$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Magnolia Hotel Houston

4 stars
View map of 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
21 reviews
Valentines

Classy and elegant. Great weekend get away and awesome location in downtown Houston! See full review

  • Timothy M.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Very Nice.

Every part of this hotel was quite nice. From rooms to employees. See full review

  • Mike804
  • Nov 1, 2014
Housed inside a tower built in 1926, which was formerly the Houston Post Dispatch newspaper building, the Magnolia Hotel was voted Best Boutique Hotel in Houston by the Houston Press in 2012. Retaining the grandeur of its glory days, renovations have not taken away the character of this building, and old-fashioned touches like velvet-draped windows collide amiably with contemporary fixtures, wireless Internet access, plush bedding, and bathtubs perfect for a long bubbly soak. Watch the sun cast orange hues over Houston as you take a dip in the rooftop pool at sunset, before dining inside The Lounge, where bookshelves line the walls, inviting you to sit and turn a few pages before bed.
Key facts
  • Billiards room with billiards table, 32-inch TV and special cocktails
  • Meeting space for events
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Rooftop pool
  • Complimentary buffet breakfast
  • 314 retro-modern guestrooms
  • Kitchenette with mini-bar and microwave in room
  • Restaurant: The Lounge
Neighborhood
Set in downtown Houston, the Magnolia is within walking distance of several major city attractions. The Majestic and Alley Theaters are a mere four blocks away for evening performances, while the George R. Brown Convention Center is only four blocks further on, where exhibitions take place regularly. Catch a game and soak in the atmosphere at The Minute Maid Park, home to the Astros baseball team, or check out other sporting events at the Toyota Center.
Hints and tips
  • If you are at the hotel bar at the right time of day, join other guests during the happy hour where guests receive two drinks, compliments of the house.
  • Don't bother calling a cab if you need to be somewhere in the downtown area, as the hotel's town car will be at your service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Magnolia Hotel Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Magnolia Hotel Houston Rooms

2 Queen Beds
2 QUEEN BEDS- 400 SQFT- FREE WIFI-BRKFST BUFFET FREE HAPPY HOUR-BEDTIME COOKIE BUFFET-HOTEL CAR
King Room
KING - 400 SQFT - FREE WIFI-BRKFST BUFFET FREE HAPPY HOUR-BEDTIME COOKIE BUFFET-HOTEL CAR
Accessible 2 Queen Beds
HC DBL QUEEN-400 SQFT-FREE WIFI-BRKFST BUFFET FREE HAPPY HOUR-BEDTIME COOKIE BUFFET-HOTEL CAR
Accessible King Room
HC KING - 400 SQFT -FREE WIFI-BRKFST BUFFET FREE HAPPY HOUR-BEDTIME COOKIE BUFFET-HOTEL CAR
Studio Suite
STUDIO KING- 550 SQFT- KITCHENETTE- FREE WIFI FREE BKFST BUFFET-HAPPY HR-COOKIES-HOTEL CAR
Executive Floor Studio Suite
EXEC FL KING SUITE-550 SQFT- PVT ACCESS KITCHENETTE-FREE WIFI-BRKFST BUFFET-HAPPY HR
Signature Suite
SIGNATURE KING SUITE- 700 SQFT -FULL KITCHEN LIVING ROOM- FREE WIFI- BRKFST BUFFET- HAPPY HR

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.2 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.8 mi

Dining

Complimentary Evening Reception
Guests enjoy complimentary domestic beer house wine and soft drinks served in our club lounge. Relax and unwind with friends or just cozy up in our library and enjoy a good book. 1730-1830 every night.
Complimentary Bed Time Cookie Buffet
Our traditional bed time cookies and milk buffet featuring fresh baked cookies and a variety of flavored milks are served in our comfortable club lounge. Relax in the club or retreat to the comforts of your room and indulge. 2000-2200 every night.
Magnolia Bar
Cocktails and Light Fare
The Lounge at Magnolia
Swank and sophisticated many guests admit our signature club lounge is cozier than their own living room. The Club is the gathering place where you can come to socialize and relax. The club features contemporary decor with plush seating arrangements w
Treebeards at the Cloister
Grab lunch in this unique setting of the social hall of Christ Church Cathedral directly across the street from Magnolia. To dine here is truly an experience worth the visit. The food is by Treebeards who has been has been cooking mouth-watering fresh
Complimentary Breakfast
Enjoy an American breakfast buffet featuring a daily signature hot egg dish selection of breakfast meats and potatoes. Supplement your breakfast with a variety of bagels muffins a healthy variety of yogurts and a selection of cereals and juices. 0
III Forks
Discover the finest USDA Prime steak ocean-fresh seafood and lobster prepared to perfection.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Magnolia Hotel Houston

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L123C123
San Antonio, TX
Jul 9, 2012

Overall good experience except...

