Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

2 stars
12010 Kuykendahl Road, Houston, TX 77067
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
50 reviews
great price great servic perfect .

plesent great staff great comfortable room atmosphire was great and no one bothers you.. See full review

  • bodgefire
  • Jan 4, 2010
Perfect for a Family Get-away!

The hotel was quite a surprise. It was not what we expected for the low price. You get what you pay... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 12, 2009
Sun Suites is a leading economy, extended stay lodging chain, featuring clean, convenient, quality accommodations, specially designed for the extended stay guest. The Sun Suites at Intercontinental is a 3-story building featuring 135 guestrooms, complete with apartment size kitchens and comfortable living areas. The Hotel is conveniently located with easy access from the interstate and minutes away from Intercontinental Airport. Great restaurants and shopping nearby. Free parking.

Hotel Map

29.9589 -95.4195
Nearby airports
(HOU), 26.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport Rooms

Two Double Beds Suite
2 Doubles-Kitchen w Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Free WIFI-Work Area
Queen Suite
1 Queen-Kitchen Full Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Free WIFI-Work Area
Run of House
Run of House

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Phone service
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Wortham Center: 11.9 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 14 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 14 mi
  • Market Square Park: 14 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 14.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 14.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 14.2 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 14.3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 14.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 14.9 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15.4 mi
  • Wortham Center: 11.9 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 14 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 14 mi
  • Market Square Park: 14 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 14.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 14.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 14.2 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 14.3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 14.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 14.9 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 15.5 mi
  • Water Wall: 15.6 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 16.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 16.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 16.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 16.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 16.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 16.5 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16.5 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 16.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.8 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 16.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 16.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.9 mi
  • Hermann Park: 17 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.8 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.9 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 19.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.7

30% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 5, 2008

dissatisfied

the room was not ready they told me to wait 15min housekeeping was just getting to the room. At check-in their was a guest that came in complaining about a bee hive and that he and another guest gotten stung. The lady did have no concern. The carpet in the room was very dirty. The bed was hard you can feel the springs. They only gave us towels for one day and we was booked for five days. Their was no iron or board. I did not stay. I will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

a bout 4 blocks

Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Van Alstyne, TX
Aug 4, 2008

Neither satisfied nor dissatisfied

Non-smoing room still smelled like smoke. Pet deposit is rediculouse considering all the poo on the ground.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
Mar 10, 2008

My review of Sun Suites at Intercontinental (Greenspoint)

Sun Suites was very convenient place to be. It is so close to airport and all the local restaurants, shops. etc.Loved the idea of being able to cook in my room along with having stove, microwave, and refridgerator.The grounds outside the facility were great to look at., very nice view outside the balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Its actually a short drive to anywhere u could possible eat at. So many choices at such a short distance.

Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 24, 2007

Save yoiur towels

We stayed two nights. The day after our first night we visited some family and freinds. When we arrived back ti our rooms, we were surprised to discover that housekeeping had not addressed our rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cracker Barrel

Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 25, 2007

OK, cheap

Sun Suites at Intercontinental (Greenspoint), HOUSTON, TX was a very cheap motel. The beds were ok the room smelled musty and of mildrew. There was dust and cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling. We stayed three nights and our rooms were never cleaned during the day. The carpets were extremely stained that I was not comfortable walking around barefoot. You could hear kids running around all day and most of the night. My husband had a question one morning and went to the office and was told they were closed and there was a sign by the door that clearly stated they had been opened for at least 45 minutes but the door was still locked and he was refused service. The location to our destination and the price is the only reason why we stayed. If I had my choice I probably would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A couple of exits north there were numerous restaurants. We ate at Cracker Barrell and had great food and service. Old Town Spring is about 10-15 minutes away. The Woodlands is about 20-25 minutes away.

Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ardual
USA
Jul 23, 2007

Fair place to stay

Sun Suites at Intercontinental (Greenspoint), HOUSTON, TX was a place we would recommend if you do not want to spend alot on a room. The beds are extremely small, if you choose the double-bed rooms. Also, take your own iron. There are no irons in each room. We called the office to ask for one, and were told they were all taken. (It was a good thing we ironed ahead of time...at home, or we would have been in trouble.) The motel was clean and we may stay there again if we were needing an inexpensive room again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Walmart not too far, as well as several fast food places.

Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Jul 8, 2007

maintenance was rude

Office staff was nice but maintenance was rude when asked for towels , didnt know we had to get towels from the office , felt that was uncalled for .They talked among themselfs when we passed by... location was good for me it was close to alot of family but dont think I will go back .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

mall and lots of food places to eat

Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fadege
Business
USA
Jun 11, 2007

Great Accomodations for Reasonable Rates

I found the location to be quite convenient. There is a shopping mall, markets, gas stations, restaurants and the airport within a very short distance. It is situated right by the highway which is advantageous for travel in and around the city. Downtown is only 25 minutes away. The location lacked in scenery, however, if you expect to be out and about it shouldn't really matter much. The entire room was clean and well kept. I am particularly picky about bathrooms and I had no qualms about using the shower or toilet. It felt quite cozy as if I were in my own apartment. There isn't a gym there but if you have a Bally's membership there is one located about 5 minutes away. The fact that the rooms are located on a balcony and not down some dark hallway provided a sense of safety. When I walked out of my room I saw my surroundings and security patrols the property late at night. There are two entrances, one located on the north freeway, which is readily viewed, by staff at the front desk, and one located on Kuykendahl (pronounced kerkendale). The Kuykendahl entrance is locked late at night to make it easier for security to view the flow of traffic around the facility. There is no room service but there is a menu of a restaurant that will deliver to the hotel. Overall, I had a good experience here. It is a good place to stay if all you need is a place to crash in between your daily and nightly outings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a 24 hour IHOP about half a mile away

Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adwoa
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 8, 2007

was just ok to sleep

It was a very clean place to stay yet the only thing that I most diliked was that the housekeeping never did anything to the room while the whole week I was there. The location was ok preferrably i would have like somewhere walking distance of restruants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

its was a huge city yet there was nothing near the hotel

Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anandh
Dallas, TX
May 16, 2007

very friendly

Sun Suites was very comfortable in location, being right off I-45. It had several food joints nearby. It was close to many attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Museum of Natural Sciences is very close. About 20 miles from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search