$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest

3 stars
11130 Northwest Fwy, 11130 Northwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77092
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
88 reviews
Just what you need

Clean room, super friendly staff, sparkly pool and safe parking...walkable food choices as well.... See full review

  • TravelerNurae
  • Jun 13, 2014
Great Place

This was an awesome place to stay. The hotel was great, breakfast was very good. Walk to nearby... See full review

  • Les and more
  • May 13, 2013
The La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest was named a 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award winner! NEW! Samsung Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics. For the best value and best location, stay at the La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest, just minutes from the Galleria Mall. In just a short drive, reach NASA Johnson Space Center, the Kemah Boardwalk, and the Gulf Beaches of Galveston. For events at George Brown Convention Center, Minute Maid Stadium, Toyota Center, and Baseball USA, this is the place to stay. We are about 10 miles from the University of Houston and Rice University. All rooms have interior corridor access and come with free high-speed Internet access, comfortable pillow-top mattresses, and much more. Fax/copy services available at the 24-hour front desk. Start your day with an extensive Free Bright Side BreakfastTM. Afterward, head out to the refreshing year-round outdoor pool or work out in the fitness center. We have bus, RV, and truck parking available and laundry facilities for our guests, so book as many rooms as you want and stay as long as you like! We are conveniently located off I-290, eight miles from downtown. We are a mile from the Brookhollow Business Park, ExxonMobil, and Cooper Industries.

Hotel Map

29.8185 -95.4683
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 21.00, MI, NE; William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 22.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 3.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 4.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 5.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.4 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 7 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 7.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 7.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 7.2 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 7.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 7.4 mi
  • Market Square Park: 7.4 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 7.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 7.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 3.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 4.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 5.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.4 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 7 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 7.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 7.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 7.2 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 7.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 7.4 mi
  • Market Square Park: 7.4 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 7.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 7.9 mi
  • Toyota Center: 7.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 7.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 7.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 8.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 8.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 8.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 8.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 8.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 8.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 8.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.6 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 9.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 9.8 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 9.8 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 9.8 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 9.9 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 10.3 mi
  • Wortham Center: 11.2 mi

Dining

Pappadeaux
Seafood
Pappasitos
Mexican
Joe s Crab Shack
Seafood
Tony s
Continental
Olive Garden
Italian
Denny s
American
Black Eyed Pea
American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Terry Fletcher
Bismarck, ND
Jun 2, 2014

It was ok...

The services were great. Real friendly folks, and they were willing to assist me when I made request. The only downside is the mattress did not work for my girlfriend and myself. We found it hard to sleep on, and experienced back pain from laying on the mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gender
Texas
Jun 8, 2014

Did the job

Just average. Lots of construction. Not an easy access

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mystery guest
Business
Houston
Jan 20, 2012

A Good Stay

The staff was very friendly and the room was fine. The fan rattled in the bathroom and the staff promised to replace it. The breakfast was minimal--cereal, waffles, muffins, juice and coffee. It was a nice stay for the price. I would recommend it to a friend as such. Houston Happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reese
Business
El Paso, TX
Jun 10, 2012

Hard to find if you don't know the area

Set back off the road quite a bit behind a Sonic restaurant, it's easy for newcomers to miss this hotel. It's in the newer La Quinta style with interior hallways instead of the exterior corridors more reminiscent of a Motel 6. The staff was pleasant enough and the lobby was kept very clean, but the carpet in the room was like a Rorschach test of stains and basically needs to be replaced. I was told that there were no refrigerators available (necessary for some medicine I take with me), but later found out suites were available with refrigerators. You'd think they would have mentioned them and the upgrade cost (though an ice chest purchased at a nearby Walmart solved the issue for me for the duration of the stay). The housekeeping was uneven. For example, some days they would make the bed with the bedspread and other days they left the bedspread wherever I happened to toss it. The ironing board and iron were left out to cool off yet they didn't put them away. There was no shampoo in the room the first night but appeared each day afterwards without my having to ask. The free breakfast is a diabetic nightmare -- sugary cereals, sugary yogurt, pastries, etc. There were hard boiled eggs but that was about it. Fortunately there's a Denny's practically in walking distance on the other side of the 290 overpass. I also found the Luby's in the shopping center across the street and in the same overall parking lot is the terrific Jason's deli. Using back roads I managed to avoid Houston's notorious highway traffic and made it doorstep to doorstep to my office in under 15 minutes. For that reason I'll likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike the landscaper
Business
Austin, Texas
Apr 2, 2013

Nice place and Great Staff at Front Desk

Do not let the fact that the hotel is located at 34th and HWY 290 scare you away if you want to be in that area for work or because you prefer La Quinta because the bad places that were around it a year ago are no longer. They are not only out of business, two places were torn down. The hotel is as nice as any other La Quinta I have stayed at that charge $40 to $50 more per night. I have stayed there 6 nights over a 3 week period and check in takes a minute and the staff up front is great. I put that card on my pillow when I leave in the morning to come back to fresh sheets. The bed and pillows are the most important thing to me when I book a room and its perfect. There is also a Jason's Deli that takes a minute to walk to (it closes at 9pm) and a Sonic 20 feet away. The walk is safe because Jason's Deli has an armed police officer inside that will walk you to your car, I have seen police cars in the parking lot between the hotel and deli every time (eating donuts) and I see the same guy dressed in street clothes sitting on a bench and looks like a business traveler but I suspect he is security packing heat. Never had a parking issue even when they are booked which is nice. I'm not a big breakfast eater but they could probably do a little better job and offer granola bars and the coffee cups are 6 ounces Max and they need to be bigger like most hotel's. Overall, thumbs up for me. Mike W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mississippi traveler
Picayune, MS, USA
Sep 28, 2011

great place needs maintanence

Bed was super comfortable but the mirror almost fell off the bathroom door, the carpet could have cleaner, and the toilet ran severly the first night. The staff was pretty good but the breakfast was horrible. Great place for the price and location is Awsome too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Dec 26, 2010

Excellent Accommodation and Service

Hotel is neat, great rooms and customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Benito, Texas
Jun 13, 2011

Great price, great place

My trip to Houston was awesome and the La Quinta just added to that awesome experience. The hotel was near Minute Maid Park. The hotel was clean and well kept. I have had the luck to stay at not so good hotels but this was a great one to stay at and that price was unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is nicely situated in the city where all the city's attractions are close.

Review of La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Benito, Texas
Jun 13, 2011

Great price, great place

My trip to Houston was awesome and the La Quinta just added to that awesome experience. The hotel was near Minute Maid Park. The hotel was clean and well kept. I have had the luck to stay at not so good hotels but this was a great one to stay at and that price was unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is nicely situated in the city where all the city's attractions are close.

Review of La Quinta Inn Houston Northwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Smalltown, TX
May 29, 2011

Good Choice

The hotel was very good. Shopping and eating establishments were close at hand. The room was clean and breakfast adequate. Personally, I would add a trash can to bathroom. Overall, we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a strip mall across the way plus a grocery store.....very handy if you need something quickly.......(like a glass of wine.)

Back to menu Return to top