$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

4 stars
View map of 2222 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
49 reviews
great getaway

The hotel was very nice our room was very clean! Little different from the picture on the website I... See full review

  • Anna
  • Apr 21, 2015
great service

great stay!! I would def come here again. great rooms, food, service. See full review

  • sammy h.
  • Apr 18, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston Rooms

Superior King
King Bed-Galleria View-comp internet-Desk
Accessible Superior Double
2 Dbl Bed/Galleria View/comp internet
Accessible Barons Suite
2 Room Suite - King Bed-Wet Bar-Comp Internet
Superior Double
2 Double Beds -Galleria View-Comp Internet
Deluxe King
King Bed-City View-comp internet-Desk
Deluxe Double
2 Double Beds-City View-comp internet
Premium King
Spacious Corner King Bed Room-City View
Executive Level King
Exec Level King/Cont Brkfst/Comp Cocktails
Executive Level Double
Exec Double-Comp Continental Brkfst /Cocktails
Barons Suite
2 Room Suite - King Bed-wet bar-Comp Internet,
Accessible Superior King
King Bed-Galleria View-comp internet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.1 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 6.8 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.3 mi

Dining

Lobby lounge
Offers a relaxing place to unwind in a living room atmosphere offering light bites / cocktails and live entertainment.
The Restaurant
Offers a wonderful ambiance to enjoy the international cuisine. The Restaurant is open for breakfast / lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Offers over 200 spirits in a contemporary environment serving light snacks and tapas. Enjoy fine tequilas and whiskies / more than 40 varieties of vodka and a selection of martinis in a sleek / classic bar atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 49
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin Lady
Business
Liberty Hill
Apr 27, 2015

Great stay

This hotel was a great stay for the amount we paid. The staff was the best and went above and beyond.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anna
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

great getaway

The hotel was very nice our room was very clean! Little different from the picture on the website I thought I was going to get a stand up shower like the picture but it was a regular tub with shower. Room service was great and valet. Only thing I wished they open the pool little bit later then 10:00 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eduardo C.
Business
N/A
Mar 22, 2015

Great trip

Super close to the Galleria. It was a great experience and expected with the name of the hotel. Only issue we encountered was our original room key wasn't programmed to give give us access to the club level(like a lounge club that came with the purchase of the suite) but rectified by the staff immediately when notified of the problem. Plan to go back there in the summer for a longer stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thegirlinblue
Business
Austin
Feb 4, 2015

Excellent Hotel

The Royal Sonesta was such a great experience. Very clean, comfortable, friendly, and relaxing. I was in town for the Passion conference and felt like I was on vacation. The only negative thing I could think of was the expensive self-parking. At $19 a night, it was a little steep! Just know what to expect in advance so you can plan for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shumaila
Business
Houston TX
Feb 17, 2014

Excellent Hotel

Hotel was very nice Well staffed. Helped us in every issue we came across

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taco Man
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 5, 2014

one night in houston

One of the best experiences I have had at a hotel. Staff, upgrades, room, service...all fantastic. Got this hotel on a steal and the value just kept coming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

don't eat tooooo much at Carraba's

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RBH3
Business
Texas
Oct 22, 2013

weekend getaway

Let me start by saying the staff is friendly and polite. We booked a king and was given a double. After calling down to inform them of the mistake , we received a room that had open food packages left in the room. Then on Saturday and Sunday morning we were woke up to the sound of construction in the hotel at 7:30 am. Overall this was a horrible experience. Management offered one night of stay in the future for our two night we were there. I am not sure if I will be taking them up one this. Something I will need to think about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmalik
Business
New York, NY
Oct 8, 2013

Best hotel I've stayed at--not just in Houston, but anywhere.

Staff is extraordinary--professional and polite at all times. Jonathan, the manager, upgraded me to a baron suite and allowed me to check-in early. When I called to ask for a late checkout at 1pm, they offered me a 2pm checkout. This hotel is superior to the Four Seasons, where I have stayed previously. I will never stay anywhere else when I visit Houston next time (I visit a few times per year). Keep up the great work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book a room on the executive floor, or granting access to the Executive club. Breakfast is excellent as is the evening happy hour.

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blmontg
Business
Baytown,Tx
Aug 19, 2013

One night getaway

My wife and I stayed at Royal Sonesta on a very spontaneous decision. The hotel staff was perfect and the room was very nice. The king bed was very comfortable with amazing pillows! The staff even surprised us with chocolate covered strawberries and champagne in the room! Very impressed and will be back soon. This hotel is perfect for a romantic getaway. Very quiet and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Galleria

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
akhwvh
Business
Bryan, TX
Mar 25, 2013

On surgery business

Had to find a hotel to stay in for one night after released from Hospital after surgery and in between a follow up visit with the doctor. Hotel stay was great, food was really good, we had the room service. Great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top