$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Houston Downtown/Convention Center

3 stars
904 Dallas Street, 904 Dallas Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
7 reviews
Good hotel for business travel

Hotel was nice. Only complaint is it was a long wall to select activities around downtown. Clean,... See full review

  • Engineer and Supermom
  • Apr 8, 2013
Football Bowl game

very friendly staff and informative with local info. great location with the rail line close... See full review

  • demo lady
  • Jan 3, 2012
Housed in the stunning 1921 Humble Oil Building, the Residence Inn Houston Downtown hotel offers historical ambiance with modern conveniences. The main lobby features polished rose marble and original brass elevator doors but recently renovated Gatehouse & Breakfast area. Guests are welcomed with thoughtful amenities like secure, valet parking, a redesigned fitness center with extended hours and outdoor pool with lounge seating. Each of our pet-friendly suites include fully-equipped kitchens with recently updated stainless steel appliances, free WiFi, HD TVs and even a free grocery shopping service upon request . Our downtown Houston hotel is top-rated for our complimentary breakfast and evening social hours with drinks and snacks (weekdays). We are within walking distance or free shuttle ride to Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and Theater District. Or, ride on the Metro Light Rail to NRG Park, Toyota Center and Museum District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Houston Downtown/Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Jones Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.3 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.3 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.7 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.1 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.3 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.8 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 12.9 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.6 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.7 mi

Dining

Residence Inn Gatehouse
Our downtown Houston hotel serves a freshly-prepared complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily in the Gatehouse. Buffet offers a wide variety of options such as healthy yogurt, hearty oatmeal, indulgent Belgian waffles and much more.
The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner, beer and wine options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Snark06
Business
Plano, TX
Sep 20, 2010

A Motel 6 at Ritz-Carlton prices

I stayed at this hotel for a week on two separate occasions The beds are worn sag at the corners and the internet service is slow and spotty. In one room I stayed in the internet service didn't work at all and when I asked the otherwise cheerful and helpful staff to have it fixed. It was not repaired. The room price is exactly the same as that of the Hyatt on Louisiana but the amenities and comforts of the Hyatt far exceed that of this Marriott hotel which sits as a blot on the Marriott name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston tx
Feb 2, 2010

whatever

Were here for Toyota center preformances on a weekend. Most of the shops were closed. Limited food selections. Guest services had us guessing at the parking, food etc. Service was slack. The business center is in the middle of the entry way, one computer, at a stand-up table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Most are closed on the weekends. Hidden phone books. Staff do not have phone numbers for delivery services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
demo lady
Business
Long Beach, CA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Football Bowl game

very friendly staff and informative with local info. great location with the rail line close by. comfortable bed and love all the pillows! loved all the space, more space than the neighboring hotel. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

local steakhouse has a great happy hour. cheeseburger & fries for $3.00 and it was very good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Engineer and Supermom
Business
Bay Area, CA
Apr 8, 2013

Good hotel for business travel

Hotel was nice. Only complaint is it was a long wall to select activities around downtown. Clean, better amenities than listed on their site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tony's BBQ around the corner ( literally a 1 minute walk) had good BBQ. Try the brisket!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cove Point, Md.
Oct 19, 2009

October Visit to Houston

Within walking distance of Convention Center-makes this an excellent Hotel for Convention Center activities. Breakfast Buffet is excellent. Staff is very courteous. This is our 2nd visit-will definitely return next year if possible. Our only problem was that the Restaurant in adjacent Courtyard was not large enough to accomodate guest. A wait for dinner in the restaurant or room service was almost over an hour -actually ours arrived 1 1/2 hours later. There are other restaurants within a 2 block area-however many close in the evenings and are not as convenient as hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Be sure to take advantage of the "wonderful" breakfast buffet in the Residence Inn. You can't beat the price (free) and the quality (Great).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Mosey Mom
Business
WA
Aug 16, 2010

Great Downtown Hotel

The hotel was conveniently located near the convention center, shopping, and dining. The staff was very friendly and adhered to my request to do evening housekeeping or maintenance. I don't like the room accessed when my teen girls are there without me. Many hotels do not keep their promise on this one request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JonBoy64
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 18, 2012

Great Hotel

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights: a Friday and Saturday night, September 14 and 15, 2012. I found this to be a typical Residence Inn. A big room--mine with a queen sized bed, a full kitchen, and a sitting room with a sofa, chair, and foot stool. I had breakfast Saturday and Sunday mornings. And while I am pretty picky about what I eat (it is one of the primary reasons I stay at Residence Inns--I can stock my own food in the refrigerator and prepare it myself) I did have coffee, oatmeal with walnuts raisins and brown sugar. They also served eggs, sausage, potatoes, biscuits, other pasteries, juice and waffles and other things most people love. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. I faced the courtyard so I may have experienced a more quiet stay than others that have stayed in a non-courtyard-facing room. The view is probably more interesting, but the street noise may bother you—that is a trade-off that I, at least, can understand. Would I stay here again? Most definitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A Starbucks is immediately adjacent to the hotel--Starbuck lovers may appreciate this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top