$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Magnolia Hotel Houston

4 stars
1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
12 reviews
Great Boutique Hotel

What a classic hotel!! Love this place. Rooms and staff were exceptional. Will defiantly stay at... See full review

  • Brooklynmanny
  • May 12, 2014
Excellent Houston exploration epicenter

Our stay at the Magnolia was near perfect from check-in to check-out. I was a little worried when... See full review

  • Houston Explorer
  • Dec 31, 2013
Housed inside a tower built in 1926, which was formerly the Houston Post Dispatch newspaper building, the Magnolia Hotel was voted Best Boutique Hotel in Houston by the Houston Press in 2012. Retaining the grandeur of its glory days, renovations have not taken away the character of this building, and old-fashioned touches like velvet-draped windows collide amiably with contemporary fixtures, wireless Internet access, plush bedding, and bathtubs perfect for a long bubbly soak. Watch the sun cast orange hues over Houston as you take a dip in the rooftop pool at sunset, before dining inside The Lounge, where bookshelves line the walls, inviting you to sit and turn a few pages before bed.
Key facts
  • Billiards room with billiards table, 32-inch TV and special cocktails
  • Meeting space for events
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Rooftop pool
  • Complimentary buffet breakfast
  • 314 retro-modern guestrooms
  • Kitchenette with mini-bar and microwave in room
  • Restaurant: The Lounge
Neighborhood
Set in downtown Houston, the Magnolia is within walking distance of several major city attractions. The Majestic and Alley Theaters are a mere four blocks away for evening performances, while the George R. Brown Convention Center is only four blocks further on, where exhibitions take place regularly. Catch a game and soak in the atmosphere at The Minute Maid Park, home to the Astros baseball team, or check out other sporting events at the Toyota Center.
Hints and tips
  • If you are at the hotel bar at the right time of day, join other guests during the happy hour where guests receive two drinks, compliments of the house.
  • Don't bother calling a cab if you need to be somewhere in the downtown area, as the hotel's town car will be at your service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.759 -95.3616
Nearby airports
HOU- William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 11.00, MI, NE; IAH- George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 19.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Magnolia Hotel Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Magnolia Hotel Houston Rooms

5 Free Studio Suite Upgrade
Non-Smoking Studio Suite - 1 King Bed - 550 sq.ft. - High-Speed Internet - Hot Brkfst - desk
Room Amenities
Description not provided
1 King Room
Non-Smoking 1 King Bed - 400 sq.ft. - High-Speed Internet -Hot Brkfst Buffet - Exec. Work desk
3 Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking 2 Queen Beds - 400 sq.ft. - High-Speed Internet - Hot Brkfst Buffet - Desk
6 Studio Suite
Non-Smoking Studio Suite - 1 King Bed - 550 sq.ft. - High-Speed Internet - Hot Brkfst - desk
7 Executive Studio Suite
Non-Smoking Executive Studio - 1 King Bed - 550 sq.ft. - High-Speed Int. - Hot Brkfst -desk
8 Signature Suite
Non-Smoking 1Bdrm Suite - 1 King Bed - 700 sq.ft. - High-Speed Internet - Hot Brkfst - desk
9 Ross Sterling Presidential Sui
9 Ross Sterling Presidential Suite
2 Accessible King Room
Non-Smoking 1 King Bed - 400 sq.ft. - High-Speed Internet -Hot Brkfst Buffet - Exec. Work desk
4 Accessible Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking 2 Queen Beds - 400 sq.ft. - High-Speed Internet - Hot Brkfst Buffet - Desk

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Video checkout
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.2 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.8 mi

Dining

Complimentary Bed Time Cookie Buffet
Our traditional bed time cookies and milk buffet featuring fresh baked cookies and a variety of flavored milks are served in our comfortable club lounge. Relax in the club or retreat to the comforts of your room and indulge. 2000-2200 every night.
Complimentary Breakfast
Enjoy an American breakfast buffet featuring a daily signature hot egg dish; selection of breakfast meats and potatoes. Supplement your breakfast with a variety of bagels; muffins; a healthy variety of yogurts; and a selection of cereals and juices.
Complimentary Evening Reception
Guests enjoy complimentary domestic beer; house wine and soft drinks served in our club lounge. Relax and unwind with friends or just cozy up in our library and enjoy a good book. 1730-1830 every night.
Magnolia Bar
Cocktails and Light Fare
Magnolia Club
Swank and sophisticated; many guests admit our signature club lounge is cozier than their own living room. The Club is the gathering place where you can come to socialize and relax. The club features contemporary decor with plush seating arrangements.
Treebeards at the Cloister
Grab lunch in this unique setting of the social hall of Christ Church Cathedral directly across the street from Magnolia. To dine here is truly an experience worth the visit. The food is by Treebeards; who has been cooking mouth-watering fresh Southern.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (12)

