$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

5 stars
111 North Post Oak Lane, Houston, TX 77024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
45 reviews
Fantastic Leisure Facilities

The hotel is really comfortable, but what sets it apart from its competitors is the great leisure... See full review

  • Android 1964
  • Jun 23, 2014
Great Hotel!

Being from California, this hotel could not get any better for the price. Staff was excellent and... See full review

  • BJK Blaze
  • Mar 3, 2014
Top class fitness facilities and hotel services near central Houston

Guests at the Houstonian Hotel, Club and Spa enjoy access to 125,000 square feet of fitness facilities that are among the best to be found anywhere. With three resort style pools, eight tennis courts, a rock climbing facility, boxing rings, a full-court gymnasium for basketball and volleyball, and a staff that includes more than 30 certified personal trainers, there is something for everyone when it comes to sports and fitness at Houstonian Hotel, Club and Spa. The world-class Trellis spa offers a choice of over 100 decadent treatments.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • World class fitness and sports facilities close to the center of Houston
  • Modern elegance and top class service located in an 18-acre wooded oasis in the city
  • Extensive spa and business facilities
The Houstonian Hotel, Club and Spa Rooms

Guests at the Houstonian Hotel, Club and Spa enjoy more than just the fine range of world class fitness and spa amenities for which the hotel has become world famous. The extensive selection of guest rooms and suites at the Houstonian Hotel, Club and Spa include a full set of modern amenities including high-speed Internet access, a 42-inch flat-screen television, a two-line cordless telephone and an oversize executive work desk. Take advantage of great modern business amenities and 32,000 square feet of meeting/function space. Floor-to-ceiling windows offer lovely views of the 18 acres of woodland property at the hotel, and all bathrooms feature terrycloth bathrobes and signature Trellis spa bath products. All guest rooms are smoke-free, and 24-hour room service is available. Enjoy convenient golf course access, and a selection of fine on-site dining options.

Things To Do:
  • Memorial Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galleria Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science and Fine Arts (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Downtown Houston (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Sam Houston Race Park (14.2 mi/22.9 km)

The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa Rooms

Concierge Level Guest Room
Additional services and privacy can be found on the key-accessed Concierge Level. Guests enjoy daily continental breakfast, early evening hors d’oeuvres and cocktails, after dinner sweets and cordials, as well as Concierge and business services. Concierge Level Guest Rooms are available with a king size bed or two queen size beds. The 480 square foot Concierge Level Guest Room features an oversized work desk and armoire that opens up to a private bar. Complimentary High Speed Internet Access.
All Hotel Rooms are completely Non - Smoking.
Deluxe Room
Available with a king size bed or two queen size beds, the 480 square foot Standard Deluxe Guest Room features an oversized work desk and armoire that opens up to a private bar. Guest Room Amenities include: Comprehensive in-room entertainment centers with cable TV, games, movies and in-room checkout, Plush terrycloth robes and hair dryers, Two-line cordless phones and internet access, 24-hour room service, Personal in-room electronic safes, Irons and ironing boards, Oversize executive work desks, Valet parking and on-site transportation. Complimentary High Speed Internet Access.
All Hotel Rooms are completely Non - Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7673 -95.4595
Area served
Houston, Texas
Nearby airports
Houston Intercontinental Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 0.5 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 2.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 5.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 5.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.3 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 5.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 5.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 0.5 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 2.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.9 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 5.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 5.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.3 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 5.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 5.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 5.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 5.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 5.6 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.6 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.8 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 5.9 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 6.4 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.3 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.3 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 7.5 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 12.4 mi
  • Wortham Center: 14.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For a corporate seminar or week-long conference, The Houstonian Hotel is known as one of the most prestigious meeting venues in Houston. State of the art conference facilities combined with impeccable service and amenities add distinction to any business or corporate event. The Hotel features 26 meeting venues from the newly renovated Houstonian Grande Ballroom accommodating 650 banquet-style, to the executive-style Mahogany boardroom, to poolside parties at the outdoor covered Gazebo. The more than 32,000 square-feet of meeting space features expansive windows offering wooded views and natural light, executive conference chairs and extensive audio/video equipment and expertise.

