you couldn't walk there was a hotel car to take you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Nov 18, 2009

Lovely!

Hotel was lovely, location perfect for walking, got a sense of downtown and its history. We were very glad we had lunch as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Just walk! The riverfront walkway was a nice break from the busy downtown but you still had skyscraper views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 22, 2007

Great downtown location

Wonderful smaller hotel with great location to Houston entertainment center and Jones Hall. Great ammenities such as fresh flowers, nice size rooms, attentive staff,etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe in the lobby was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke, VA
Sep 20, 2010

Lovely downtown Houston Hotel

The Hotel is a small period building, beautifully restored and intimate, has a friendly, helpful staff, with a free shuttle to take you to other locations in downtown Houston. Rooms were elegant & attractive, beds are comfortable, amenities pleasant. The restaurant is first rate, but not inexpensive. I do not generally use a spa or gym, so I did not miss that. I was attending a conference at another location and the hotel shuttle service provided transportation to and from my conference. Everyone at the hotel spoke excellent English - not always true at Texas hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 8, 2007

Houston Hospitality

Though my trip was business-focused, my stay at the Lancaster was the next best thing to home! Every detail was attended to from the fresh linens, the friendly wait staff and the delicious breakfast. The hotel is charming, well appointed and close to the businesses and places of interest I needed to visit. I would certainly come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas magnolia
Business
Conroe, Texas
Jan 20, 2014

Excellent location

We love to stay at this hotel because we can walk to dinner and see a play or show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cali and Tex
Business
Granada Hills
Feb 19, 2014

Great Long weekend getaway

The hotel was located in a great location very accessible to the downtown area. Many options to restaurants and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top