$60 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

2 stars
12485 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77034
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
53 reviews
thursday night hobby area

The value was superb i slept well. Bang for the buck this place gets it. I would stay there again... See full review

  • mannyville123
  • Feb 17, 2014
Personal trip

All the amenities needed in a hotel were presnent in the room. See full review

  • Edwin Ikechukwu Ejikeme
  • Aug 26, 2013
Extended-stay Houston hotel near shopping and theaters
For the visitor who is visiting Houston for a week or more, Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) is an economical option. Sun Suites is a leading extended-stay lodging hotel featuring clean, quality accommodations especially designed for the extended-stay guest. The three-story Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) includes 135 guest rooms that come complete with apartment-size kitchens and ample living areas, making any long-term stay a comfortable one.
Highlights
  • Free parking
  • Apartment-size kitchens
  • Pets allowed
  • Free high-speed Internet access


 

    

Rooms

Suites at Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) are available in several different configurations including double suites, queen suites and king suites. In every case, Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) strives to make guests feel at home. All suites includes an apartment-style kitchen with refrigerator, two-burner stovetop, full-size microwave, coffee maker, dishes and utensils, kitchen table/work area, alarm clock, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, radio, free high-speed Internet access, personal voicemail service, data port hookup, remote control cable TV with free HBO and a comfortable living area.

Property features

Sun Suites of Hobby (Clearlake) is centrally located to provide work, dining and entertainment convenience for its guests. The hotel has easy access to interstate 45 and Sam Houston Parkway, and is just minutes away from William P. Hobby Airport and NASA. There are numerous restaurants, shopping centers and movie theaters within walking distance. Parks, museums and golf courses are a short drive away.

Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Lone Star Museum (3 mi/5 km)
  • Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center (13 mi/21 km)

  • Reliant Stadium (16 mi/26 km)

  • Herman Park Zoo (16 mi/26 km)
  • Buffalo Bayou Park (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Meeting space available
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Fax and copy service available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport Rooms

1 King Bed Studio Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Queen Bed Studio ADA Accessibl
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 King Bed Studio No Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Full Beds Studio No Smoking
2 Full beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Queen Bed Studio No Smoking
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 King Bed Studio ADA Accessible
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Full Beds Studio ADA Accessibl
2 Full beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Full Beds Studio Smoking
2 Full beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Queen Bed Studio Smoking
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 10.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 10.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 12.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 12.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 12.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 12.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 12.4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 12.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 12.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 12.6 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 12.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 12.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 12.8 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 12.8 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 10.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 10.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 12.3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 12.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 12.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 12.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 12.4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 12.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 12.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 12.6 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 12.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 12.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 12.8 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 12.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 12.8 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 13.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 13.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13.5 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.5 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 13.7 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 15.6 mi
  • Beer Can House: 15.8 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.8 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 17.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 18.1 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 22.2 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 24.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 30.2 mi
  • Wortham Center: 31.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.2

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dimy61
Business
C hicago Il
May 12, 2009

Had to cancel do to major flooding

Could not reach motel do to major flooding on my arrival. From highway the building looked nice. I do appreciate the fact that I was only charged for one day which I was not able to be there. Thank You for considering the fact that Mother Nature had a factor in my matter. Diane Myers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, tx
May 6, 2009

sun suites

bad place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's crab shack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Average mom
Business
Virginia - Hotel was in Houston
May 3, 2009

Underwhelming Last Resort

We went for a memorial service for close family member. The location was really convenient to the funeral home so it was recommended by a frugaL traveler family member. The price was right and beds were sizes requested. We asked for a non smoking room when making the reservation two weeks ahead of time. All they did was remove the ashtrays. The room and air conditioning smelled of old smoke. There were plentiful burn holes in the synthetic blankets on both beds. The iron I went down three floors to get was broken in that it spewed brown water all over my new dress. Luckily it was black, so I wore it anyway. I tried to steam the dress in the closed bathroom, but there was not enough hot water to accomplish this even though it was mid afternoon (off Peak for demand), and none of us had needed to shower just prior to trying to steam out the wrinkles. The extended stay kitchen items were extremely sparse. No coffeemaker or packet of coffee, creamer, sweetener - absolutely nothing. No ice bucket, plastic cups, a few metal utensils was about it, but no dish soap in evidence, so we were afraid to use and brought back plastic. Kitchen was fairly clean - microwave and refrigerator worked fine. The other guests (seemed to be blue collar types) did not cause excessive noise. We slept well. Next time I travel I will avoid SunSuites even if it costs twice as much to have the all the little things you take for granted- coffeemaker, cups, etc. wall mounted blow dryer and swimming pool. We could have endured having to buy every little thing that you take for granted in a hotel/motel if they had had a pool for the kids! SunSuites = bare bones all corners CUT OFF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

This location was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Apr 22, 2009

More than adequate for the price!

We paid less than $40 a night and the room was just fine, especially for that price. The Internet worked well. Checking in and out was easy and the staff was very friendly. It was close to places to eat and the freeway, which was what we wanted while we apartment shopped for a relocation to Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sheperd
Nov 29, 2008

good nite

It was fine for a one nite tay and have recomended it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

dineing also availble.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarksville
Nov 29, 2008

You get what you pay for

The price was very low. The room was dirty. Be sure to read the fine print on check in. Extra towels have to be requested and sign in room says there is a charge for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is right off the freeway and has easy access to dinning and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette
Nov 23, 2008

poor customer relations

the sunny suites of hobby was a nightmere for my family. we had a room with roaches to start the first night. another room had no air or heat. the only thing i can say is that it was in a good location for shopping and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

its pretty close to mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2008

great hotel for the money

The front office staff was very friendly and helpful. They made you feel like you were welcomed. The location of this hotel made it very easy to access the freeway. The hotel was like a mini version of a small efficiency but served its purpose. I was satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There were all kinds of business located near the hotel especially a mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madrid
Feb 8, 2008

convenient, but

The location near Houston Hobby airport was convenient. The room was basic. The shower head came off in my hands. I was able to put it back on and take a shower. My overall impression was that the property was built very cheaply.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 24, 2007

Very good location

The hotel is clean & the kitchen is nice as a bonus. They do not supply the shampoo & conditioner but if you go & ask at the front desk they will give it to you. All in all we are satisfied with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top