Ratings and reviews for Magnolia Hotel Houston

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mindy79
Kirbyville, TX
May 26, 2014

Don't wake too early

Decent hotel. Not bad, but nothing to get excited about. Breakfast was okay, but don't expect coffee or tea if you wake before 7:00. This hotel's biggest redeeming feature is the free milk and cookies each night. If I want this quality of hotel again I'll stay at Best Western, where I can get hot coffee all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brooklynmanny
Houston
May 12, 2014

Great Boutique Hotel

What a classic hotel!! Love this place. Rooms and staff were exceptional. Will defiantly stay at The Magnolia Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Located close to great dining short walk or they have a shuttle to near by places.

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston Explorer
San Francisco, California
Dec 31, 2013

Excellent Houston exploration epicenter

Our stay at the Magnolia was near perfect from check-in to check-out. I was a little worried when we checked-in and there was a log jam at the front desk. Thankfully the staff quickly responded to the numerous customers and sent reinforcements to help expedite the process. I have to say the happy-hour, breakfast, and cookies & milk made our stay worth the price. Each of these perks made our stay comfortable and delicious. The staff working at the happy hour were friendly and diligent. They were remarkably positive and clearly were concerned about the customers. The breakfast had a wide range of variety and truly was a complete breakfast (not the typical box of cereal and bad instant coffee). We needed a place to park our car each night and read on previous reviews that the valet was pricey and time consuming. We chose to park our car ourselves in the lot behind the hotel each night for $18.00. Sunday night we parked our car on the street because meters were not enforced until the AM. It is clear from our stay that this part of the downtown is growing with restaurants and other hotels. Two of the nights we ate dinner at a restaurant two-three blocks from the hotel. Both restaurants were satisfying. I knew nothing about the Magnolia before making my reservation. After returning home I can report the Magnolia is well worth the price of admission!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Flying Saucer Pub

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John 60
Leavenworth, Kansas
Dec 28, 2013

Great holiday visit

I thought the hotel was great and the staff was friendly and did everything they could to provide and enjoyable stay. Our room was beautiful and the location was very convenient for a visit with our daughter. I thought the happy hour and evening cookies events were very nice add ons to all the other things the hotel provided. This will be our choice for future stays in Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rahman
Alexandria,VA
Jun 5, 2013

excellent ,comfortable

fantastic service ,good location,great value for price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jonathan C
Houston
May 30, 2013

Great

Magnolia was great for us since we were Downtown for a concert. Easy walking distance from Bayou Music Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telperion
Business
Washington DC
Apr 2, 2013

Great business travel stay

The staff was great, hotel was beautiful and restaurant was fantastic. Extra touches like milk and cookies in the evening and breakfast in the morning added to value of stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shoucheng
searcy arkansas
Nov 25, 2012

very good hotel

I think the magnolia hotel is very good,the only thing that you should remember is that you should take the tooth brush with you~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L123C123
San Antonio, TX
Jul 9, 2012

Overall good experience except...

Everything was great at the hotel; however, there was an issue I had. There was only one high chair on the second floor and it seemed that a few families were irritated by that. Since there were three or four families with babies and no high chairs, my wife asked the staff , a woman who was busing the tables, and she kindly went to the manager to ask if there were more high chairs. My wife overheard the manager tell her he didn't have time to look for more and he had other things he had to do. My wife was upset. Put some more high chairs on the 2nd floor please!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ninfas mexican restaurant can be accessed by complimentary shuttle

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philip77346
Houston, TX
Jun 26, 2012

Perfect option

Everything was great...nice room with plenty of space, nice amenities, nice pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top