Magnolia Hotel Houston ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$214
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 13, 2016 Check-out: Feb 15, 2016
4.2 /5
Overall score
83%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

Housed inside a tower built in 1926, which was formerly the Houston Post Dispatch newspaper building, the Magnolia Hotel was voted Best Boutique Hotel in Houston by the Houston Press in 2012. Retaining the grandeur of its glory days, renovations have not taken away the character of this building and old fashioned touches like the windows draped in velvet combine with contemporary fixtures, wireless internet access, plush bedding and amazing bathtubs for a long bubbly soak. Watch the sun cast orange hues over Houston as you take a dip in the rooftop pool at sunset, before dining inside The Lounge, where bookshelves line the walls, inviting you to sit and turn a few pages before bed.

Property features

aaaaaa

Highlights

Key facts

Billiards room with billiards table, 32-inch TV and special cocktails

Meeting space for events

Free wireless Internet access

24-hour fitness center

Rooftop pool

Complimentary buffet breakfast

314 retro-modern guest rooms

Kitchenette with mini-bar and microwave in room

Restaurant: The Lounge

Hints and tips

If you are at the hotel bar at the right time of day, you can join other guests during the happy hour where you will get two drinks on the house. Also be sure to try out the cookie and milk bar for a sweet bedtime snack it s an excellent treat to end your day. Don t bother calling a cab if you need to be somewhere in the downtown area, as the hotel s town car will be at your service.

Nearby attractions

Neighborhood

Set in downtown Houston, the Magnolia is within walking distance of several major city attractions. The Majestic and Alley theaters are a mere four blocks away for evening performances, while the George R. Brown Convention Center is only four blocks further on, where exhibitions take place regularly. Catch a game and soak in the atmosphere at The Minute Maid Park, home to baseball team the Astros, or see more sports at the Toyota Center.

Dining

Complimentary Evening Reception
Enjoy complimentary domestic beer house wine and soft drinks served in our club lounge. 530pm-630pm every night
Complimentary Bed Time Cookie Buffet
Our nightly cookies and milk buffet featuring fresh baked cookies and a variety of flavored milks are served in our club lounge. Relax in the club or retreat to the comforts of your room and indulge. 8pm-10pm every night.
Magnolia Bar
Cocktails and Light Fare
The Lounge at Magnolia
Swank and sophisticated many guests admit our signature club lounge is cozier than their own living room. The Club is the gathering place where you can come to socialize and relax. The club features contemporary decor with plush seating arrangements w
Treebeards at the Cloister
Grab lunch in this unique setting of the social hall of Christ Church Cathedral directly across the street from Magnolia. To dine here is truly an experience worth the visit. The food is by Treebeards who has been has been cooking mouth-watering fresh
Complimentary Breakfast
Enjoy an American breakfast buffet featuring a selection of hot entrees plus a variety of bagels muffins yogurts cereals and juices. 6am-9am on weekdays. 7am-10am on weekends.
III Forks
Discover the finest USDA Prime steak ocean-fresh seafood and lobster prepared to perfection.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.8 / 5
$109
Guest score 4.4 / 5
$119
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$139
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$135
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$129

Amenities

Featured

  • Free breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • Air conditioned
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Elevators
  • Executive level
  • FEMA approved

Activities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness Center
  • Jacuzzi
  • Golf

Dining

  • Free breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Coffee maker in room
  • Coffee shop
  • Room service

Services

  • 24 hour front desk
  • Business center
  • Maid service
  • Laundry service
  • Guest laundromat
  • Express checkout
  • Concierge desk
  • ATM/Cash machine
  • Security
  • Wake-up service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Porters
  • Conference facilities
  • Audio visual equipment
  • Conference suite

Parking

  • Parking
  • Valet parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities
  • Accessible parking

Room

  • Television with cable
  • Radio
  • Cordless phone
  • Safe
  • Phone with speaker
  • Telephone
  • AM/FM alarm clock
  • Desk with lamp
  • Mini bar
  • Hairdryer in room
  • In room movies
  • Temperature control
  • Electronic door locks
  • Iron
  • Ironing board
  • Sprinklers in rooms

Reviews

4.2 /5 Overall score

83% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.7/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.3/5
  • Comfort: 4.5/5
  • Location: 4.4/5
  • Value: 4/5

A Mixed Bag

Would not recommend Wed, Oct 28, 2015
The Magnolia Hotel ranks very well on some key items (1) the location in downtown Houston is convenient to many offices, the opera house, symphony hall, Alley Theater, and upscale River Oaks (2) the rooms are spacious and comfortable and (3) a good breakfast buffet is provided free. However the hotel has limited room service and no restaurant--particularly awkward on Sunday when most restaurants in the neighborhood are closed. Also it charges significant fees for both parking and wifi. Altogether, an experience below the standard I expected from a 4- or 5-star hotel.

