$60 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

2 stars
12485 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77034
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
53 reviews
thursday night hobby area

The value was superb i slept well. Bang for the buck this place gets it. I would stay there again... See full review

  • mannyville123
  • Feb 17, 2014
Personal trip

All the amenities needed in a hotel were presnent in the room. See full review

  • Edwin Ikechukwu Ejikeme
  • Aug 26, 2013
Extended-stay Houston hotel near shopping and theaters
For the visitor who is visiting Houston for a week or more, Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) is an economical option. Sun Suites is a leading extended-stay lodging hotel featuring clean, quality accommodations especially designed for the extended-stay guest. The three-story Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) includes 135 guest rooms that come complete with apartment-size kitchens and ample living areas, making any long-term stay a comfortable one.
Highlights
  • Free parking
  • Apartment-size kitchens
  • Pets allowed
  • Free high-speed Internet access


 

    

Rooms

Suites at Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) are available in several different configurations including double suites, queen suites and king suites. In every case, Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) strives to make guests feel at home. All suites includes an apartment-style kitchen with refrigerator, two-burner stovetop, full-size microwave, coffee maker, dishes and utensils, kitchen table/work area, alarm clock, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, radio, free high-speed Internet access, personal voicemail service, data port hookup, remote control cable TV with free HBO and a comfortable living area.

Property features

Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) is centrally located to provide work, dining and entertainment convenience for its guests. The hotel has easy access to interstate 45 and Sam Houston Parkway, and is just minutes away from William P. Hobby Airport and NASA. There are numerous restaurants, shopping centers and movie theaters within walking distance. Parks, museums and golf courses are a short drive away.

Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Lone Star Museum (3 mi/5 km)
  • Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center (13 mi/21 km)

  • Reliant Stadium (16 mi/26 km)

  • Herman Park Zoo (16 mi/26 km)
  • Buffalo Bayou Park (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Meeting space available
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Fax and copy service available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport Rooms

1 King Bed Studio Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Queen Bed Studio ADA Accessibl
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 King Bed Studio No Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Full Beds Studio No Smoking
2 Full beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Queen Bed Studio No Smoking
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 King Bed Studio ADA Accessible
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Full Beds Studio ADA Accessibl
2 Full beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Full Beds Studio Smoking
2 Full beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Queen Bed Studio Smoking
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 10.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 10.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 12.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 12.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 12.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 12.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 12.4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 12.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 12.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 12.6 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 12.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 12.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 12.8 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 12.8 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 10.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 10.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 12.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 12.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 12.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 12.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 12.4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 12.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 12.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 12.6 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 12.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 12.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 12.8 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 12.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 12.8 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 13.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 13.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13.5 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.5 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 13.7 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 15.6 mi
  • Beer Can House: 15.8 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.8 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 17.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 18.1 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 22.2 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 24.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 30.2 mi
  • Wortham Center: 31.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 53
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.3
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.9

30% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sundareshwar
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 18, 2013

Don't Stay Here

When we checked in, we got greeted with an unpleasant smell. The floor were sticky. The towels had stains and were not clean at all. Since it was just 1 night stay we were able to manage, but definitely would not have been able to manage more than 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Concerned Dad From CS
Business
College Station
Jun 24, 2012

SORRY EXCUSE FOR A HOTEL - DID NOT STAY

Saying not good is still giving too much credit for this sorry hotel. The conditions of the room were horrible .... I walked in the room with my son and we could not believe what we were looking at! First off - smoke alarm detached from ceiling and on dresser, the 2 burner range was taken apart, the furniture was ripped and worn, the bathroom - you did not want to step in the tub and the bathroom door had feces smudged on the door. AC was set at 70 and it must have been at least 80 if not warmer. My advice - skip this one or you will be disappointed. We Left!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
L.F.R.
Business
Texas
May 28, 2012

Getaway

The bathroom was dirty. After using the sick, there was water on the floor. The TV work for few minutes and then the screen went red.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
frogm1
Business
copperas cove, tx
Mar 18, 2012

dispointed

Frist room no tv. second room need repairs, doors hard to open had to push open with your whole body.no shampoo no coffee, coffee maker. Just not happy with our stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

s is houston always good dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sailing Friend
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
Nov 18, 2011

Sailing Clinic Weekend

Location right along major freeway. Noisy all night long. Kitchen was complete with refrigerator, stove and microwave, all clean. No one in office to handle checking out. Seemed to be a party hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Racer's Mama
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 21, 2011

Not Good

Needed a room on the bottom floor. All rooms on the bottom were smoking rooms. I have heart problems and it is hard for me to do stairs. The elevators were small and so hot that we were better off carrying everything upstairs. She could not even get me a room near the elevator. No ice machine. No continental breakfast. Many people were up all night drinking and sit on the stairs while we were trying to carry everything down. The door on the ice box would not stay shut. The door to the bathroom did not have a lock. You could just push the door open. Not happy at all. Was not no where worth what I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
duncanville tx.
Jul 20, 2011

clean and desent price

very clean, a/c little loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas tx
Jul 10, 2011

good location near to freeway

cheap hotel,near to stores and freeway 35 min to galveston,people in front desk not to frienly,becarful in laundry i used and somebody take my clothes out from dryer,not clean the room everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Desoto, TX
Jul 10, 2010

BEWARE

OMG! I would not refer this hotel to anyone. [...] When I say raoch motel, I mean roach motel. All the front desk could do for us was say they will have someone look at it in the morning after we checked out. Had to go to the nearest store to buy Raid to cure the problem. No one should have to live under those conditions short stay or long stay. The best thing going for this place is the location and price. I guess you get what you pay for. Next time I will stay in Motel6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Mall accross the freeway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
george west, tx
Dec 8, 2009

sun suites clearlake

I was shown two separate rooms with kitchens and each had kitchen roaches in and around the fridges. The roaches were various sizes and looked to have been of multiple generations. If it had not been for the roaches, the rooms, staff, and location were all adequate to professional. I just did not want to take risk associated with roach infestation either directly or indirectly (like having my luggage and baggage get infested with the roaches that could be carried back into my home).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top