Dining

Manor House
The Manor House is home to superb cuisine, gorgeous views and a refined atmosphere. This exclusive venue is available to hotel guests and Houstonian Club Members for lunch daily and for evening and weekend events such as wedding rehearsals, dinner parties, anniversaries and corporate functions.
Olivette
Olivette features the best of modern American cuisine with a delicious Mediterranean accent. Using only the finest in meats, fish and fresh American poultry, Executive Chef Jeffrey Everts and his culinary team practice classical cooking techniques and create finely layered tastes and textures that make each bite a new discovery. Olivette's warm hues and inviting décor inspire relaxation and romance alike, and a lively display kitchen gives diners a window into a vibrant and creative world where style plus substance equals a meal to remember.
The Bar
Adjacent to the Great Room Lobby, guests can relax in sophisticated comfort at The Bar.
Center Court
Located inside The Houstonian Club, Center Court Café serves fruit smoothies, sandwiches and a variety of scrumptious light fare. Heart healthy and nutritious menu items featured.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.8
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TonyCCC
Miami, Florida
Sep 25, 2012

Family Reunion

just Great, fantastic. I will recoment a hundred percent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad couple
Austin Texas
Feb 7, 2011

Recent Stay

Upon check in we were assigned a room that was really far from the elevators and the concierge lounge we requested to be by. The first night we were there we had a lady running down the hall in her bra and underware between two rooms, the valet parking didnt have our car close after we called for it. They couldnt find our key and we stood in the 20 degree temp waiting while the focused on unloading the cabs that were dropping off people for a wedding. We got no sleep due to the couple arguing till 4am in the room next to us. The next morning we left for the day and upon returning we once again had to wait for the valets to help us and could not stay another night. We checked out and went to another hotel in the houston area for the remainder of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad couple
Austin Texas
Feb 7, 2011

Recent Stay

Upon check in we were assigned a room that was really far from the elevators and the concierge lounge we requested to be by. The first night we were there we had a lady running down the hall in her bra and underware between two rooms, the valet parking didnt have our car close after we called for it. They couldnt find our key and we stood in the 20 degree temp waiting while the focused on unloading the cabs that were dropping off people for a wedding. We got no sleep due to the couple arguing till 4am in the room next to us. The next morning we left for the day and upon returning we once again had to wait for the valets to help us and could not stay another night. We checked out and went to another hotel in the houston area for the remainder of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tpcsfgate
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Great location

Good hotel. Great area. Incredible friendly staff. great concierge level

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Braunfels, TX
Jun 26, 2009

Excellent business & family time!!!!

My family enjoyed the pool and fitness center while i had business meeting. Good size room and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bayou City Cajun Seaford

Review of The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Calgary, AB
Apr 27, 2011

Great place to stay with family

overall our family really enjoyed our trip and stay at the houstonian. the kids loved the pool because it had a slide. my husband loved the gym and i loved the breakfasts and snacks served as we stayed on the concierge floor! nice hotel with all the amenities that one needs to have an enjoyable stay with the family and kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have kids, you MUST check out the Houstans Kids Museum!! Easy way to spend a few hours and it is GREAT fun!

Review of The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great Mama
Greenwich, Connecticut
May 31, 2009

Great hotel!

We visited Houston to attend a graduation. The Houstonion was recommended to us. We were pleasently surprised with the hotel. It is not an old hotel, but gives the impression that it is. We loved looking at the artwork there. They have some lovely original paintings. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. Bathroom and shower great with good water preasure. The staff are friendly and ready to help you. Food is good! (I would not say outstanding) Breakfast is very good though! Outside is lush and beautiful with lots of lovely plants and interesting flowers inside and outside the hotel. We will definately stay here again. It's also a great place to get away for a weekend with your husband. We really liked it! The spa is wonderful! We had no problem finding things to do in Houston. Great theater and wonderful museums. Good shopping too. Great resturants! The last time I visited Houston, I stayed at a more modern Hotel. The Houstonion is so much more interesting and in a lovely setting. Even if there are children around, you don't seem to notice. I definately recommend the Houstonion Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wonderful Natural History Museum including a butterfly display.

