$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

4 stars
View map of 2222 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmalik
Business
New York, NY
Oct 8, 2013

Best hotel I've stayed at--not just in Houston, but anywhere.

Staff is extraordinary--professional and polite at all times. Jonathan, the manager, upgraded me to a baron suite and allowed me to check-in early. When I called to ask for a late checkout at 1pm, they offered me a 2pm checkout. This hotel is superior to the Four Seasons, where I have stayed previously. I will never stay anywhere else when I visit Houston next time (I visit a few times per year). Keep up the great work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book a room on the executive floor, or granting access to the Executive club. Breakfast is excellent as is the evening happy hour.

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lea B Traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 23, 2013

Under Construction.

The whole front of the hotel was under renovation and blocked off. The only way to enter the hotel was around the back and through the parking garage. Each time you left you were stopped by a gate attendant. You had to walk around the hotel each time you came and left the building. Very inconvenient. I would not have booked here if I had known ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VISITOR FROM LOUISIANA
Business
Munich, Germany
Sep 23, 2013

Weekend in Houston

Nice hotel in a good location, major renovations going on, at checkout they tried to charge again the prepaid amount to my credit card, same with free parking; the promised newspaper never arrived, somewhat annoying experience, otherwise, I enjoyed my stay. Maybe the employees are overworked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. J. W. Stucki
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 13, 2013

Worst stay ever

my assistant booked the room on this site and it called for a premier room. The front desk argued with me and said i only paid for a standard room. The room they put me in was 503, mini bar unplugged and empty, refreshment tray empty. I told my assistant to get me upgraded or moved to a different hotel. I paid 30 and got upgrade. site listed parking as free. hotel said we don't have self park right now and forced valet. in the now upgraded room no minibar, no refreshments and not even a bottle of water. I spent nearly two hours trying to get management and room service to bring me two bottles of water. leaving the hotel the next day was a treat too! they took me through a back route, construction everywhere and to a parking garage i had never seen. Terrible stay in every respect other than location! Dr. S.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DarioSA
Business
Texas
Sep 6, 2013

Great one night stay for rest

The room was clean and beds were really comfortable. Really refresh ourselves after a full day hanging out in the heat. Did not have time to check out the other amenities but they sounded great. Staff was helpful and service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Galeria shopping mall is just one block away. \

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Cuzz
Business
Houston
Sep 3, 2013

Great Weekend Getaway

Room was nice and clean. Was walking distance from the Galleria. will book again when I visit Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blmontg
Business
Baytown,Tx
Aug 19, 2013

One night getaway

My wife and I stayed at Royal Sonesta on a very spontaneous decision. The hotel staff was perfect and the room was very nice. The king bed was very comfortable with amazing pillows! The staff even surprised us with chocolate covered strawberries and champagne in the room! Very impressed and will be back soon. This hotel is perfect for a romantic getaway. Very quiet and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Galleria

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
akhwvh
Business
Bryan, TX
Mar 25, 2013

On surgery business

Had to find a hotel to stay in for one night after released from Hospital after surgery and in between a follow up visit with the doctor. Hotel stay was great, food was really good, we had the room service. Great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied Guest Couple
Business
Houston, Texas
Mar 1, 2013

Lovely Experience

Amenities: quite excellent; only preference is that the pool area would remain open past 9pm, as I would have preferred a dip in the hot tub to relax after my late evening meetings Location: as a plus, it's within walking distance of several shopping plazas and the Houston Galleria, but because of that, traffic is bothersome Room Cleanliness: excellent; no comment other than exceptional preparation by the housekeeping staff Room Comfort: quite nice, spacious room, open layout Staff: very courteous and helpful; only issue was not receiving the requested Houston Chronicle newspaper at the room in the morning; requested it twice and ended up having to pick up a copy from the concierge desk when checking out Value: comparably priced in relation to the amenities and quality of the establishment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Houston Galleria is a half of a block south of the hotel

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nerdychembuff
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 6, 2012

disappointed with the amenities and unexpected fees

I have stayed in 3-star hotels with better amenities. CRT TVs are not 4-star hotel amenities. Pros: courteous and helpful staff, close to galleria mall, decent fitness center Cons: No free Internet ($10 a day), No free parking ($16 a day for garage and $27 a day for valet), beds are so uncomfortable (polyester sheets/pillows and hard mattress), low room ceilings, CRT TV not LCD, outdated bathroom, Outdoor pool is untidy (bugs floating)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very close proximity to restaurants and shopping

Back to menu Return to top