$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Lancaster Hotel

4 stars
701 Texas Street, 701 Texas Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
48 reviews
Great hotel, great price

Great hotel for a great price. Staff was extremely nice and welcoming. See full review

  • davisb
  • Oct 13, 2013
Lovely historic hotel in downtown theatre district

We had a great stay at the Lancaster and with a special rate, it was an affordable price on a... See full review

  • RobertaLee
  • Mar 4, 2013
Charm and history combine in this elegant downtown Houston hotel

Recently designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America, downtown Houston's The Lancaster combines stately elegance with sumptuous accommodations. The stylish hotel pampers guests with plush bathrobes and bedding, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car service to nearby attractions and businesses. The charming lobby area evokes a classic European ambiance, welcoming guests into an atmosphere of history and luxury. The Lancaster is situated in Houston's theater district and is close to many cultural, culinary and entertainment destinations.

  • Located in downtown Houston
  • Designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America
  • Free car service to nearby attractions and businesses

Situated in Houston's theater district, The Lancaster boasts an ideal location for exploring the downtown area. Guests are close to major attractions, shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The hotel offers complimentary car service in the downtown area.

Guest rooms at The Lancaster are richly appointed, blending classic American design elements with modern amenities. Rooms are decorated in warm, welcoming colors with bright brass accents and soft lighting. Generously sized, rooms feature poster beds, comfortable seating area, work space, down duvets and feather pillows, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker and complimentary daily newspaper. Some suites include a full kitchen, spacious living room and full-sized dining room table. The 700-square-foot Presidential Suite offers sweeping views of Houston's downtown business and entertainment district.

The Lancaster has been recognized by Conde Nast Traveler as one of "the best places to stay in the world," landing the hotel on the magazine's Gold List. The hotel is Houston's only remaining historical landmark hotel.

The Lancaster's signature restaurant, The Bistro, is an elegantly designed dining room serving contemporary American cuisine. Signature dishes include crab cakes, grilled lamb meatballs and warm croissant bread pudding. 

  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.7 mi/20.9 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.5 mi/30.2 km)
  • Free car service in downtown area

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (5.9 mi/9.6 km)

  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi

Those looking for business or event space find elegantly furnished meeting rooms at The Lancaster. The hotel features 1,250 square feet of event space with the latest audio/visual equipment and Internet access.

Hotel Map

29.7615 -95.3648
Area served
Houston, Spring, Sugar Land, Pasadena, Channelview, Missouri City
Nearby airports
William P Hobby, (HOU), 11.50, MI, SE; George Bush Intercontinental, (IAH), 20.20, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, The Lancaster is located downtown in the central business and t

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lancaster Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Lancaster Hotel Rooms

1 King Bed Non Smoking
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds Non Smoking
Description not provided
1 Deluxe Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided
Presidential Suite
Description not provided
Executive Suite
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doorman
Conference facilities
Transportation
Courtesy car
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Jones Hall: 0 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.3 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.2 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.6 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for The Lancaster Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marilyn2012
New Orleans, LA
Nov 25, 2012

Beautiful hotel!

Our stay at the Lancaster hotel was perfect. The staff were welcoming and really nice. Our room was clean, comfortable, and very pretty. I would love to be able to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to theaters, the Bayou Music Center, and the Hard Rock Cafe.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cali and Tex
Granada Hills
Feb 19, 2014

Great Long weekend getaway

The hotel was located in a great location very accessible to the downtown area. Many options to restaurants and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas magnolia
Conroe, Texas
Jan 20, 2014

Excellent location

We love to stay at this hotel because we can walk to dinner and see a play or show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
acline
houston, tx
Dec 16, 2013

hotel

Great hotel perfect distance to were we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
davisb
houston
Oct 13, 2013