Everything was great at the hotel; however, there was an issue I had. There was only one high chair on the second floor and it seemed that a few families were irritated by that. Since there were three or four families with babies and no high chairs, my wife asked the staff , a woman who was busing the tables, and she kindly went to the manager to ask if there were more high chairs. My wife overheard the manager tell her he didn't have time to look for more and he had other things he had to do. My wife was upset. Put some more high chairs on the 2nd floor please!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ninfas mexican restaurant can be accessed by complimentary shuttle

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mindy79
Business
Kirbyville, TX
May 26, 2014

Don't wake too early

Decent hotel. Not bad, but nothing to get excited about. Breakfast was okay, but don't expect coffee or tea if you wake before 7:00. This hotel's biggest redeeming feature is the free milk and cookies each night. If I want this quality of hotel again I'll stay at Best Western, where I can get hot coffee all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rachel C.
Business
Izoro, TX
Nov 18, 2014

sadly disappointed

The hotel itaelft is super nice. The room was clean and the view was awesome. The happy hour, that consists of two free drinks can only be chosen from three options so keep that in mind. I personally wasn't disappointed because one of the three options was Shiner. Valet service was ridiculously slow during check out so don't have to go anywhere in a hurry. Someone decided to charge $100 more to my room and the dispute afterwards is what has made me decide to not stay there again. It took way too long to resolve the issue and the hotel staff was more accusatory than apologetic about the situation. Which is sad because I had enjoyed my stay up until that point. Lastly use the "Do not disturb" sign or else the maid will come knocking at 1000 even if the check out isn't til 1100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Reef is a nearby restaurant try the fried Mac and cheese it is amazing!!! The F Bar is super fun, great location, good drinks and cheap valet! $10 :)

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lt get away
Business
houston,texas
Oct 27, 2014

Hotel review

Nice Disappointed never stayed at 4 star with just basic channels. Ice not on same floor over night parking to expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston Explorer
Business
San Francisco, California
Dec 31, 2013

Excellent Houston exploration epicenter

Our stay at the Magnolia was near perfect from check-in to check-out. I was a little worried when we checked-in and there was a log jam at the front desk. Thankfully the staff quickly responded to the numerous customers and sent reinforcements to help expedite the process. I have to say the happy-hour, breakfast, and cookies & milk made our stay worth the price. Each of these perks made our stay comfortable and delicious. The staff working at the happy hour were friendly and diligent. They were remarkably positive and clearly were concerned about the customers. The breakfast had a wide range of variety and truly was a complete breakfast (not the typical box of cereal and bad instant coffee). We needed a place to park our car each night and read on previous reviews that the valet was pricey and time consuming. We chose to park our car ourselves in the lot behind the hotel each night for $18.00. Sunday night we parked our car on the street because meters were not enforced until the AM. It is clear from our stay that this part of the downtown is growing with restaurants and other hotels. Two of the nights we ate dinner at a restaurant two-three blocks from the hotel. Both restaurants were satisfying. I knew nothing about the Magnolia before making my reservation. After returning home I can report the Magnolia is well worth the price of admission!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Flying Saucer Pub

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corner
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 16, 2012

Location I needed

I have done business at the hotel before but this was the first time staying there. Great location, right in the middle of downtown. Near the Minute Maid baseball park, across the street from restaurants and casual bars to have drinks in with friends or clients. Great staff, very friendly and on the spot. I had a king suite with a mini fridge and a little extra room (550sqft). Very comfortable, very convenient, very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The street the hotel is on, Texas Ave, has several kinds of restaurants. From sushi to high end steak, with sandwiches in between. Great spot to walk a block or two for all kinds of food/dining.

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philip77346
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 26, 2012

Perfect option

Everything was great...nice room with plenty of space, nice amenities, nice pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telperion
Business
Washington DC
Apr 2, 2013

Great business travel stay

The staff was great, hotel was beautiful and restaurant was fantastic. Extra touches like milk and cookies in the evening and breakfast in the morning added to value of stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jonathan C
Business
Houston
May 30, 2013

Great

Magnolia was great for us since we were Downtown for a concert. Easy walking distance from Bayou Music Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rahman
Business
Alexandria,VA
Jun 5, 2013

excellent ,comfortable

fantastic service ,good location,great value for price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top