Review of The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Calgary, AB
Apr 27, 2011

Great place to stay with family

overall our family really enjoyed our trip and stay at the houstonian. the kids loved the pool because it had a slide. my husband loved the gym and i loved the breakfasts and snacks served as we stayed on the concierge floor! nice hotel with all the amenities that one needs to have an enjoyable stay with the family and kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have kids, you MUST check out the Houstans Kids Museum!! Easy way to spend a few hours and it is GREAT fun!

Review of The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation Maverick
New York, NY
Sep 4, 2012

Summer Pool Dissapointment

My stay at the hotel was overall great. I was in town for an event and had a great time. The events department put on a fabulous production. The hotel is beaufiful and the rooms are very clean. The couches and upholsetry in hotel are a bit dated but for the value the facility is top notch. My only disappointments came from the pool facility and some of the F&B operatons. This is a hotel and spa retreat. With the summer heat and humidity in houston you need to spend time in the pool if outdoors. When you think of a hotel and spa with 3 pools you figure you can slip away for a relaxing time poolside. You are gravely mistaken here. The Houstonian is also a members club. This allows them to maintain a great facility and have it being activly used. It also allows for 200 screaming kids who aren't staying at the hotel to be at the pool on a hot summer day. It was like a kids summer camp outside. Forget relaxing because that's out of the question but it was almost unbearable just to sit outside in the sun and hear the ruckus going on. I actually would have been happier if they had a DJ and club loudspeakers to throw a litle poolparty and let the kids have fun while drowning them out. If only i knew that ahead of time that would have been great. When you book a room at a hotel and spa you just expect a bit more tranquility. Lastly i was a little disappointed in the Food and Beverage Operations at the hotel. The food at the pool was mediocre at best. Most of the food (from the fruit for smoothies to hamburgers at the pool# are frozen packaged sysco products. The prices were very reasonable but i would be willing to pay a little bit more to get some satisfaction out of my meals there instead of eating to eat. Overall the houstonian was a great hotel with great service. It would just be great if they revamped the Food at the hotel. Other than that if you can bear the kids at the pool you should go check it out. It's in a great location downtown with close access to freeways and is a peaceful #other than the pool) little getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Aug 4, 2010

Great stay,

This was a great value for the location and amenities. It was a nice that as a guest of the hotel you could use their fitness center. We had a clean room, which in included a wooded view. The bathroom wasn't anything special, pretty basic. It would have been nice if the self parking was part of the package price since there weren't any other options around. I am use to paying extra for the convenience, however here it wasa a necessity. Overall I would recommend The Houstonian to friends, and would look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of dining options within a short drive of the hotel. There are a lot of recognizable major chains options, but I always recommend keeping an eye out for local places for something different. There are several bakeries, cup cake shops, and wine bars in the area depending on what you are looking for. Most options are in plazas with great shopping right next door

Review of The Houstonian Hotel Club & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doed
Dallas, Texas
Nov 28, 2010

A quiet spot in Houston

This was a very pleasant stay over the Thanksgiving holiday. The rooms are excellent as were the amenities. We stayed on the concierge floor which is very helpful for families, as breakfast and appetizers are buffet style. The setting is woodsy and serene, yet only a few minutes by car to the Galleria. Also, access to the Health Club for all guests is a real value. The only cons are that the bathrooms are small for this level of hotel, although they were of high quality. The appetizers were on the light side, we thought. Overall a fine experience and one we would repeat in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We carried over the woodsy, serene theme to the Rainbow Lodge for dinner on Thanksgiving.

Back to menu Return to top