$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

JW Marriott Houston

4 stars
View map of 5150 Westheimer Road, 5150 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
57 reviews
great wwekend getaway

One of the best hotel and services I have had. Thanks for everything JW Marriott. See full review

  • Enmanuel D.
  • Apr 28, 2015
Good

Very good location and serves I recommend this hotel to friend See full review

  • Alshaya
  • Mar 10, 2015
The JW Marriott Hotel Houston's modern design features bold color choices throughout the building, emphasizing the hotel's distinctive architectural details. Meet and mingle with fellow guests in the vibrant lobby area or pick up a Chai tea or espresso in the on-site Starbucks. Rooms feature brilliant styling that showcases comfort in every detail - from plush down comforters to warm wood tones. This AAA Four Diamond property also boasts an indoor/outdoor pool, plus weight and cardiovascular training equipment for guests who wish to work up a sweat in the fitness room.
Key facts
  • 489 guestrooms and 26 suites
  • Indoor and outdoor pool/whirlpool
  • Express video checkout
  • Fitness center
  • 25 meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in public areas
  • AAA Four Diamond Hotel
  • Starbucks
  • Restaurants: South Coast Grill and Destino
Neighborhood
A shopper's paradise can be found in this part of Houston, as guests will discover The Galleria Mall right across the street. Set on Westheimer Road, this exciting destination features some of the top fashion brands in the world, as well as upscale and casual dining options that appease even the most discerning palette. Indulge your sweet tooth with a visit to The Cheesecake Factory, or head out for a tempting Houston steak. Lakewood Church can be reached in around 20 minutes by car, while a short stroll takes activity seekers to Memorial Park for jogging, cycling and golf.
Hints and tips
Continental breakfast is served inside the South Coast Grill, where you can enjoy omelets tailored to taste, plus cereals, fresh fruit, waffles, pastries and meats.

Remember that Wi-Fi is only free in the lobby and other public areas, so try to limit computer access to these locations for savings during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 5 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.1 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.8 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 6 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 6.2 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 6.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 6.2 mi
  • Toyota Center: 6.3 mi
  • Market Square Park: 6.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 6.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 6.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.1 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.3 mi

Dining

Destino
At our premier Houston Galleria restaurant, Executive Chef David Fransua has partnered with local food artisans, organic farmers and sustainable fisheries to deliver authentic regional Texas cuisine with a fresh twist. Open for lunch and dinner.
Starbucks®
Perk up your day with all your favorite coffees, chai teas, cappuccinos, pastries and more!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Houston

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 57
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GLE123
Business
Irvine, California
Jun 26, 2014

Stay elsewhere!

We were placed on the 4th floor, where the 5th floor houses the hotel's health club and pool and the 3rd floor houses the basketball and racquetball courts. What a insanely stupid design!!! We were kept up the entire nights with what sounded like bowling balls hitting our walls. Then the mattresses was so disgusting. It wasn't very comfortable so we lifted the sheets to examine it and oh boy, what a disgusting mattress. It looked like they picked it off the side of a road, ripped and dingy looking. YUCK! Made my skin crawl. For the price we paid, you would think wi-fi should be included but NOPE. We also stayed at the Driskill in Austin and Sheraton (near the JW) and both were far better, including free wi-fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Der Jerry
Business
Mexico
Feb 17, 2014

Great location

It is a great location, they are plenty of stores around and restaurants. The Galleria is just in front of the hotel so no need to take the car. The hotel is old, I´ved expected a little more luxorious but it is worth it. The breakfast is great and it is included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Galleria Mall is just in front of the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeremy Yap
Business
Houston Texas / Galleria
May 23, 2013

Cool but could be cetter

Had a wonderful stay visiting my daughter. Basicallly stuck around the mall and the pool so this place was perfect only bad complaint was that I got stuck in a corner room which is usually a goo thing but this time I could hear every elevator coming up and down, otherwise the staff was the friendlist staff I have seen in awhile Big Thumbs up to the Staff Keep em!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mens Club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanpapa
Business
Nayarit, México
Apr 1, 2013

Good location.

We wanted a good hotel near the Berkeley Eye Center and near The Gallery....... ¡And we got it! Service was very good and the four stars are well deserved. Hernán González, México

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several very good restaurants in the nearby. Meat and seafood. And The Gallery, of course!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JGLC
Business
Monterrey, Mexico
Dec 31, 2012

Family trip

Excellent location across the street from the Galleria. Very professional staff, quick check in. Good size rooms and bath room. Enough parking space. Internet service is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Therapist
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 31, 2012

Parking is not enjoyable

The parking is underground. Pt. parking space is tight so it's tough if you have a mid size vehicle or an suv. You have to pay for parking. It does not come with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The parking is underground. Pt. parking space is tight so it's tough if you have a mid size vehicle or an suv. You have to pay for parking. It does not come with the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R. Mike
Business
Jackson, MI
May 14, 2012

Completely Accessible

The accessible room was perfect. The bathroom was very roomy with a roll in shower, sturdy bench and removable shower head. The self parking was easy with handicap spots next to the elevator. We had a fantastic experience. The valet staff were very helpful even though we didn't use them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
713babe
Business
miami,florida
Jan 9, 2012

713babe

No mini fridge in room. Hard mattress. Self park NOT FREE. The good stuff: clean and great location. But I wouldn't stay here again b/c I thought if I paid more I would be happier but I wasn't so I wouldn't recommend. : (

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shviguer
Business
México
Sep 20, 2011

great location, comfortable stay, very nice people

I enjoyed the stay, i would come back. just the bathrooms are a bit small with a little remodeling it would be perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you are going shopping the galleria is across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MonaMonster
Business
Tampico, Mexico
Jan 1, 2011

Comfy hotel experience

My husband and I stayed there for several days after christmas for a vacation, and the hotel was more than what we expected: it was clean, they gave an excellent service, they had beautiful comfy rooms, a Flat TV, and a useful safe box. We were lucky to have a great view of the city. The only "but" is that they charge you an extra daily rate for parking your car there, I think this service should be included in your room fee. Other than that everything was great, we would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was in front of the Galleria Mall, a walking distance. Excellent for shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top