Great hotel, great price

Great hotel for a great price. Staff was extremely nice and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dewanda
calhoun, la
Mar 25, 2013

downtown jewel

this was not the first time i have stayed at the lancaster ,and this trip was as enjoyable as the first time. i picked the lancaster for it's location close to the theater district , and ease of taking the metro. although they are doing renovations, there was no inconvenience at all during my stay, and the staff was very friendly as always. their breakfast is also very good and plentiful. look forward to another stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many entertainment venues within several blocks of the lancaster. the wortham theater center, jones theater,hard rock, the acquarium,buffalo bayou, sambuca, movie theater, and many restaurants.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobertaLee
San Marcos, TX
Mar 4, 2013

Lovely historic hotel in downtown theatre district

We had a great stay at the Lancaster and with a special rate, it was an affordable price on a weekend rate. Breakfast was very good - a small, but complete and tasty buffet free to all hotel guests. Service was great, both in the restaurant and with valet. Friendly staff too. The hotel is a bit tired and worn in places, but I was told that a complete renovation is taking place in March. Even still, we enjoyed our cozy room and would definitely go back. This is our second stay at the Lancaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like beers from around the world/country (their selection is amazing) and some good eats (the pork belly sandwich and rocket tots are very good), try the Flying Saucer a couple of blocks south of the hotel.

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vagabond83
Tacoma, WA
Dec 6, 2012

Older comfort

The hotel location is in the heart of downtown. The room is comfortable, but if you do not like hotels that were built in the earlier part of the twentieth century you will probably not like this place. It has been updated yet holds some of the old time appeal. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Since you are in downtown parking maybe a problem if you don't use the valet, but this service was fairly inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reasonable business trave
Business
Los Angeles, California
Dec 5, 2012

Pleasant business stay

The hotel is old but charming. The rooms are on the smaller side. I was in one room for the first night but the water in the sink in the bathroom was extremely slow to drain and after a shower, there was water all over one side of the bathroom. The staff was very pleasant and they changed me to a different room for the next night. The second room was larger but the water in the sink, this time, would not come out a lot even when I'd turn the faucets on full. The beds in both rooms were quite comfortable, though, and the staff was very helpful and friendly at all times. There should be some warning, though, that parking at the hotel is very difficult and that the hotel charges $30.00 per day for parking, separate from the hotel room charges. It additionally charges $8.95 per night for a usage fee - the right to use the hotel's computer, for example, if one needs to print out a boarding pass, for example.l A hot, buffet breakfast is included in the hotel fee but the food is the usual - cream of wheat, scrambled eggs (not cholesterol-free), bacon, potatoes, coffee and orange juice. The breakfast would ordinarily cost about $15.00, not including tip, for one person. This would be a little overpriced for what's served, in my opinion. I was there for business and the location is downtown in the theater district. This is an expensive area of town but the location is excellent for business purposes. I actually enjoyed my stay at the Lancaster, the overall experience was very good, but beware of the additional charges which should be mentioned to the public ahead of time. I would stay at the Lancaster Hotel again, but hoping its plumbing would be brought up to speed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I walked to different restaurants from the hotel. Some restaurants, downtown, are quite expensive, but try, Bioripetto's, for Italian food that's reasonably priced and it gives a lot of wine when requesting a glass of wine with dinner ($14.95 for chicken + $8.00 for a FULL glass of wine), Hard Rock Cafe (fun, and it serves a good hamburger) and Sambuca (American food where lunch can be about $15.00, exclusive of tax and tip - just a little pricey).

Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
David And Tanya
San Antonio, TX
Dec 2, 2012

Unmitigated disaster

Arrived at hotel which was located 5 minutes from the venue I was attending. With no prior notice, front desk informed us that water damage to the hotel precluded our stay. We were "relocated" with a voucher 18 miles out of the city to a hotel at which rooms were priced at 50% of what we had paid (with no refund for the difference). Administrative staff was not only unresponsive but impolite. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Lancaster Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dewanda
calhoun, la
Dec 1, 2012

wonderful stay

the hotel was great, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. the location was perfect for the things we had planned to do while in houston. would stay there again and recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

use the public transportation, there are several different options that will take you to most of the places in downtown houston.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search