$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Magnolia Hotel Houston

4 stars
View map of 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
21 reviews
Valentines

Classy and elegant. Great weekend get away and awesome location in downtown Houston! See full review

  • Timothy M.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Very Nice.

Every part of this hotel was quite nice. From rooms to employees. See full review

  • Mike804
  • Nov 1, 2014

Top hotels

Magnolia Hotel Houston Rooms

2 Queen Beds
2 QUEEN BEDS- 400 SQFT- FREE WIFI-BRKFST BUFFET FREE HAPPY HOUR-BEDTIME COOKIE BUFFET-HOTEL CAR
King Room
KING - 400 SQFT - FREE WIFI-BRKFST BUFFET FREE HAPPY HOUR-BEDTIME COOKIE BUFFET-HOTEL CAR
Accessible 2 Queen Beds
HC DBL QUEEN-400 SQFT-FREE WIFI-BRKFST BUFFET FREE HAPPY HOUR-BEDTIME COOKIE BUFFET-HOTEL CAR
Accessible King Room
HC KING - 400 SQFT -FREE WIFI-BRKFST BUFFET FREE HAPPY HOUR-BEDTIME COOKIE BUFFET-HOTEL CAR
Studio Suite
STUDIO KING- 550 SQFT- KITCHENETTE- FREE WIFI FREE BKFST BUFFET-HAPPY HR-COOKIES-HOTEL CAR
Executive Floor Studio Suite
EXEC FL KING SUITE-550 SQFT- PVT ACCESS KITCHENETTE-FREE WIFI-BRKFST BUFFET-HAPPY HR
Signature Suite
SIGNATURE KING SUITE- 700 SQFT -FULL KITCHEN LIVING ROOM- FREE WIFI- BRKFST BUFFET- HAPPY HR

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.2 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.8 mi

Dining

Complimentary Evening Reception
Guests enjoy complimentary domestic beer house wine and soft drinks served in our club lounge. Relax and unwind with friends or just cozy up in our library and enjoy a good book. 1730-1830 every night.
Complimentary Bed Time Cookie Buffet
Our traditional bed time cookies and milk buffet featuring fresh baked cookies and a variety of flavored milks are served in our comfortable club lounge. Relax in the club or retreat to the comforts of your room and indulge. 2000-2200 every night.
Magnolia Bar
Cocktails and Light Fare
The Lounge at Magnolia
Swank and sophisticated many guests admit our signature club lounge is cozier than their own living room. The Club is the gathering place where you can come to socialize and relax. The club features contemporary decor with plush seating arrangements w
Treebeards at the Cloister
Grab lunch in this unique setting of the social hall of Christ Church Cathedral directly across the street from Magnolia. To dine here is truly an experience worth the visit. The food is by Treebeards who has been has been cooking mouth-watering fresh
Complimentary Breakfast
Enjoy an American breakfast buffet featuring a daily signature hot egg dish selection of breakfast meats and potatoes. Supplement your breakfast with a variety of bagels muffins a healthy variety of yogurts and a selection of cereals and juices. 0
III Forks
Discover the finest USDA Prime steak ocean-fresh seafood and lobster prepared to perfection.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Magnolia Hotel Houston

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston Explorer
San Francisco, California
Dec 31, 2013

Excellent Houston exploration epicenter

Our stay at the Magnolia was near perfect from check-in to check-out. I was a little worried when we checked-in and there was a log jam at the front desk. Thankfully the staff quickly responded to the numerous customers and sent reinforcements to help expedite the process. I have to say the happy-hour, breakfast, and cookies & milk made our stay worth the price. Each of these perks made our stay comfortable and delicious. The staff working at the happy hour were friendly and diligent. They were remarkably positive and clearly were concerned about the customers. The breakfast had a wide range of variety and truly was a complete breakfast (not the typical box of cereal and bad instant coffee). We needed a place to park our car each night and read on previous reviews that the valet was pricey and time consuming. We chose to park our car ourselves in the lot behind the hotel each night for $18.00. Sunday night we parked our car on the street because meters were not enforced until the AM. It is clear from our stay that this part of the downtown is growing with restaurants and other hotels. Two of the nights we ate dinner at a restaurant two-three blocks from the hotel. Both restaurants were satisfying. I knew nothing about the Magnolia before making my reservation. After returning home I can report the Magnolia is well worth the price of admission!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Flying Saucer Pub

