Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

1 star
6712 Morningside Drive, Houston, TX 77030
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
10 reviews
baseball getaway

the front desk clerk was just excellent, a very good experience, See full review

  • sam enchanted evening
  • Oct 1, 2013
This location was too perfect.

I wish I had been able to stay longer and explore more. This place is tucked into a residential... See full review

  • Nomadgrrl
  • Feb 22, 2014
Located near Texas Medical Center. Close to Rice University, downtown, Convention Center, shopping and restaurants.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Map

29.7072 -95.4154
Nearby airports
Hobby Airport, (HOU), 10.00, MI, SE; Bush/Intercontinental. Arpt., (IAH), 20.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, TX Medical Cntr

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.7 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 3.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.7 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 3.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 4.3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 4.4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.7 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 4.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.8 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.8 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.9 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9.3 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 10.9 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sam enchanted evening
Business
austin,texas
Oct 1, 2013

baseball getaway

the front desk clerk was just excellent, a very good experience,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

public transportation is very close by and excellent,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pacitty
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Dec 8, 2011

Houston Museums

This hotel has a fantastic location, only a couple miles from the museum district and the zoo. The room was clean and had much more than we were expecting for the price (mini kitchen with fridge, stove, even pots & pans!). When you look for cheaper hotels, you have to expect that the rooms will not be quite as nice as 5 star, fancy hotels. But if you want a place to stay that's conveniently located and is clean & comfortable, this is definitely the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam enchanted evening
Business
austin,texas
Apr 13, 2012

excellent reunion

The hotel is in the neighborhood where I grew up. The hotel is currently being remodeled but I still enjoyed my stay. The front desk person allowed me to check in early and that was very kind of her. Public transportation is near... bus and train both. My room was much larger than I expected and I enjoyed that very much. I plan on staying here again. The coffee and newspapers in the morning were just great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is very close to many types of restaurants and very easy to walk to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nelson Austin
Business
Austin, Texas
Sep 27, 2013

Location is great- Close to Rice & Medical Center

Good value in great location. The extra room, kitchen & refrigerator is a plus. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nomadgrrl
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 22, 2014

This location was too perfect.

I wish I had been able to stay longer and explore more. This place is tucked into a residential neighborhood. It was very quiet. This place was well within walking distance were some real good bars. This was very close to McGonigal's Mucky Duck, which is one reason I was in town, so I was very happy. The staff was meh. The room was awesome and comfortable with a kitchenette. Parking was minimal. And this was like a mile down the road from MD Anderson. Super good location. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dave MD
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 28, 2013

Medical Visit

The location is very close to the Houston Medical Center. That was one of my main considerations when I booked the hotel. It's located off of Holcombe Blvd. and Fannin. They are both major streets with many businesses, restaurants, stores etc. Having a kitchen with refrigerator, stove, microwave is a plus. I only stayed one night. On longer stays having a kitchen is very useful. The room I stayed in had a king bed, 32" flat screen TV. An arched wall partially separates the bedroom from a living room with a loveseat sleeper sofa. Also included was a work desk and a small dining table. The staff, I only met 1 person who seemed as though I had woke him up ringing the bell. Not professional at all. The so called breakfast offers coffee, 2 choices of cereal and a honey bun. Overall my stay was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many restaurants in a close proximity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
motorbike madness
Business
Oregon
May 8, 2013

just okay

works OK, nice to have kitchen; layout and furnishing a little awkward; staff generally diffident but responsive when poked

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bethannt
Business
Quanah
Jan 10, 2014

It will do

Meets basic needs and cost good when needing long stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ViolaLady
Business
NYC
Feb 11, 2014

needs more work

Clearly, the place has been renovated recently, but not very well. The kitchenette was poorly done, with paint chipping off the cabinets (notice: not wood stain...). The bed was okay, but there were weird stains on the sheets and the blanket was incredibly thin. There were also creepy stains on the ceiling. The shower was very nice, spacious, and had good water pressure. My shower was the best part of my stay. Needs decoration, maybe a painting or something to look at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chappie
Business
Colorado
Jul 31, 2011

Smelly

First of all, I'm a hostelling/camping/sleeping in my car kinda girl, but this place smelled like a dank, abandoned basement. Worst of all, I've washed my hair 3 times and I can't get the stink out. Also, I might have to burn my suitcase. The a/c worked really well and the carpet looked pretty new, but the room was dark, moldy, and dirty. There was an empty adjoining room with a mini-fridge (the "kitchen," I suppose). The bathroom had mold, but was not as bad as the room itself. The wireless was fast and not complicated at all. For those who care, the bed was hard, but as I said, that sort of thing isn't really a problem for me. Bottom line: I don't recommend staying here, but if there's nothing else available, you'll probably live.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top