| Dallas Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Friendly and accomodating

Would recommend Sun, Oct 25, 2015
Great staff. I arrived at midnight, starving and room service had just ended for the day. The staff quickly found a few items for me. Everyone I encountered during my stay greeted me and acted with urgency when I asked for help. Rooms, beds, bath all very comfortable and pleasantly soundproof.

| houston Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Last Minute Anniversary Getaway

Would recommend Tue, Oct 13, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at the Magnolia. I was slightly disappointed that the hotel, while updated, did not seem to retain any of the charm I had expected from a hotel with this many years under it's belt. We were within walking distance of the Alley Theatre where we caught a show. We were able to walk down to a fantastic restaurant to have dinner. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was helpful and pleasant and we were thrilled with the option to order breakfast the night before that was delivered on time the next morning. Only real complaint was that while the breakfast was punctual, I wasn't too thrilled with my waffles. Personally, mine are better! ) Overall, fantastic experience.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Valentines

Would recommend Wed, Feb 18, 2015
Classy and elegant. Great weekend get away and awesome location in downtown Houston!

| Magnolia Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great hotel

Would recommend Mon, Feb 9, 2015
I stayed at the Magnolia twice while moving to Houston. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, the free breakfast and complimentary happy hour are a great value, and my daughter loved the evening milk and cookies. A great hotel for the cost.

| Paradise Valley Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Very Nice.

Would recommend Sat, Nov 1, 2014
Every part of this hotel was quite nice. From rooms to employees.

| Viginia Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Hotel review

Would not recommend Mon, Oct 27, 2014
Nice Disappointed never stayed at 4 star with just basic channels. Ice not on same floor over night parking to expensive

| houston,texas Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Beautiful get a way in downtown Houston

Would recommend Mon, Sep 8, 2014
I love old hotels and this building is impressive. Classic but still modern and clean and up to date. The pool on the roof is one of the coolest in Houston. Small, but just perfect for lounging and looking out at the vastness of Houston. The breakfast is excellent. The cocktail hour is a nice bonus and the cookie buffet is out of this world. I also loved the oval tub, and the pillows on my king size bed were even nicer than the ones I sleep on at home. Which is all I ask. Was bummed that they took the RT channel off their TV's but whatever. I watched NHK. This is THE SPOT.

Entertainment hint

Walk to La Carafe, the oldest bar in Houston and have a drink. It's beautiful and historic.

| Austin, TX Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Solid

Would recommend Tue, Jul 29, 2014
Was only there for a short time but enjoyed the stay. Pool is small but wasn't too crowded. Not much of a night life... but that is more about the city than the hotel.

Nightlife hint

Only nearby bar we could find worth visiting was the Flying Saucer

| Washington DC Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Updated Older hotel

Would recommend Sun, Jul 13, 2014
The room was comfy- nice beds and bath. A/C was OK but barely kept up with Houston heat. Location for downtown was good and priced very well. Would recommend for someone looking to go to ball park etc.

Dining

Irmas Southwest Grill- great spot

| detroit mich Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Christ Church Cathedral 0 mi
Jones Hall 0.2 mi
Market Square Park 0.3 mi
Alley Theatre 0.3 mi
Houston Grand Opera 0.4 mi
Hobby Center for the Performing Arts 0.5 mi
Toyota Center 0.5 mi
Sam Houston Park 0.6 mi
BBVA Compass Stadium 0.7 mi
Hofheinz Pavilion 2.5 mi
Robertson Stadium 2.7 mi
The Menil Collection 2.7 mi
Corbin J. Robertson Stadium 2.7 mi
Holocaust Museum Houston 2.8 mi
Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden 2.8 mi
The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden 2.8 mi
Children's Museum of Houston 2.9 mi
Museum of Fine Arts 2.9 mi
Houston Museum of Natural Science 3.1 mi
Miller Outdoor Theatre 3.2 mi
Houston Zoo 3.4 mi
Hermann Park 3.5 mi
Beer Can House 3.5 mi
Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens 3.5 mi
Rice University Trail 3.9 mi
Rice Stadium 4.2 mi
Houston Arboretum and Nature Center 5.4 mi
Minute Maid Park 5.6 mi
Reliant Stadium 5.9 mi
Water Wall 6.2 mi
Houston Symphony 7.4 mi
Houston Chinatown 12.9 mi
Cockrell Butterfly Garden 13.2 mi
Discovery Garden 17.8 mi
Wortham Center 18.8 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 03:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$214
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2016 Check-out: Feb 15, 2016