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Timothy M.
Business
Magnolia
Feb 18, 2015

Valentines

Classy and elegant. Great weekend get away and awesome location in downtown Houston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B.P.R.
Business
Paradise Valley
Feb 9, 2015

Great hotel

I stayed at the Magnolia twice while moving to Houston. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, the free breakfast and complimentary happy hour are a great value, and my daughter loved the evening milk and cookies. A great hotel for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rachel C.
Business
Izoro, TX
Nov 18, 2014

sadly disappointed

The hotel itaelft is super nice. The room was clean and the view was awesome. The happy hour, that consists of two free drinks can only be chosen from three options so keep that in mind. I personally wasn't disappointed because one of the three options was Shiner. Valet service was ridiculously slow during check out so don't have to go anywhere in a hurry. Someone decided to charge $100 more to my room and the dispute afterwards is what has made me decide to not stay there again. It took way too long to resolve the issue and the hotel staff was more accusatory than apologetic about the situation. Which is sad because I had enjoyed my stay up until that point. Lastly use the "Do not disturb" sign or else the maid will come knocking at 1000 even if the check out isn't til 1100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Reef is a nearby restaurant try the fried Mac and cheese it is amazing!!! The F Bar is super fun, great location, good drinks and cheap valet! $10 :)

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike804
Business
Viginia
Nov 1, 2014

Very Nice.

Every part of this hotel was quite nice. From rooms to employees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lt get away
Business
houston,texas
Oct 27, 2014

Hotel review

Nice Disappointed never stayed at 4 star with just basic channels. Ice not on same floor over night parking to expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pushermania
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 8, 2014

Beautiful get a way in downtown Houston

I love old hotels and this building is impressive. Classic but still modern and clean and up to date. The pool on the roof is one of the coolest in Houston. Small, but just perfect for lounging and looking out at the vastness of Houston. The breakfast is excellent. The cocktail hour is a nice bonus and the cookie buffet is out of this world. I also loved the oval tub, and the pillows on my king size bed were even nicer than the ones I sleep on at home. Which is all I ask. Was bummed that they took the RT channel off their TV's but whatever. I watched NHK. This is THE SPOT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to La Carafe, the oldest bar in Houston and have a drink. It's beautiful and historic.

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PBVogel
Business
Washington DC
Jul 29, 2014

Solid

Was only there for a short time but enjoyed the stay. Pool is small but wasn't too crowded. Not much of a night life... but that is more about the city than the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Only nearby bar we could find worth visiting was the Flying Saucer

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
avalonandl
Business
detroit mich
Jul 13, 2014

Updated Older hotel

The room was comfy- nice beds and bath. A/C was OK but barely kept up with Houston heat. Location for downtown was good and priced very well. Would recommend for someone looking to go to ball park etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Irmas Southwest Grill- great spot

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Aunt Shell
Business
Canyon Lake, TX
Jul 12, 2014

Relaxing Getaway

Very quick - easy commute while visiting family at the medical center. Our room was very clean, bed was comfortable, absolutely loved the roof top pool and breakfast was wonderful. The only thing I did not like was the required valet parking for $28. I would prefer self parking. Otherwise I would highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to the Medical Center

Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mindy79
Business
Kirbyville, TX
May 26, 2014

Don't wake too early

Decent hotel. Not bad, but nothing to get excited about. Breakfast was okay, but don't expect coffee or tea if you wake before 7:00. This hotel's biggest redeeming feature is the free milk and cookies each night. If I want this quality of hotel again I'll stay at Best Western, where I can get hot coffee all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top