$60 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

2 stars
12485 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77034
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
53 reviews
thursday night hobby area

The value was superb i slept well. Bang for the buck this place gets it. I would stay there again... See full review

  • mannyville123
  • Feb 17, 2014
Personal trip

All the amenities needed in a hotel were presnent in the room. See full review

  • Edwin Ikechukwu Ejikeme
  • Aug 26, 2013
Extended-stay Houston hotel near shopping and theaters
For the visitor who is visiting Houston for a week or more, Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) is an economical option. Sun Suites is a leading extended-stay lodging hotel featuring clean, quality accommodations especially designed for the extended-stay guest. The three-story Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) includes 135 guest rooms that come complete with apartment-size kitchens and ample living areas, making any long-term stay a comfortable one.
Highlights
  • Free parking
  • Apartment-size kitchens
  • Pets allowed
  • Free high-speed Internet access


 

    

Rooms

Suites at Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) are available in several different configurations including double suites, queen suites and king suites. In every case, Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) strives to make guests feel at home. All suites includes an apartment-style kitchen with refrigerator, two-burner stovetop, full-size microwave, coffee maker, dishes and utensils, kitchen table/work area, alarm clock, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, radio, free high-speed Internet access, personal voicemail service, data port hookup, remote control cable TV with free HBO and a comfortable living area.

Property features

Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) is centrally located to provide work, dining and entertainment convenience for its guests. The hotel has easy access to interstate 45 and Sam Houston Parkway, and is just minutes away from William P. Hobby Airport and NASA. There are numerous restaurants, shopping centers and movie theaters within walking distance. Parks, museums and golf courses are a short drive away.

Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Lone Star Museum (3 mi/5 km)
  • Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center (13 mi/21 km)

  • Reliant Stadium (16 mi/26 km)

  • Herman Park Zoo (16 mi/26 km)
  • Buffalo Bayou Park (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Meeting space available
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Fax and copy service available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport Rooms

1 King Bed Studio Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Queen Bed Studio ADA Accessibl
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 King Bed Studio No Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Full Beds Studio No Smoking
2 Full beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Queen Bed Studio No Smoking
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 King Bed Studio ADA Accessible
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Full Beds Studio ADA Accessibl
2 Full beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Full Beds Studio Smoking
2 Full beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Queen Bed Studio Smoking
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 10.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 10.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 12.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 12.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 12.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 12.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 12.4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 12.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 12.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 12.6 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 12.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 12.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 12.8 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 12.8 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 10.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 10.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 12.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 12.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 12.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 12.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 12.4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 12.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 12.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 12.6 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 12.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 12.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 12.8 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 12.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 12.8 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 13.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 13.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13.5 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.5 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 13.7 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 15.6 mi
  • Beer Can House: 15.8 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.8 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 17.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 18.1 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 22.2 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 24.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 30.2 mi
  • Wortham Center: 31.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.2

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not So Happy
Business
St. Louis
Jun 9, 2009

The Bad,and the really ugly

It was called a suite, it was a motel room with a useless kitchen,2 plates,2 cups, 2 glasses,2 forks,spoons,butter knives. No Pool. Noisy. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

None.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yash
Business
Houston, Tx
Jul 6, 2009

Worst Hotel and worst service

Hotel Staff cannot open the Door and after they opened we were locked in the room and no staff available till morning 8:00 am . We cancelled our san Antonio trip and returned home. Never use cheap tickets and never use sun suites please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TL Gotcher
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Nov 7, 2011

BAD

Very bad experience! Do NOT recommend. Waiting on a superviser to call me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
frogm1
Business
copperas cove, tx
Mar 18, 2012

dispointed

Frist room no tv. second room need repairs, doors hard to open had to push open with your whole body.no shampoo no coffee, coffee maker. Just not happy with our stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

s is houston always good dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jluv
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Apr 23, 2012

just horrible!

From the beginning it was bad. Took the front desk clerkS over 15 minutes just to find the reservation and then put us in a single bed room, when we reserved 2 double beds. We didn't know this until we hauled all of our luggage to the room. After getting everything back down from the 3rd floor they fixed the mistake and we were on the 3rd floor again, on the other side of the hotel. We walked in to find the nightstand literally falling apart, rust all over pathetic air conditioner and rust in the shower as well. Dirty kitchen and half a roll of toilet paper. During our 3 night stay we were NEVER given fresh towels, and the trash was never removed. So glad to check out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Concerned Dad From CS
Business
College Station
Jun 24, 2012

SORRY EXCUSE FOR A HOTEL - DID NOT STAY

Saying not good is still giving too much credit for this sorry hotel. The conditions of the room were horrible .... I walked in the room with my son and we could not believe what we were looking at! First off - smoke alarm detached from ceiling and on dresser, the 2 burner range was taken apart, the furniture was ripped and worn, the bathroom - you did not want to step in the tub and the bathroom door had feces smudged on the door. AC was set at 70 and it must have been at least 80 if not warmer. My advice - skip this one or you will be disappointed. We Left!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler Trev
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 11, 2012

Front desk clerk...

The front desk clerk took almost two hours to get us check in and our room key. After this she gave us a dirty room and had to start process all over again. Price was great but cleanlineness and servive are sub par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sundareshwar
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 18, 2013

Don't Stay Here

When we checked in, we got greeted with an unpleasant smell. The floor were sticky. The towels had stains and were not clean at all. Since it was just 1 night stay we were able to manage, but definitely would not have been able to manage more than 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Racer's Mama
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 21, 2011

Not Good

Needed a room on the bottom floor. All rooms on the bottom were smoking rooms. I have heart problems and it is hard for me to do stairs. The elevators were small and so hot that we were better off carrying everything upstairs. She could not even get me a room near the elevator. No ice machine. No continental breakfast. Many people were up all night drinking and sit on the stairs while we were trying to carry everything down. The door on the ice box would not stay shut. The door to the bathroom did not have a lock. You could just push the door open. Not happy at all. Was not no where worth what I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Brunswick Canada
Jun 28, 2009

terrible hotel

The room smelled musty. The bathtub fawcett never shut off. The bathroom sink fawcett handle was cracked and missing parts. The toilet tissue holder was on with a sheetrock screw. There were no kitchen pots in the kitchen. They never informed us until we asked that you had to pick them up at the front desk. The table was only large enough for a laptop and there was nothing to put luggage on so we had to put suitcases on floor. Th headboard on the bed fell off and nearly hit me. This has happened before by looking at the holes in the wall where it has been improperly screwed on before. We never had any maid service all week even though we complained. The sign said that we would get clean towels in mid week but we had to go and get them ourselves from the front desk. The desk clerk said he would ask housekeeping why they had not cleaned the room but it was never cleaned once. The garbage cans were full when we left because they had not been emptied. Overall this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and I have stayed in a few. It was even stated on a sign in the room that if you required extra towels you had to pay an extra fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top