Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

2 stars
12010 Kuykendahl Road, Houston, TX 77067
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
50 reviews
great price great servic perfect .

plesent great staff great comfortable room atmosphire was great and no one bothers you.. See full review

  • bodgefire
  • Jan 4, 2010
Perfect for a Family Get-away!

The hotel was quite a surprise. It was not what we expected for the low price. You get what you pay... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 12, 2009
Sun Suites is a leading economy, extended stay lodging chain, featuring clean, convenient, quality accommodations, specially designed for the extended stay guest. The Sun Suites at Intercontinental is a 3-story building featuring 135 guestrooms, complete with apartment size kitchens and comfortable living areas. The Hotel is conveniently located with easy access from the interstate and minutes away from Intercontinental Airport. Great restaurants and shopping nearby. Free parking. Please note: Weekly deposit of 100 USD total for weekly or monthly cash-paying guests.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport Rooms

1 Queen Bed Studio No Smoking
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Queen Bed Studio ADA Accessibl
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Full Bed Studio No Smoking
Full bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 King Bed Studio No Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Queen Bed Studio Smoking
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Full Bed Studio Smoking
Full bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Phone service
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Wortham Center: 11.9 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 14 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 14 mi
  • Market Square Park: 14 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 14.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 14.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 14.2 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 14.3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 14.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 14.9 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15.4 mi
  • Wortham Center: 11.9 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 14 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 14 mi
  • Market Square Park: 14 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 14.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 14.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 14.2 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 14.3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 14.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 14.9 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 15.5 mi
  • Water Wall: 15.6 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 16.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 16.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 16.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 16.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 16.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 16.5 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16.5 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 16.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.8 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 16.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 16.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.9 mi
  • Hermann Park: 17 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.8 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.9 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 19.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.7

30% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
Jun 28, 2009

Semi-un-favorable review

We sought a quiet motel at which we could rest during interspaces of a hectic wedding weekend. Sun Suites was quiet, clean, and adequate as a place to stay and to base operations. Some of our criticism stems from expectations we have learned to expect from the motel industry. For example, to how many motels do you bring your own soap? Yet, Sun Suites did not provide soap until we asked for it. And when we asked for soap, a motel employee made rude remarks at being summoned to the desk at 11 pm. One does not expect motel management to excoriate guests for ordinary requests. The motel would have been nicer with a pool. Perhaps I misunderstood the booking website we used, but I thought the motel had a pool. The booking website gave us a further problem by finalizing a charge to our credit card with a no-cancellation-possible clause, even though we tried to cancel within an hour after booking, even tough this was a week before our trip. The price was rather more than we expected for what we received. Management was kind enough to fulfil a request we phoned after booking to obtain a ground-floor room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super mad couple
Business
Killeen TX
Jun 26, 2009

Awful filthy dirty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was AWFUL! The bed was so old that the springs were comeing through. The bathroom was filthy. The rooms stunk really bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OK
Jun 24, 2009

good location, good price

Good location, decent clean rooms but not fancy, nice staff, well lighted. Right by highway so it was a little noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Jun 16, 2009

The good, the bad, and the really ugly.

This facility is nothing more than an extended stay/rooming house for migrant workers from mexico. I could not stay in that dungeon. They showed me three different rooms and they were all the same dingy and smelly rooms. I quickly left that place to check myself into a Marriott. I have never been in any hotel facility as dingy, smelly, stuffy and as hot as a sauna. My credit card and Driver's License was photocopied at the time I was checking in and they gave me a receipt to sign, thereby putting all my personal information in their posession. Since I did not stay in their facility, I asked them to return those copies of my personal information and I was told that they will shred it. Would it not have been easier to just give me that copy of my credit card, driver's license and my signature or shred it right there in my presence? I have never had my identity stolen before and I am just concerned that this might be my first case of identity theft. Iam so very disappointed that in the future, I may not want to take a package deal with you again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Texas
Jun 12, 2009

Perfect for a Family Get-away!

The hotel was quite a surprise. It was not what we expected for the low price. You get what you pay for, well this was not the case. The hotel was clean and the rooms were spacious. Perfect location for families at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bin
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 9, 2009

good hotel

the hotel is near the airport and the price is acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
May 8, 2009

Not bad. I've seen better for same price

Our associate had a reservation and tried to check in at 1:30 a.m. No one attended him. He had to find another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, Ca
May 2, 2009

Horrible Hole

The receptionist was on phone and rude. The room was Non-smoking but it smelled like 30 years worth of smoke. I used half a can of Febreeze and it was almost unbearable. Also the kitchenette was lacking most utencils. And the shower couldnt stay consistant in temperature, it went from hot to cold to hot. There was also burn holes in the sheets and in the comforter. And after all that I woke up with a terrible sore throat and a stiff neck from the lumpy balled up pillows. All in all a terrible place to stay, I would recommend sleeping in you car before staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bad suites
Business
Houston tx
Mar 3, 2009

Sun Suites Not good

We had a real bad experience because they would come for room services unless you stay a week or more. Had to come get your own towels. Could not get clean sheets and no pots to cook with in the kitchen. just overall for a suite we were not satisfied at all and will not be returning. And the beds are small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-IAH Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers
Jan 4, 2009

JUST O.K.

MAINTENANCE NEEDS TO DO AWAY WITH THE MILLIONS OF SPIDER AND SPIDER WEBS ON THE BUILDING... DOORWAYS, STAIRS, U NAME IT!!! IT MADE ME UNCOMFORTABLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top