$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

4 stars
2222 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
33 reviews
one night in houston

One of the best experiences I have had at a hotel. Staff, upgrades, room, service...all fantastic.... See full review

  • Taco Man
  • Feb 5, 2014
Best hotel I've stayed at--not just in Houston, but anywhere.

Staff is extraordinary--professional and polite at all times. Jonathan, the manager, upgraded me to... See full review

  • mmalik
  • Oct 8, 2013
The Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston a 4 diamond hotel offers 485 well-appointed guest rooms. 24-hour fitness center- roof top swimming pool- business center- restaurant- lounge and fifty thousand square feet of meeting space. The hotel is located in Uptown galleria Houston- minutes away to downtown- shopping- and local attractions.

Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston Rooms

Superior King
King Bed-Galleria View-comp internet-Desk
Director King Connector
King Bed-City View-comp internet-Wokstation
Barons Suite
2 Room Suite - King Bed-wet bar-Comp Internet,
Accessible Barons Suite
2 Room Suite - King Bed-Wet Bar-Comp Internet
Superior Double
2 Double Beds -Galleria View-Comp Internet
Deluxe King
King Bed-City View-comp internet-Desk
Deluxe Double
2 Double Beds-City View-comp internet
Premium King
Spacious Corner King Bed Room-City View
Executive Level King
Exec Level King/Cont Brkfst/Comp Cocktails
Executive Level Double
Exec Double-Comp Continental Brkfst /Cocktails
Accessible Superior King
King Bed-Galleria View-comp internet
Accessible Superior Double
2 Dbl Bed/Galleria View/comp internet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7441 -95.4587
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 16.00, MI, SE; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 18.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.6 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.1 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 6.8 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.3 mi

Dining

Lobby lounge
Offers a relaxing place to unwind in a living room atmosphere offering light bites / cocktails and live entertainment.
The Restaurant
Offers a wonderful ambiance to enjoy the international cuisine. The Restaurant is open for breakfast / lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Offers over 200 spirits in a contemporary environment serving light snacks and tapas. Enjoy fine tequilas and whiskies / more than 40 varieties of vodka and a selection of martinis in a sleek / classic bar atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Overall score

3.8 / 5
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
mmalik
New York, NY
Oct 8, 2013

Best hotel I've stayed at--not just in Houston, but anywhere.

Staff is extraordinary--professional and polite at all times. Jonathan, the manager, upgraded me to a baron suite and allowed me to check-in early. When I called to ask for a late checkout at 1pm, they offered me a 2pm checkout. This hotel is superior to the Four Seasons, where I have stayed previously. I will never stay anywhere else when I visit Houston next time (I visit a few times per year). Keep up the great work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book a room on the executive floor, or granting access to the Executive club. Breakfast is excellent as is the evening happy hour.

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
Diego super Gonzalez
San Antonio Texas
Mar 31, 2014

Nice place

Stayed here for a day. Was real nice from the lobby all the way to the room. Location is great. Galleria a couple blocks away and lots of restaurants,bars, etc, etc all around you no need to drive too far. The only bad thing about the stay was the pool was temporary under construction but they offered us to go to the Sheraton to use their pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

3
Amanda Raee
Wichita , Kansas
Feb 19, 2014

Good getaway

When asking too have things brought too our room such as towels and or room service they aren't very prompt , parking was a joke there was no flat rate you had too pay each time you left and there was no close parking anywhere. But it was walking distance too the galleria which was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
Shumaila
Houston TX
Feb 17, 2014

Excellent Hotel

Hotel was very nice Well staffed. Helped us in every issue we came across

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
Taco Man
Austin, TX
Feb 5, 2014

one night in houston

One of the best experiences I have had at a hotel. Staff, upgrades, room, service...all fantastic. Got this hotel on a steal and the value just kept coming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

don't eat tooooo much at Carraba's

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

2
RBH3
Texas
Oct 22, 2013

weekend getaway

Let me start by saying the staff is friendly and polite. We booked a king and was given a double. After calling down to inform them of the mistake , we received a room that had open food packages left in the room. Then on Saturday and Sunday morning we were woke up to the sound of construction in the hotel at 7:30 am. Overall this was a horrible experience. Management offered one night of stay in the future for our two night we were there. I am not sure if I will be taking them up one this. Something I will need to think about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
mmalik
New York, NY
Oct 8, 2013

Best hotel I've stayed at--not just in Houston, but anywhere.

Staff is extraordinary--professional and polite at all times. Jonathan, the manager, upgraded me to a baron suite and allowed me to check-in early. When I called to ask for a late checkout at 1pm, they offered me a 2pm checkout. This hotel is superior to the Four Seasons, where I have stayed previously. I will never stay anywhere else when I visit Houston next time (I visit a few times per year). Keep up the great work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book a room on the executive floor, or granting access to the Executive club. Breakfast is excellent as is the evening happy hour.

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

3
Lea B Traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 23, 2013

Under Construction.

The whole front of the hotel was under renovation and blocked off. The only way to enter the hotel was around the back and through the parking garage. Each time you left you were stopped by a gate attendant. You had to walk around the hotel each time you came and left the building. Very inconvenient. I would not have booked here if I had known ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

3
VISITOR FROM LOUISIANA
Business
Munich, Germany
Sep 23, 2013

Weekend in Houston

Nice hotel in a good location, major renovations going on, at checkout they tried to charge again the prepaid amount to my credit card, same with free parking; the promised newspaper never arrived, somewhat annoying experience, otherwise, I enjoyed my stay. Maybe the employees are overworked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

1
Dr. J. W. Stucki
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 13, 2013

Worst stay ever

my assistant booked the room on this site and it called for a premier room. The front desk argued with me and said i only paid for a standard room. The room they put me in was 503, mini bar unplugged and empty, refreshment tray empty. I told my assistant to get me upgraded or moved to a different hotel. I paid 30 and got upgrade. site listed parking as free. hotel said we don't have self park right now and forced valet. in the now upgraded room no minibar, no refreshments and not even a bottle of water. I spent nearly two hours trying to get management and room service to bring me two bottles of water. leaving the hotel the next day was a treat too! they took me through a back route, construction everywhere and to a parking garage i had never seen. Terrible stay in every respect other than location! Dr. S.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
DarioSA
Texas
Sep 6, 2013

Great one night stay for rest

The room was clean and beds were really comfortable. Really refresh ourselves after a full day hanging out in the heat. Did not have time to check out the other amenities but they sounded great. Staff was helpful and service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Galeria shopping mall is just one block away. \

Back to menu Return to top