$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

4 stars
2222 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
36 reviews
one night in houston

One of the best experiences I have had at a hotel. Staff, upgrades, room, service...all fantastic.... See full review

  • Taco Man
  • Feb 5, 2014
Best hotel I've stayed at--not just in Houston, but anywhere.

Staff is extraordinary--professional and polite at all times. Jonathan, the manager, upgraded me to... See full review

  • mmalik
  • Oct 8, 2013
The Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston a 4 diamond hotel offers 485 well-appointed guest rooms. 24-hour fitness center- roof top swimming pool- business center- restaurant- lounge and fifty thousand square feet of meeting space. The hotel is located in Uptown galleria Houston- minutes away to downtown- shopping- and local attractions.

Hotel Map

29.7441 -95.4587
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 16.00, MI, SE; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 18.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston Rooms

Superior King
King Bed-Galleria View-comp internet-Desk
Accessible Superior Double
2 Dbl Bed/Galleria View/comp internet
Accessible Barons Suite
2 Room Suite - King Bed-Wet Bar-Comp Internet
Superior Double
2 Double Beds -Galleria View-Comp Internet
Deluxe King
King Bed-City View-comp internet-Desk
Deluxe Double
2 Double Beds-City View-comp internet
Premium King
Spacious Corner King Bed Room-City View
Executive Level King
Exec Level King/Cont Brkfst/Comp Cocktails
Executive Level Double
Exec Double-Comp Continental Brkfst /Cocktails
Barons Suite
2 Room Suite - King Bed-wet bar-Comp Internet,
Accessible Superior King
King Bed-Galleria View-comp internet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.1 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 6.8 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.3 mi

Dining

Lobby lounge
Offers a relaxing place to unwind in a living room atmosphere offering light bites / cocktails and live entertainment.
The Restaurant
Offers a wonderful ambiance to enjoy the international cuisine. The Restaurant is open for breakfast / lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Offers over 200 spirits in a contemporary environment serving light snacks and tapas. Enjoy fine tequilas and whiskies / more than 40 varieties of vodka and a selection of martinis in a sleek / classic bar atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taco Man
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 5, 2014

one night in houston

One of the best experiences I have had at a hotel. Staff, upgrades, room, service...all fantastic. Got this hotel on a steal and the value just kept coming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

don't eat tooooo much at Carraba's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snickelfritz
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 7, 2009

InterContinental Houston 12/04/09

Everything was great from check in to the facilities for the event we were there for to the check out. Room was nice, staff was nice [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SRJF
Business
PA
Apr 6, 2012

Great Stay

It was a quick in and out, but the hotel was exactly what I needed; great staff, very clean and quiet room, FANTASTIC gym and very close to where I needed to be. I will absolutely stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
birann
Business
mexico city, mexico
Apr 13, 2012

service

the hotel was clean, excellent location, servica was outstanding

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blmontg
Business
Baytown,Tx
Aug 19, 2013

One night getaway

My wife and I stayed at Royal Sonesta on a very spontaneous decision. The hotel staff was perfect and the room was very nice. The king bed was very comfortable with amazing pillows! The staff even surprised us with chocolate covered strawberries and champagne in the room! Very impressed and will be back soon. This hotel is perfect for a romantic getaway. Very quiet and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Galleria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmalik
Business
New York, NY
Oct 8, 2013

Best hotel I've stayed at--not just in Houston, but anywhere.

Staff is extraordinary--professional and polite at all times. Jonathan, the manager, upgraded me to a baron suite and allowed me to check-in early. When I called to ask for a late checkout at 1pm, they offered me a 2pm checkout. This hotel is superior to the Four Seasons, where I have stayed previously. I will never stay anywhere else when I visit Houston next time (I visit a few times per year). Keep up the great work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book a room on the executive floor, or granting access to the Executive club. Breakfast is excellent as is the evening happy hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 13, 2008

Great for Business or Pleasure

The Hotel InterContinental Houston is in a perfect location for doing business in and around the Galleria area. I loved that the desk was just a big table where you could spread out to work. And no searching for outlets - you can charge everything in one place. The bed was comfy and so was the bathrobe. Great lighting in the bathroom. For the price, I felt like I got an extra star's worth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Honestly, everything's just a short drive away... shopping, dining, nightlife, downtown. I like the Red Cat Cafe (or something like that) - it's a jazz club downtown. And the Breakfast Club - amazing food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kuwait
May 25, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

Shopping No nothing missing I stayed in the same hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Galleria Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
HOUSTON,TX.
Nov 28, 2010

UNFORGETABLE HONEYMOON!

THIS IS TH EFIRST HOTEL I COULD REALLY LIKE SPECIALLY FOR MY HONEYMOON WOW EVERYTHING WAS SO NICE AND COOL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shumaila
Business
Houston TX
Feb 17, 2014

Excellent Hotel

Hotel was very nice Well staffed. Helped us in every issue we came across

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top