$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Lancaster Hotel

4 stars
View map of 701 Texas Street, 701 Texas Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lancaster Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
May 21, 2007

Romantic Honeymoon Stay

The Lancaster was excellent. Everything was beyond our expectations as far as the room setting and the whole hotel. The best part about the hotel besides its superb location for the plays was the friendly and helpful staff. The staff was ready to do whatever was needed to make our honeymoon the best and they did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The theatre district is right there. We saw two plays across the street. The Bayou Place is two blocks away. The Aquarium Center is about 3 1/2 blocks. We walked back from Minute Maid Park. And there were plenty of places to eat within walking distance. If you couldn't walk there was a hotel car to take you.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Nov 18, 2009

Lovely!

Hotel was lovely, location perfect for walking, got a sense of downtown and its history. We were very glad we had lunch as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Just walk! The riverfront walkway was a nice break from the busy downtown but you still had skyscraper views.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas magnolia
Couples
Conroe, Texas
Jan 20, 2014

Excellent location

We love to stay at this hotel because we can walk to dinner and see a play or show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky tourist
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Historic hotel in downtown Houston

Conveniently located in downtown Houston, the staff is very friendly and helpful, great restaurant on the ground floor. The room was not very large but comfortable enough. Hot water in the shower was barely warm sometimes but it was not a big problem. I would give it 4 out of 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Houston Museum of Fine Arts and Museum of Natural Science are great places to visit.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky tourist
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Nice hotel in downtown Houston

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Houston, the rooms are nice and clean although a little small. The staff was very friendly and helpful, very good restaurant on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slowboat
Business
Rockville Centre, NY
Feb 29, 2012

Throwback

The Lancaster has that feel of days gone by. You get the feel that there truly were gas lamps everywhere. Haven't been to a decent hotel in years where they gave you a real key rather than a plastic card. Really nice staff. Not much of an exercise room - but if you just need a treadmill or the stepping machine, they work fine. The bed was as comfortable as any I have slept in in years on the road...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bjhoghead
Friends
Sherman, TX
Aug 25, 2012

Houston

Very clean hotel. Its an older hotel. Its ideal if you are visting venues on Texas Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesse Jr
Friends
San Antonio, TX
Oct 27, 2012

Getaway in Houston

The Lancaster Hotel was fantastic! Superb location and staff! Our stay was very welcoming. I am definitely staying at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stell Pooh
Couples
Chicago, IL
Nov 5, 2012

Great boutique hotel

This is a great botique hotel. It has the basic amenities but is not too lavish. They have a free breakfast buffet and free shuttle within 3 mi of the hotel, which is nice. Staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
West Engineering student
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 13, 2012

Weekend trip

Great staff and service. The bistro is a little price but the breakfast has great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top